Sunny Moon

This week was the last week for assignments and classes. It ran long and rough, but it was worth it. Now we have a long break and I really didn’t know what to do. I could work more at the club, I could take a trip, and I could even tail someone else’s adventures. Point being, there were so many options; but hardly any were that interesting to me. The girls did have their own plans too, it wasn’t like our lives revolved around each other, but that didn’t affect how important we were to each other.

Janet and Stanley were doing well together. To everyone’s expectations, Stanley did harbour the same feelings towards Janet and they were taking it slow. At one point Janet even thanked me for having the relationship with Daniel; somehow, to her, she said it gave the right encouragement to go for it. I hugged her so she couldn’t see that I was starting to well up.

Jodie was out having fun and enjoying the single life with the friends that she makes every day. In my mind, there will always be a special connection; a deeper layer of understanding and truth between gay people, than between gay and straight people. And I mean in that in the most respectful way possible. Not to sound like the Dalai Lama but it seems like this spiritual connection. That’s what I loved about Jodie; what you see isn’t what you get, there’s more to her than meets the eye, and the more you get to know her the more you fall in love with her.

The only person I saw more often than the other girls was Chloe, and that was purely based on the fact that we were living together. We were stalkers by default.

“Hey Chloe,” I said when I walked into her room. She was putting clothes in a duffel bag when I came in and looked at me in the way where if someone was caught out on something. “What are you doing?”

She darted her eyes between the duffel bag and me, back and forth, pondering her next move. “Nothing.”

I lifted a speculating eyebrow. “Nothing? Really?”

“Okay fine,” she said, “I’m going to see, Scotty. And I don’t want to hear any shit from you.”

My lips were shut in a tight line…for about three seconds. “Are you serious?”

“No judgement,” she said, pointing her finger at me.

“Come on, Chloe,” I said in a smooth voice, “why are you doing this?”

“Look,” she said, continuing to pack her bag with clothes and whatnot, “you don’t understand what Scotty and I had. It can be different now. He can be different now.”

I crossed my arms over my chest and leaned into the doorway. “You’re not even going to take our advice and meet him up at a public place?”

“I don’t know what’s going to happen, Anna, that’s why I’m packing this bag.”

“No you do know what’s going to happen,” I countered accusingly, “that’s why you’re packing that bag.”

Chloe sighed. “Fine, a negotiation then?”

“What?”

“I won’t pack the bag,” she said, “and instead, I’ll stay with Jodie for night.”

I narrowed my eyes. “You promise?”

Chloe nodded. “Jodie will probably go out tonight as well, maybe I’ll even go with her. I should at least grab a dress for that.”

In the pit of my stomach and the back of my mind I sensed that Chloe was just telling me what I wanted to hear. By some force of nature, or miracle of the universe, I convinced myself that she was telling the truth; and I convinced myself mainly because, I couldn’t bring myself to believe that Chloe was lying to me.

When Chloe left, it felt like the first time ever I was alone. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I figured I’d start with a shower, so when I went into my room, I noticed that my phone was flashing. A text had come through.

‘Ready for a surprise?’ Tina wrote.

‘What’s the surprise?” I responded.

‘Ding-dong!’ was all she replied.

I was in no mood to care about what was going on. I think I only gave it a minute of wonder, and then I threw my phone on the bed and got into the shower. Once the water hit my bare chest all my bones and muscles twisted and unlocked, retreating to a calmer state matching that of sleep. I drank some of the water, and spat some out. I covered my hair in my favourite shampoo, smelling of mango and peach, almost delicious enough to eat. The build-up of water soaking into my hair made loud spluttering noises on the floor and after an excessive amount of time I finally turned the taps off. I stood there for a while, breathing in the steam that swirled and played around me, stroking my face, tiny water dews balanced in areas of my body that yearned for this kind of attention.

Everyone loves to sleep, but showering is so underrated. If I had my way, I’d do everything in that shower…and I’d also never change out of my sleep wear. What? Don’t tell me you haven’t thought of it too!

When I was finally getting ready for my day I heard the doorbell ring and then a knock on the door. I quickly got dressed and then approached the door.

“Who is it?” I asked. Normally I don’t, but after Tina sent me that text, I was expecting someone to throw green slime like the one at Nickelodeon Kid’s Choice Awards.

“Delivery for Miss Parker,” the man called out. The door muffled his voice so much that I couldn’t quite recognise it, diminishing my chances of preparing for the worst or best.

I finally opened the door and in that same instant, I screamed.

“Oh my God,” I yelled, jumping up and down and then running into Adam’s wide open arms. I threw myself into his embrace with full force. “I can’t believe you’re here!”

Adam laughed at my reaction. “Did you miss me?”

“Miss you?” I said, peeling away to take a good look at him, “It’s a sunny moon when you’re here!”

16 thoughts on “Sunny Moon

  1. Yay!! I really hope Adam doesn’t have a girlfriend because if Anna’s willing to give Derek a chance, I think she should definitely give Adam a chance too!! He was nothing but sweet and caring with her. Love having him back in the story!

  2. Hi all!

    Glad everyone is enjoying the return of Adam! How is everyone liking The Cat Empire? Don’t the lyrics just fit Adam’s and Anna’s relationship, perfectly!?

    Soul xo

    P.S. comment with your favourite line from the song and why it’s your favourite and I’ll upload the bonus post sooner!

    1. Ok. This won’t help get a bonus post sooner cause I must be a bit older than the rest of the commentators or that just isn’t my normal taste in music. I had never heard of that song (glad it was linked) and I just couldn’t even stand to listen to the lyrics. Sorry. Hopefully, others of you got ‘it’ ☺️☺️☺️

      1. Hi Amy W!

        Such a shame the song wasn’t to your liking but thank you for being so honest instead of just spouting whatever to get a bonus post. I wish I could upload a million bonus posts right now just because of that!

        Hopefully one of the songs linked will be music to your ears!

        Soul xo

  3. And I see that you were glowing in the shadows
    And you’ve been here all along

    those are my favourite for sure. It just hits me like, sometimes, the person inadvertently put to the wayside (by moving, by a falling out, or unshared feelings) can sometimes be the person that you didn’t realize was there for you all along, quietly waiting til the right time

    1. Hi K!

      That’s one of my favourite lines too! It’s the sweetest thing ever and, to me, Adam has always been glowing in the shadows!

      Thank you so much for commenting!

      Soul xo

  4. I climb the ladder of those black and white keys
    They take me out and into places some are real some are imaginary

    cool how an artist can be carried away by their craft. mum

    1. Hi Sarrrr!

      Adam is one of Anna’s best friends. He used to work with Anna at the previous bartender gig she held and had a thing for her. He then got a job offer and moved to New York! If you’d like, you can type in Adam’s name in the search bar of this site to look up previous posts and recap!

      Soul xo

      P.S. Thanks to all who have commented, the bonus post will be up in about eight hours! Still needs a bit of editing done. I hope to hear from you all then, and I can’t wait to see what you all think of the little ‘situation’ I threw into the bonus post!

Leave a Reply

