The Only Guy That Can Really Make Me Laugh

Adam and I ended up going our separate ways. He was gentleman enough to ride with me in the cab all the way back to my place, and then he departed on his own. I missed him in the instant the car drove away.

When I got inside, I found Chloe lying on the couch. Her eyes were half closed and it looked like she just fell asleep. The television was on and the remote was in her hand. I tried walking on my tippy toes but then Chloe saying my name made me jump through the roof!

“Jeez,” I breathed, “I thought you were asleep.”

“I kind of was,” she mumbled.

I walked over to her. “You didn’t go out with Jodie?”

Chloe shook her head and smiled. “Don’t do that. Don’t make me feel guilty. You and I both know what my intentions were.”

I sat on the coffee table and waited for her to continue.

Chloe sighed and sat upright. “To put the whole thing in simple, short and sweet, terms, I’ve come to my senses.”

“Did Scotty do anything to hurt you again?” I asked, afraid to know the answer but needed to ask the question.

Chloe shook her head and my worry lines faded. “He was a gentleman,” she said, “but I think our history was just too much for anything to start up again.”

That made me wonder whether histories between couples could hinder anything beyond what a couple had. Was Chloe talking about their entire history or just key points in their history? Can a relationship survive, after the war is over?

“I’m proud of you,” I said, smiling.

Chloe rolled her eyes. “Thanks mother!” then she stuck out her tongue. I giggled. “How was your night?” she asked, then appraising me, “you look like you had fun.”

“I did. I went out with Adam and a few other friends. But mostly Adam.” I didn’t bother mentioning the supporting cast considering the main hunk.

Chloe’s eyes brightened. “And?”

“And…” I shrugged, “nothing. Nothing happened. At all. He thinks I’m in a relationship with Daniel.”

“Obviously that’s why. Go tell him the truth.”

“You make it sound like I lied. I don’t want Adam to think I lied to him.”

“He won’t,” Chloe said, “trust me. He loves you.”

“I’m not even sure if he still does have feelings for me,” I stated matter-of-factly.

Chloe rolled her eyes. “If I can be honest about Scotty, then you can be honest to Adam.”

“It’s not the same thing.”

“It is actually,” Chloe said, “the situation’s been tweaked slightly but it’s the same kind of thing.”

I did want to tell Adam, but I didn’t want it to turn into some therapy session or pity party or whatever. Nor did I want Adam to think I was deceiving him. Our relationship deserved more than a superficial visit; and I don’t mean superficial as in meaningless, I mean superficial as in, neither of us bared our souls. This entire night, although amazing because I got to spend it with Adam, was just a quickie. We only seemed to touch the current state of our lives with the weight of a brush stroke, where the streaks were thin and crinkly, not enough for the complete picture to be understood.

So I called a cab in the middle of the night and went to the hotel Adam was staying at for the time being, unannounced. It was a fancy hotel too; New York was doing him good.

I banged on the door marked 503 and awaited Adam to open. I listened out for footsteps or looked out for shadows beneath the door, anything to notify me of Adam’s presence. Obviously, though, my hearing and eyesight weren’t that great at this time of night since Adam suddenly opened the door.

“Hey,” he said, exposing me to that heart-melting grin of his.

“Can I come in?” I asked, gently.

“Of course.”

Adam opened the door wider and moved aside to allow me in. I looked around the suite he was in, completely mesmerised by his comfortable living.

“Nice,” I said, turning to face him and gesturing here and there.

Adam nodded and put his hands in his pockets. “I think so. Not ‘just’ an assistant after all.”

I went a deep red and Adam laughed at my reaction. “So sorry,” I muttered once again.

Adam waved me off. “Just having some fun. Bedroom?”

“What?”

Adam chuckled. “I’m watching some bad television. Want to join me?”

I nodded and followed Adam to the luxurious bedroom. All kinds of junk food snacks were on the bed.

“We just ate,” I said, climbing next to him on the bed, “how can you still be hungry?”

“I’m a bottomless pit okay,” he said. “Don’t judge.”

We were watching some random soap that was playing, or re-playing, late at night. Adam muted the television and we started making up lines for the program. We did well actually, Adam pretended to have slept with my sister who, when the camera cut to an old woman, we quickly laughed and changed that into my mother. Somehow this ‘mother’ turned out to be a MILF for Adam’s character. By the end of the scene, our bellies were hurting because we were laughing so much. And I mean, tears rolling down our cheeks, struggling to breathe type of laughter!

“I always have the best times with you,” Adam laughed once he unmuted the television.

I snuggled up to Adam. “Indeed.”

He lay his head on mine as I held onto his arm. I shivered once, since I was still wearing my blue dress, and yawned.

“You must be freezing,” he said. “Get under the covers.”

“No,” I said through my second yawn and watery eyes, “then I’ll fall asleep.”

Adam brushed a bit of hair away from my face. “Would that be such a bad thing?”

I shook my head and then nodded. Adam laughed at my answer. It took a little bit more convincing but I finally got under the covers with Adam.

“Shit,” Adam suddenly said.

I widened my eyes in anticipation, looking around the room to see why he said that. “What?” I asked.

“I’ll go, umm, sleep on the couch.”

“What? Why?”

“Anna,” he said, “this isn’t fair on Daniel, you know, it just wouldn’t be right.”

I broke down in tears in front of Adam. The last thing I wanted to do was burst into a waterworks show because, if anything, this just heightened the pity party.

“Hey, hey, hey,” he said softly, smiling and brushing the hair that fell to my face away, “it’s okay, I’ll just move.”

“We broke up,” I shrieked.

Adam stared at me, seemingly out of breath. “I didn’t know, I’m sorry, why di—why didn’t you tell me?”

I threw my arms up. “Like I know.”

Both Adam and I got on our knees, facing each other. I was snivelling the entire weight of the break up onto Adam. This was horrible. At least it was Adam though, and he was a gentleman beyond gentlemen. He pulled me into a hug and let me soak a patch of salty tears on the shoulder part of his shirt.

“It’s okay,” Adam said. I was glad he didn’t say anything I already heard like ‘it’ll get better’ or something. Just once, I needed someone to just say this. That it was okay and just that. That was it.

I nodded and then sniffed once we parted from the embrace. “Shit,” I said, chuckling at the wet spot, “I didn’t mean to do that.”

“It’s fine,” he said, smiling. “Are you fine?”

I nodded and wiped the last of my tears slowly encrusting on my cheek away. “I needed that.”

“Everyone needs at least one big cry,” Adam said. “Let’s everything out; the heartbreak, the stress—” he eyed his shirt “—the dry-cleaning.”

I burst out laughing. “Don’t,” I said, trying to stifle my laugh because it was so awkward to be suddenly so happy again, “you’re not allowed to make me laugh.”

Adam chuckled with pride. “But I’m the only one who can make you laugh.” Adam, again, was brushing my hair away with his right hand, with his other hand on my neck.

I nodded into his hands. “The only guy that can really make me laugh.”

Adam nodded in agreement, his smile fading away and his eyes skimming my lips. His right hand rested on the side of my face, right underneath my ear. He looked at my eyes once, and then down at my lips. My heart drummed in my chest, with the entire force of the night.

We got closer and closer to each other; both of us equally pulling the other in. And then, in an attempt that was so eager, he quickly planted a kiss. He stopped shortly, with our lips still touching but our mouths open. We were breathing heavily, practically asking each other for permission through the minute break. Then Adam carried on. His warm lips, the stubble that was beginning to grow grazed me ever so slightly, he picked up his knees and moved further into me. It was then that I felt how hard he was; how he was longing for me, and I definitely was longing for him.

Adam started pushing me back onto the bed until I was completely horizontal. His lips didn’t leave mine as he positioned himself in between me. I could feel him thrusting; not so much that he was rough but not so little that I couldn’t tell. His tongue was taking free reign of mine, and I was losing so much control.

My legs were locked tight around his waist, and I felt his right hand move from the back of my knee, up to my thigh. He pulled up my dress just enough with his hand that he could fit through and find my underwear. He hooked a soft finger around the strand of my thong, and began pulling it slowly, teasingly, down.

My hand jolted to his, and our lips parted. Adam stared at me, quizzically and out of breath.

“Wait,” I breathed.

***Hi everyone! I wanted to try something different this week and ask at least four people to link my blog to four different love, sex and relationship blogs (putting it in their comments section is fine!)! Then link me the blog to which you put the link to my blog up so I can see it! The sooner these links happen the sooner I upload the bonus post (I so need to slow down my bonus posts lol!)! I hope you all enjoyed this post! Once again, thank you so much for the support (I just reached a milestone for my blog and I couldn’t have done it without all of you awesome readers!)! Love all of your souls! xo***

18 thoughts on “The Only Guy That Can Really Make Me Laugh

  1. She better sleep with Adam or I’ll be so mad.. I can’t wait to see what happens next!! Man I hate these cliff hangers but it makes it so exciting for when the next post comes up!! I can’t wait to see what happens I really like Adam and Anna!! Keep up the awesome story!!

    I would link your blog and all but I don’t know how to, I hope some people do it so we can see a bonus tho!! If I knew how I would at least try too!!

  2. Done. Copied link to LSP, Modern Day Faith, crazyadventuresinny & life by Aleah. Bring on the bonus. Please don’t make her stop Adam. They have such a nice history & it is time to take it to the next level.

  3. Please don’t tell me Anna calls a halt to the action.
    Curios to hear how long Adam will be in town for to do business.

    4 other blogs:
    Highheelshappyhour.blogspot.com
    (Which I can’t comment on anonymously -don’t want to join a site)
    Newyorkdixie.blogspot.com
    Hotmessinhighheels.com
    Minneapplegirl.com

    Thanks for the post!

    1. Hi everyone!

      Wow!! Everyone is so awesome for doing this. But to be honest, I don’t think I can upload a bonus post because, well, it just doesn’t feel right…

      …so I’m uploading 2 bonus posts! And I’ll try to make them both as long as possible just because everyone has been so wonderfully amazeballs!

      Check back soon! And thank you all so so so so much for the unbelievable support!

      Soul xo

      1. You are the BEST!!!! I was getting let down when I started to read and you said you wasn’t going to post because it didn’t feel right but when I got down that you’ll post two man that made me HAPPY!!!! Can’t wait!!

  4. Can I say that I think it’s rude and unnecessary to ask your readers to plug your blog on similar blogs for a bonus? How do you think other writers fell when potential readers only stop by to post your link? You have a good blog and a large following and don’t need to resort to such tactics.

    1. I’m so sorry, Jennifer, and to all who have truly supported me enough to do that (and even those that only read my blog). I’m really appreciative of everyone’s enthusiasm and I honestly didn’t realise the error of my ways when asking for a plug.

      Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

      Soul xo

Leave a Reply

