Tomorrow is Another Day

“Hey!” I called out as loud as I could to grab Daniel’s attention.

When class finished Daniel ran out faster than I managed to open my mouth to say anything but he forgot to take his set of the criteria. Cut to, me shoving all that I could in my bag and chasing after him like a mad woman while waving the criteria around in my hand in the air. I should get bonus points for running with the boulder in my bag! Seriously, what was I thinking?

“Hey, Daniel, wait!” I called again, closer this time.

Daniel stopped striding along and turned to face me. His effortless grin plastered on his face as he watched me struggling to catch up. Yup, I’m definitely signing up for gym again!

“You forgot this,” I panted, handing out the paper to him.

He looked at my hand and then smiled. “Anna is it?”

I nodded and focused on calming my breathing pattern.

“I’m sure you’re more into this class than I am, so why don’t I just let you handle it?” He turned to begin walking but I quickly tapped him on the shoulder.

What an asshole! “There’s no way that’s going to happen. I am not about to do your work too!”

“Why not? That way, we’ll have no arguments because everything would have been your choice.”

I chuckled. “And the final grade?”

He caught a strand of my hair floating in the wind and tucked it behind my ear. “I’m sure you’ll find it in your heart to include me as well.”

“Wow,” I said. He smiled proudly. “You are super-cocky.”

He frowned at my words and that was the first time I smiled.

He sighed. “We’re going to have to rendezvous every week. Every week with me, you think you can handle that?”

“Of course I can,” I said. “As long as you don’t try and kill me again, this just might work out.”

He laughed and the sound didn’t annoy me this time. I handed him the paper and finally he took it. I felt like it was competition and I won.

“I knew you couldn’t keep away from me too long,” he said as I walked away.

I smiled and then felt my cheeks warm up. I turned to look back and he was still there, standing with perfect posture, grinning, and running a hand through his unruly brown hair that glistened shards of gold in the light. As I looked away I realised I was holding my breath. I exhaled loudly and then continued on with my day.

When I got home Chloe was already hunched over on the dining room table. Her books were sprawled across, covering half of the table top.

“What are you doing?” I asked, surprised.

Chloe shook her head. “Got to study, got to study. This year is going to be tough. I already have a million assessments due. No time to do anything but study.”

I laughed. “You start off every year like this, why don’t you just skip to the part where you end up leaving everything to the last minute.”

Chloe narrowed her eyes at me. “You’re a bad influence.”

I sighed. “You won’t even believe the day I had.”

I dropped my bag at the door and headed straight for the couch. I sat down just when Chloe walked over, clearly intrigued.

“Go on,” she prodded, sitting next to me on the couch.

I explained to her what happened with Daniel.

“Wait,” she said, “Daniel? Thee Daniel?”

I was silenced by confusion, but only for a moment. “Who’s ‘thee Daniel’?”

She laughed. “I can’t believe you don’t know. Daniel, he’s only the hottest guy I’ve ever seen. Dimples, motorcycle; I know him, he’s a player. Girls just fall all over him.”

I crossed my arms. “Well I didn’t. He nearly killed me!”

Chloe rolled her eyes. “I’m sure he didn’t mean anything by it.”

“Oh, yeah, because people just nearly kill people every day. It’s so normal.” Sarcasm totally intended.

“Are you telling me you didn’t think he was hot at all?”

I moved my head from side to side and then shrugged. “Fine, he’s a little good-looking.”

“So you’re stuck with him, huh?” Chloe shook her eyebrows up and down and winked. “I heard he’s amazing in bed.”

“Ugh, I don’t even care,” I stood up. “I have a lot on my mind anyway.”

“When you do have sex with him you got to give me the deets!” Chloe called out as I walked into my room. Wishful thinking-much?

After dinner, I dug deep into my books and tried to forget about my unfortunate circumstances with Daniel. Considering it was one of my most important classes I needed Daniel’s help and every way I could get it, no matter how much he annoys me. Which meant that, like he said, I needed to get together with him at least once a week. I can get passed him looking hot. Ugh! I can’t even convince myself that he’s not gorgeous.

I took a shower to keep my mind off of him but it didn’t work. I just ended up wasting a lot of water and caused Chloe to jump down my throat about it. I went to bed straight away after that.

It happened to be a nice day on my day off so I decided to indulge myself by going to the beach. I wore a skirt and black ballet flats, just in case I needed to easily take off my shoes and walk barefoot across the sand. It was a bit windy when I got there but I was right about the shoes and I took them off as soon as I saw the sand. I didn’t know how much I missed the beach until I got there.

As I was walking across the sand, absorbing my surroundings, a ball suddenly hit my shin. I hopped around and held my leg. I must have looked like an idiot but it hurt so badly.

“Sorry,” I heard someone call.

I scanned the beach looking for the person behind the voice. It turns out he was running right towards me and I didn’t even notice because I was looking beyond.

“That was my fault,” he said. His dark blonde hair waved in the wind and stood at his shoulders when he stopped jogging towards me. He wore a white sleeveless shirt, exposing his muscles, and brown shorts.

He picked up the ball as I said, “No that’s fine.”

He examined my shin as he rolled the ball in his hands and threw it back and forth. “That looks painful.”

My cheeks warmed up. “Oh, no, it just looks bad.”

“Are you sure? I mean,” he looked at my leg and then back at me again, “I was hoping that I could take you out and make it up to you.”

Ohhh, hell to the yes! “Well, it might just hurt a little bit. Nothing I can’t handle.”

He smiled and oh, my heart fluttered.

“I bet,” he said.

We exchanged numbers and then went our separate ways. I didn’t realise the intensity of the shock to my leg until I ended up limping back to my car. Of course I tried to make it look casual and normal, but the more I tried the more I looked weird. On the bright side I got Mark’s number out of it.

When Chloe noticed my leg I explained to her what happened.

“I can tell this is going to be an interesting year,” she said.

I agreed, but I wondered why I thought of Daniel instead of Mark when she said that. I shook it off thinking it was nothing and focused on getting some rest, hoping that I only had to see Daniel on a minimal basis. We’ll see, tomorrow is another day.

5 thoughts on “Tomorrow is Another Day

    1. I would say Australian based on the fact that the author said it was spring time in November. November in the States is the Fall. Also she calls it University instead of college.

Leave a Reply

