Adam’s Secret

***Hi everyone! Here’s BONUS post no. 2! Also wanted to let you know that I’ll be cutting back on bonus posts by a lot considering the workload I have. I wish I could go crazy with the bonuses but I’ll be sticking to the scheduled twice a week times for the most part! As of right now, enjoy this second BONUS post! xo***

“Doctor Adam Turner to the rescue,” Adam said when I opened the door to my hotel room.

I grinned and hugged him. “Did you grab the cream?”

Adam nodded. “If it’s just a tiny cut I don’t think you really need to use it. But if it’s doctor’s orders then, sure, why not.”

I hadn’t exactly told Adam that not only did Daniel take me back to his place, but after some convincing, I slept the night over. I was in the bedroom, where I craved Daniel’s presence the entire time, and Daniel was on the couch. In the morning, I expressed my gratitude politely (and without as little physical contact as possible) and then said goodbye. But even if we didn’t touch each other, the electricity between us was just as electrifying. Thunder bolt status.

I couldn’t understand my feelings last night, and I couldn’t today; but I do know one thing, that if I didn’t get my head on straight before anything, then I would have sent myself through another loop.

“Alright, missy,” Adam said, “strip.”

I eyed Adam quizzically. “Missy? Strip?”

Adam shrugged. “What can I say? I’m in a good mood.”

“And why’s that?” I put an arm through my shirt and sat on a chair, in the opposite position. Adam was on the edge of the bed with a cotton ball, some antiseptic, and my fear of that sting in his hands. I was already beginning to sweat from apprehension.

“Because you didn’t do anything stupid with Daniel.”

He dabbed me with the cotton ball and I winced at the burn. No matter how closed the cut was, I was still such a baby. Just the word antiseptic made me shiver.

I sighed and looked at the floor. Here goes. “I spent the night with Daniel.”

Even with the television on, humming in the background, I could have heard a pin drop in this silence.

“Did you…”

I shook my head quickly. “No.” It was pointless telling him we were close to though.

“Why?”

I shrugged and flinched again. “I honestly thought he was going to take me to the hospital, but he insisted on doing it himself.”

“I knew it,” Adam mumbled, chuckling.

I furrowed my brows. “Knew what?”

Adam sighed. “It was only a matter of time.”

“A matter of time?”

Adam finished patching me up and I turned around to face him. We were inches from each other, but unlike my time with Daniel, there was zero electricity. Oh God, I was already comparing another man to Daniel. Why did I have to bump into him!

Adam shrugged. “I figured he’d want you back.”

I narrowed my eyes in suspicion. “You figured?”

Adam looked down and then peered up through his lashes. Guilt written all over his face. “He may have contacted me.”

“How? When? Wha—”

“It was a few weeks ago,” Adam explained. “He was asking for my advice, telling me that because you and I were so close that I could have helped him in some way.”

“You knew about this and didn’t tell me?”

Adam nodded.

“Did you know about this when we…”

Adam peered up again, and this time he didn’t have to say anything. I knew instantly. I stood up, feeling angry that I was robbed of this knowledge. Feeling angry that Adam kept this from me this whole time.

“Why didn’t you say anything?”

Adam stood, hands together and eyes pleading. “I didn’t want you to get hurt again.”

“How would you even know if I was going to get hurt or not? That’s not for you to decide.”

“I thought I was protecting you.”

I huffed a humourless laugh. “Protecting me? And then sleeping with me knowing that you deceived me.”

“I thought I had a chance with you. I fucked it up then, and I’m fucking it up now. I just can’t get anything right with you anymore.”

That wasn’t true. For the moment it was, but our whole relationship was based on this almost constant knowing of each other. A conscious understanding.

“I don’t know how to make us right anymore,” Adam finally admitted, sitting on the bed, looking defeated.

I sighed, and then sat next to him. “You can start by always being honest with me.”

“Will you be honest with me if I asked you if you’re still in love with Daniel?”

My heart thudded at the mere mention of his name, but even from Adam’s lips, my heart drummed.

“There’s always a part of me that thinks what would happen if we were together again,” I said.

“And then?”

I gazed at Adam. “And then I ask myself if I could ever trust him again.”

“What’s the answer?”

I shrugged. “I still haven’t figured that out yet.”

Adam took my hand in his. “And you don’t need to for the time being. Right now, all you need to focus on is you…and me.”

I laughed when Adam winked at his own lame fluff. “Adam,” I warned, expecting another joke.

“Hey, just saying,” he said, “if you ever do come to New York and decide to live here, I may be your only hope for a place.”

“That’s twisted.”

Adam grinned. “That’s friendship.”

I kissed Adam on the cheek and then threw an arm onto his shoulders. “We have the weirdest fucking relationship in the history of the world.”

I always knew that Adam meant well, so it only seemed natural that I’d never stay mad at him for long. For the time being though, I was pissed.

3 thoughts on “Adam’s Secret

  1. Well I can’t say I was expecting that. But I feel like Adam will be one of those people Anna will always have in her life, regardless of whether or not she decides to date him. Even with this secret, Anna seems to know that he cares about her. Not gonna lie though…I’m starting to be torn between Daniel and Adam and who I like better for her. 🙂

    I absolutely love your blog, so thank for the bonus posts…but I understand why you need to scale back on those. 🙂

  2. I understand how Anna reacted in being angry but still friendly with Adam at the end. He seems to honestly love her (as a person/lover/friend) and it’s ok if she can’t get passed Daniel yet, but I think she should be with the person who’s heart is more pure for her (Adam, in this case).
    I guess you can’t force it though, can’t wait to hear what happens next. Oh! and I almost forgot Will was in the picture, oops. Well then, we really will see what happens!

    http://poetsandheartbreakers.blogspot.com

  3. Thank you so much for another bonus! Everything’s just so complicated I don’t even know who I like better for her. Maybe someone new?

Leave a Reply

