The Bet: Who Will Win?

“What are you talking about?” I asked, nervously.

My knees began to buckle as Sandy stared me down. I wanted to bolt out of her presence, out of otherworldly gaze, but I couldn’t. So I foolishly stood my ground. What else could I do? The girl cornered me.

She scoffed and pulled out her cell. “Daniel sent me this text tonight.”

She handed me the cell, and I swear I could feel that she wanted to go all Naomi Campbell on me and throw it at me instead. The text was an almost-apology from Daniel, most notably it strongly indicated what the relationship was to him: just sex. I wanted to die right then!

I handed it back to her and I saw my hand shaking. “I..I don’t…”

The fuck do I say!?

She held her hand up palm open. “Don’t even bother. I knew it was you, who else would it be? Everything was going fine, until today, when he sent that text. And who was with him the whole day? Oh yeah, you!” she sauntered forward. I wanted to inch backwards but I was locked into place. “I knew you were jealous of me, the second I told you that we were going to sleep with each other. Here’s a little advice, envy, stay out of our life!”

“So you guys are together,” I said. Immediately I regretted opening my mouth, I don’t even know why I wanted clarification, but I think I needed it more for her sake than for mine.

She just shook her head. “Forget it.”

Sandy mumbled something unintelligible, though I’m pretty sure it was a string of profanities that would put Lil’ Kim to shame, and then stormed off. It took me a while before I could actually move again. It felt like I stood there for a long time, I was scared to move. Like that scene in The Grudge, I thought that Sandy would be right behind me or something. And because I scared the shit out of myself thinking about The Grudge, I collected myself and then put one foot in front of the other.

“Was that you outside?” Chloe asked when I walked in. “Were you talking to yourself or was it the neighbours?”

I sighed and I realised I was holding in a lot of stress. “Sandy.”

Chloe scrunched her face. “Sandy?”

“Blonde bombshell from the mall.”

The lines on her forehead disappeared in realisation. “Oh, what about her?”

“I think she hates me,” I said in a monotone. I slowly realised how tired I felt.

Chloe laughed. “Why?”

“Because I said something to Daniel.”

Chloe quickly ceased laughing. “What did you say?” Her voice was thick with caution.

I covered my face and then shook my head. “That I’m an incredible idiot!”

“What did you do, Anna?” Chloe prodded.

“I’ll tell you in the morning,” I said. “I’m beat.”

Chloe nodded. “Did you at least get some tonight?”

“Oh yeah, I got some alright,” I said as I walked towards my room, “some bruise on my ass!”

When morning came I told Chloe the whole story, starting from my conversation with Daniel, to a play-by-play on the date, and then the climatic end: Sandy.

“Whoa,” Chloe said, “tough day.”

I nodded. “You have no idea. What should I do?”

Chloe shrugged. “What can you do besides not involve yourself in anything.”

“But I am involved now.”

“Why? Just because bombshell told you off, or because you want to be?”

I was confused. “Because I want to be?” I repeated.

Chloe sighed. “Okay, I have to ask. Are you jealous?”

I was taken aback. “Jealous of what? The player or the idiot?”

Chloe laughed. “Hey, don’t take it out on me, I was just asking to make sure. So it shouldn’t be hard to not involve yourself in all of this. You must have laid quite an impression on Mr. Hottie McNaughty if he apologised.”

“Sort of apologised,” I muttered.

“In any case,” Chloe stood, “you got to him. Nice work.”

Chloe had to leave the house for work and I was stuck on my own with all these thoughts, and that was dangerous. I decided to keep myself busy by whatever means necessary, but after all the cleaning, (mind you the house was spotless after I was through with it), time hadn’t even moved an inch. I got a bit of work done until I realised that I needed to take a breather and just get out. So I ended up grocery shopping.

I was looking at a wide selection of cheeses to purchase (and my God there were so many to choose from!) when I spotted Adam coming towards me. He was all the more cuter holding a little basket and out of his black clothes. I don’t think I’ve even seen him wear a jacket before until now.

“Hey,” I smiled widely, “how are you?”

He came in for a hug and I could smell his cologne. Ugh! It was out of this world.

“Great,” he said, “you?”

I chuckled, mostly to myself and at the events of last night. “Fine. What are you doing here?”

He looked pointedly at his basket. “We’re in desperate need of sustenance. You?”

“Oh, I need a break from all the work.”

Adam’s eyes lit up. “Oh by the way, it’s next Saturday.”

There was a pause in the conversation as I tried to piece everything we’ve said to each other up until now, and yet I had no idea what he was talking about.

“The club opening,” Adam said, probably because he saw me struggle for the memory.

I nodded. “Ah, cool.”

Suddenly he became nervous. “So I, uh, I think I should pick you up. Just so we can, you know, go together.”

“Sure, sounds good. I’ll let Chloe know and maybe even Tina can stop by our house so we won’t have to make so many stops.”

He looked disappointed. I thought I said something wrong, or that he secretly disliked one of them. In any case he just shrugged. “Sure.”

“Okay then.” This whole conversation took a 180 turn from being exciting to Debbie Downer. I had no clue how to fix it.

At this point we were just standing there awkwardly, trying to find other words to say. I always could strike up a conversation about anything with Adam, but for some reason, it was especially hard this time.

“Well, I got to go,” Adam finally said, smiling and leaning in for another hug.

I replayed the entire conversation in my head as soon as I was on my way home wondering what the hell happened. I felt like a C.S.I agent had a baby with the obsessive girlfriend-type trying to dissect everything, it freaked me out, so I stopped. Unfortunately, as soon as I did, my mind went straight to Daniel. I was stopped at a traffic light when I decided to turn around and head straight for Daniel’s. It actually annoyed me that he said anything to Sandy. Why would he? What happened to the hunk that always gets the girl? I’ll tell you what happened, I happened.

I banged on the door hard as soon as I got there. I decided that I should be as assertive and firm as possible just so I could at least one up him in that department. Oh, and I shouldn’t look out of those dimples. Steer clear from those dimples. They’re dangerous!

“Hi,” Daniel said all nonchalant when he opened the door.

I didn’t bother waiting for an invitation, I just let myself in. I couldn’t look anywhere else but the ground. “I need to talk to you.”

I turned around and watched him close the door. “Sure,” he said, “please, come in.”

“Look, I—”

“Before you say anything, Sandy’s here,” Daniel said.

I was flabbergasted and just started stuttering. Then I saw Sandy coming out of Daniel’s room.

“Hi,” she said when she saw me.

Uh-oh. Shit’s about to go down, I feel it!

“Hey,” she began when she stopped before me, “sorry about, you know, cornering you like a crazy person. I realise now how stupidly foolish I acted. I hope we can move past this.”

She smiled and then leaned in for a hug, for which I couldn’t return because I was set in a stone of confusion. When she left all I could do was stare at Daniel and he had a prideful grin on his face. And it made me angry; I wanted it to go away, because I knew what he was thinking: he was right about Sandy.

Daniel sighed. “They always keep on comin’.” He walked passed me when he finally spoke.

“But…but she…and you,” was all I could manage.

He turned around, that grin still attached to his face. His dimples more pronounced. It was a strange feeling, to think he was gorgeous and swoon at the same time I was annoyed and felt like throwing him a weak punch.

“Oh I’m sorry,” he said, “did you need something.”

“What just happened?” I mustered.

He chuckled. “What?”

“I mean, do you ever not solve any problem by sleeping with a girl?”

He laughed and came closer towards me. “Well, I happen to think it’s a pretty satisfying resolution, don’t you think?”

I shook my head and laughed humourlessly. “No, I bet you can’t even go two weeks without sleeping with anyone.”

Daniel’s eyes had a flicker of deviousness. “Hmmm, sounds interesting.”

It came out as a joke, an attack on his ego to be honest, but I didn’t think he would take it seriously. It did sound interesting, so I went along with it.

“Yeah, two weeks without sex, you think you can handle that?” I tested.

He stepped closer to me, we were inches apart. “Fine, what are the consequences?”

“If you lose, you have to buy me a trip.”

Daniel laughed. “A trip?”

“Shut up. Yes, a trip, over a weekend. I haven’t gone on one in a long time, like a vacation from everything.”

“You had the time before school.”

I scoffed. “With my parents.”

“Fine, but if I win,” he crossed his arms over his chest, “then you have to be at my beck and call for the same time frame, a weekend.”

This time I laughed. “Deal.”

Daniel held out a hand. I was so excited that I shook pretty firmly when I took his hand.

“Get ready, I got all kinds of things I want you to do for me,” he winked.

Leave a Reply

