Ice-Creams And Bad Reputations

***So as you can you see, to the right side of the blog is a blogroll of other similar blogs. This is the only extension of my apology that I can muster on the virtual platform that I can think of. There’s obviously several opinions from both sides of the spectrum about the whole plugging that I can understand, and I appreciate each and every comment (and view). And even though this wasn’t part of the dealio, here’s BONUS post no. 3; a third extension (and if you think there are way too many bonus posts then let me know and I can pull back)! Please visit each and every one of those blogs, their talent and love for writing calls for some well-deserved attention! I am more than happy to add other bloggers to this blogroll, so please feel free to plug your blog in the comments section below! Enjoy and I hope to see (read) you all soon! Lots of love, Soul xo***

It seemed as if time was punishing me by deceptively going slow. When I left Adam and went back to my place, I found it empty. Chloe must have already started her day, maybe even way earlier too. One thing’s for sure, I had no one to vent to in this very instant. Then, as I was standing solemnly in the torturous silence once occupied by two personalities, my cell buzzed once in my pocket. Instinctively I began ignoring the message, intuitively believing it was Adam. But I figured it was wrong; if there was something worth fixing in our relationship, then it had to be dealt with sooner. Only a child would act petulant in this situation, and I refused to be like that. But I also refused to be the first one to reach out.

Although, when I entered the hub of my cell, it revealed not a message from Adam, but an email from David and Goliath. I start next week, it read, and the first day being kind of like an orientation; a rundown of things to come and expect. The only good news to come at me today, to be honest.

A couple of hours later, Chloe came in through the door carrying groceries, finding me at the kitchen counter eating some cookies and cream ice-cream bliss.

“Right out of the container,” Chloe winked.

I smiled. “Once I started, I couldn’t stop. Less work for the dishes.”

“Bad day?”

I shrugged. Ice-cream has seriously developed a bad reputation thanks to romantic movies. Like a stigma of failures. Not everything that ends with an ice-cream began with a bad day. However, in this case, I just reinforced its stereotype.

I sighed. “It was really good, and then it turned bad.”

“What happened?” Chloe asked as she put groceries into the pantry and fridge.

“I don’t even know really,” I scrunched my face in thought, “it was all really weird. Or maybe it was to be expected.”

“What was?”

I shook my head, shrugged, and relayed everything since the night I went over to Adam’s hotel, up until the strange turn of events.

“Pretty shitty way of doing it but I can kind of see his point,” Chloe said.

I paused for a moment to let that sink in. “You agree with him?”

“I didn’t say I agree with him, I’m just saying I can see where he’s coming from. He doesn’t want to get hurt again so he thinks he’s protected himself by beating you to the punch.”

“There was no punch though,” I said. “How would he have known that I wasn’t going to reject him a second time?”

Chloe shrugged. “Would you really?”

“I could have.”

“Honestly though.”

“Honestly,” I sighed, “I don’t know. I don’t even really remember what I was thinking, but I think I was leaning towards giving him a chance. But that’s not the point here. Since when does a past relationship suddenly define me and become a crystal ball of my future actions? We’re told not to judge an individual based on variables of collectiveness like culture, race, religion and whatnot, even the friends we hang out with; and yet Adam predicts the success of our relationship before it even happened based on his judgments of my past relationship? That doesn’t seem fair. I understand where he’s coming from too, anyone can, but I just can’t bring myself to sympathise with him.”

“What if he was right?” Chloe challenged. “I mean, you said so yourself, you didn’t know what you thought on whether or not you could give Adam a chance.”

I shrugged. “At least in that case someone else wouldn’t have made up my mind for me.”

“I don’t know,” Chloe said, closing the fridge and pantry. “Have you spoken since?”

I shook my head. “And he’s leaving tomorrow.”

“You’re going to have to miss him all over again.”

I eyed my fingernail, flicking the nail of my index finger with my thumb. “Not looking forward to that. I’m hoping we’d be able to speak before then.”

“Well why don’t you call him?”

“Firstly, I wouldn’t even know what to say; and secondly, I just can’t.”

“What are you going to do then?”

I exhaled loudly. My shoulders rising and then dropping suddenly. “Focus on the good news for the time being. I got a start date for David and Goliath. I’m starting next week.”

Chloe smiled widely. “Celebration time! I always look forward to these kinds of things.”

“You’d celebrate anything,” I said. “You’d celebrate the presence of a spit bubble out of a newborn’s mouth.”

Chloe laughed. “I can’t help it.”

“Then let’s go to a jazz bar, my treat.”

“Well, well, well,” Chloe chimed, “for once I don’t have to convince you, I’m glad.”

I rolled my eyes. “I’m not that difficult.”

“It’s the perfect time too,” Chloe said. “You know the saying, right? To get over someone, you got to get under someone.”

My eyes widened as soon as I understood where this was going. “No way,” I said. “I don’t need to get under anyone. No random hook-ups, seriously; besides, I don’t think that saying is even true.”

“First of all, you should do it considering you have like a dossier of people to get over right now,” Chloe explained. “Plus, I never see you get with anyone. You should let loose once in a while. Let your hair down. Go nuts.”

“I just slept with Adam!” I said.

“That doesn’t count.”

I furrowed my brows. “What does that even mean?”

“It means,” Chloe started, “pretend you never slept with Adam.”

I put my face into my palms. My elbows holding me up. “That would be hard, considering.”

“Look,” Chloe said, “we’ll go to a jazz bar after Adam has left for New York. How’s that? Better?”

“Like a fraction of a fraction,” I said.

Chloe rolled her eyes. “Just go with my way for a bit. If it gets too uncomfortable, and I mean legitimately uncomfortable, then you can back out whenever. But until then—”

“Go nuts!” I finished for her.

Chloe grinned. “Exactly!”

9 thoughts on “Ice-Creams And Bad Reputations

  1. Don’t know if I agree with Anna ‘going nuts’ but she does need to speak w Adam before he leaves!!
    Maybe the David & Goliath gig will help her.
    Thanks for the bonus post, again!! I am NOT complaining!! I feel bad that you got so much heat for the ‘other blogs issue’. You put yourself out there to catch flack every time you post (IMO) and still you keep writing. I know I have asked for the story line to be accelerated a bit. I am impressed that you enjoy writing so much! That’s what I call having a strong will & determination!! You go girl!

  2. She doesn’t need to speak to Adam. He was an asshole and she needs to get over him or he needs to apologize. He was wrong for what he did. You don’t tell someone you love them and then more or less kick them out the next morning. Thats very wrong. So he needs to make the first move and apologize.

  3. I really like your blog, so thank you for posting so many bonuses! I don’t get tired of them at all 🙂
    I think she should talk with Adam. She can tell him what she just told Chloe. It seems like her and Adam have this great friendship, so sometimes you just have to swallow your pride and hurt to be able to communicate. I mean, it doesn’t really matter who starts an argument, I think the goal is usually to resolve it. I heard once it’s more important to be right with someone you love instead of being right. “Better to be right with your Love than to be right.”

  4. Ok so to start I have to say I don’t think she should talk to Adam. Just delete him from your mind, I can’t believe he reacted that way, and yes please go nuts!! Anna’s been going through so much and Adam just made it so much worse.

  5. Now, I have to say I don’t believe some of the comments I’ve read about the links! I don’t think people would just enter randomly to any other blog they’d never heard of and except LSP, how did everyone find out about other blogs? Writers promoting themselves! I found this blog because someone else commented about it a long time ago (stranger I probably love the most ever btw haha.) I didn’t get the chance to post your link because other readers were faster than me but I would definitely have as I don’t see anything wrong with that! I’ve left comments on others telling them I love their blogs but honestly yours is absolutely #1 in my book ❤ Not to mention it's really cool that you make it more fun that every other blog with things like the link in exchange for a bonus post (AND THEN POSTING 3 I MEAN!!!!!!!!!) and also following through email & the polls which I love! And also you've been the most consistent ever and also you post so many bonus posts & make my Monday mornings wonderful (which is almost impossible, trust.) And also you're always so sweet with every comment and view! So yeah haha sorry for the lenghty comment but I just had to say this! I'd even read your blog if you posted twice a day every single day (REALLY!) I love love love your blog and your writing Soul! xo 🙂 ❤

    1. I just started reading and I love this blog. I don’t think the problem is with an author plugging her own blog but with her asking her readers to do that for a bonus. I’ve never seen any other blogger ask their readers to do that and I read most of the other blogs. I understand both sides. If I were a blogger I think it would bother me if all of a sudden readers were popping up to plug another blog. I think one of the other bloggers said it best when she said that she doesn’t mind plugs but at least pretend to be interested in my writing…. lol.

  6. I don’t like saying this, but I think Daniel may have ruined any chance of her and Adam trying long distance. That scar is going to be a hard one to heal, especially the way it ended. It might be hard for her to trust him right now given how fresh the break up is.
    I think one of them needs to reach out. There could be something for them down the line, who knows, and I don’t think they should leave things like this.
    As for Anna going wild, I don’t think its in her nature to do so. However, that being said, it could be fun for her to come out of her shell and “colour outside of the lines” and who is better to do that with, than her single friends!

  7. I was shocked to see this bonus post but happy for it… I can’t wait to see what happens I liked Adam but I don’t know I need to read more about him to see can’t wait to see what happens!

  8. Ok, after reading about how amazing Adam was in the posts prior to the break-up, and how he was sweet to her, and how they got along, etc., I’m just not so quick to hate on him. I consider his outburst something of a defense/protection mechanism. Now that he’s leaving, I think she’ll hold out on contacting him, but I think he’ll reach out to her. As for the long distance, I’m not sure they’ll get that far. I think they’ll just make up after the fight but that he’ll leave and they will both do their own thing.

    I love the Adam storyline btw.

    Love,
    https://poetsandheartbreakers.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

