I Don’t Want Any More Promises

“Hello?” I asked.

“Hey Anna, it’s James, how are you?”

I was in the car with Chloe when I got the call, and I hushed her the second I saw his name pop up on my screen. The only redeeming quality to this day was a call from James. It’d be even better if I got the internship.

“Listen,” he began, “I’m calling to tell you that you got the spot in the internship program. You’ll be working under my wing.”

I wanted to scream with giddiness but instead I covered my huge grin with my hand and bounced up and down in my seat. Chloe looked at me like I was a random monkey in her car.

“That’s fantastic news!” I said.

“The thing is,” he said, “is that we’re not going to start this program until the end of June. Usually we start at the beginning, and carry on for six months; unfortunately, in this case, it’ll be at the end of June. Maybe in the middle at best.”

“That’s fine with me,” I said.

James chuckled. “Good then. I’ll email you the start dates when I get them.”

“Thank you so much James.”

“Don’t worry about it,” he replied. “I’m trying to build a great team in my department, so I’m counting on everyone, including my interns, to help me achieve that.”

“I’m your man…uh, kinda,” I stumbled.

Chloe rolled her eyes and James made a breathy laugh. “I know what you mean,” he said.

Thank Jeebus!

After we said our goodbyes, James and I hung up. The conversation we had happened to burn off time from the car ride.

“That sounded like a good conversation,” Chloe noted.

I nodded as I followed her through the front door of our place. “Indeed it was. I got the internship.”

“That’s great, Anna, I’m really happy for you,” Chloe smiled.

“Thanks, Chloe.”

Chloe always wanted the best things for me, and that was one of the best things with having a best friend. You could always count on them wanting your happiness just as much as there’s. More importantly, you could always count on them. Period.

“At least you won’t have to see Derek anymore,” Chloe said.

I nodded aimlessly. The thought about Derek was written all over my face and I looked at Chloe, who I knew definitely noticed. “He’s not so bad,” I shrugged.

Chloe lifted an eyebrow. “Oh?”

I shrugged again and tilted my head from side to side. “He’s okay.”

“Just okay?”

“He’s fine,” I said.

“Just fine?”

“Polly want a cracker?” I asked, putting a hand on my hip.

“Yes!” Chloe laughed.

I joined her, shaking my head. “I don’t know,” I sighed once I sat on the couch.

Chloe sat opposite me on the coffee table. “What do you feel?”

I smiled. “I don’t know, Dr. Phil, how should I feel?”

Chloe narrowed her eyes. “Seriously though, how do you feel about him?”

I sighed, lifting my head back onto the head rest. “I don’t know.”

“Could he be someone you can be with?”

“Chloe, it’s so early to even think about that right now,” I said.

Chloe held her hands up palms facing me. “I’m just asking. Trying to make you figure out what you think about him.”

I pondered silently. “I went over to his place and tried to sleep with him, and he didn’t want it because he thought I’d regret it, given the state I was in.” Chloe nodded and commended him. “Then,” I continued, “I felt humiliated. I don’t think I can really face him. Like, ever again.”

Chloe smiled. “At least he didn’t try any dick moves. That’s promising.”

I lay down on the couch and closed my eyes in reminisce. “I don’t want any more promises.”

14 thoughts on “I Don’t Want Any More Promises

  1. Great new for Anna on the internship!!

    So, just a recap if you please on exactly how much longer Anna has in school, etc?

    Thanks for the post!

  2. Lol yeah, right… Derek’s super promising given that he didn’t give one flip all those times he tried to get with Anna when she was actually in a relationship. He didn’t think she’d regret it then? But all of a sudden thinks she’ll regret it now that she’s out of a relationship? Whaaaat?? His reasoning doesn’t really make sense. If he hadn’t tried multiple times to get with Anna while she was with Daniel, then I would say okay, valid reason. But since that obviously wasn’t the case, I’m not buying the whole “I don’t want to sleep with you because you’ll regret it.” Where was this reasoning the 10 other times he tried to get in her pants? Anna questions herself too much when it comes to him. If that’s any indication of what it would be like to be in a relationship with him, I’m not sure it would be worth it. But I guess we’ll see.

    On the bright side, really glad she got the internship!

  3. I think before, Derek sort of resented the fact that Anna loved Daniel and didn’t even consider liking Derek, so he kept hitting on Anna and acting like a douche as sort of an immature defense mechanism. Now that he actually has a real chance with Anna, he doesn’t want to mess it up, and he wants her to see him as someone she can really be with and trust.

    1. Well he had no probably trying to get it in on their first date. He knew Anna was giving him a chance with that date, and if he didn’t want to mess it up like you say, then he wouldn’t have tried to have sex with her on their first date.

      1. I’m not on “team Derek” by any means, but Anna wasn’t emotionally distraught when they were on their date. The fact that he wouldn’t take advantage of her when she just showed up at his place that night says quite a bit, actually. I still don’t like his M.O., though.

    2. Definitely understandable. The point I was trying to get across though is, if he cared so much about being this great guy in Anna’s eyes and being with her meant something to him, didn’t he think that she would also regret sleeping with him when she had a boyfriend at the time? I’m not a big fan of Derek, but I’m also not oblivious to the fact that being with Anna means something to him. So what I’m saying is that if it means so much to him, and he doesn’t want her to regret the first time she sleeps with him, what made him think that she wouldn’t regret it all those times when she was with Daniel? I’m just trying to understand that part. I would like to think that it meant something to Derek back then as well, and not just now. I get him not wanting to take advantage of her while she’s emotional, but I would think she would have regretted it, as well, if she had cheated on Daniel and slept with Derek back then too.

      1. I think that maybe when she was still with Daniel and he was pursuing her (even though it’s all kinds of shady), he was doing it because he figured she would choose him over Daniel ultimately, But then I could be naive – he could have just been after her as a conquest.

  4. I’m not sure how I feel about Derek, but I’m ready for him and Anna to get it on anyway. Just do it already : ) !

Leave a Reply

