Just As Happy

***Hi all! Here’s BONUS post no. 5! This is the last BONUS post for this week’s bullet run of posts so I’m hoping the week’s end goes out with a bang! Enjoy!*** 

I sure didn’t like dropping Daniel off at the airport, but I hopped, skipped, and ran to him once I saw him when I came to pick him up. Once he noticed my eager face, beaming straight at him, he dropped his bag and grinned widely, holding out his arms.

“I’m acting like I haven’t seen you for a year,” I said when I body-slammed him.

Daniel stroked my hair. “How are you?”

I hugged tighter and then let go. “I’m good; better now you’re here.”

“Did something happen?” Daniel asked, lifting his bag.

I sighed. “More than I care to say and ruin this moment. I’m just glad you’re here now.”

He wrapped an arm over my shoulder. “Me too.”

“We’re do you want to go?” I asked.

Daniel sighed tiredly and pulled me in closer. “Home for now. I just want to relax and wash off this airplane funk.”

I smiled mischievously. “It suits you.”

Daniel stuck out his tongue and I snickered. “I travel way too much.”

“Oh come on,” I said, “that should be a good thing, right?”

“It has its perks,” he said, smiling. “But it also has its downfalls. Like, when I go back to my apartment in New York, you’re not there.”

His words hung in the vacant air of the car, as I drove us home. That sentence alone had its perks and downfall, and I tried not thinking about them just yet. I didn’t know if making this decision was the right thing, but I was glad I finally made it. Now I was starting to wonder if my decision-making taking all of two seconds was a sign that I was rushing things. No matter what, I knew I’d be the one holding myself back. No matter what, I knew I’d be thinking these things over and over, in the hopes that there’d be a loophole and I’d find myself with an epiphany. Sadly, life doesn’t come with an instruction manual; in a way I’m glad though, because, like Jodie said, I wouldn’t really be living it, would I? What I really had to do was stop trying to avoid hurt and pain, because that’s a part of life. And without low lows, I guess we wouldn’t be having these high highs.

Daniel plonked his bag at the door immediately after we arrived. In that same instant, he pulled me in at the waist, and guided me as he gave me one of those really passionate kisses you only see in movies; preferably in Parisian scenes where it’s raining. I lifted one leg as the other supported my body, and Daniel held the rest from my back. We were concentrating so much on the pose that our kiss was light at first, when he swooped me back up, I ran my hand through his hair and grabbed a bunch at the back, pulling him in closer than close. He pulled me in at the waist and suddenly I could feel how hard he was.

I’ve missed him. I’m missed the love in our relationship. The saying is true, ‘you don’t know what you’re missing until it’s gone’, and those people clearly got what they lost back otherwise there wouldn’t be that saying, nor the validity of it. And I got what I lost back; I’m never letting go.

“Never,” I whispered.

“What?” Daniel breathed.

I smiled, sleepily. My head cupped over his hands. “I love you.”

Daniel smiled back and pecked my nose. “I love you, too.”

“Well, well, well,” we heard a voice behind us. I turned and we found ourselves staring at Chloe. The grin on her face, wide and proud. “If it ain’t the happy couple.”

“How are you Chloe?” Daniel asked.

“Just fine, Daniel. Yourself?”

“I’m good,” he replied. “You might also be happy to know that I have a room at a hotel for the weekend. So there’ll be no need for you to be crashing anywhere else.”

Chloe smiled. “It’s alright, you can stay here if you want. I don’t mind.”

“I honestly don’t feel comfortable putting you out,” he said, a hand planted over his chest.

“Well, thanks for thinking of me, I really appreciate it. So what are you two lovebirds going to do tonight?”

Daniel and I looked at each other. “I don’t know,” I said.

“It’s practically night anyway,” Daniel said. “Not much to do, I guess.”

“There’s always something,” Chloe said.

“I actually kind of want to crash tonight, and not do anything,” Daniel chuckled. “I’m just so beat. Plus, I want to spend time with my girl just in the one quiet place,” he winked at me.

“I’ll go shopping real quickly and make us some dinner,” I said. “You can stay here, make yourself at home.”

“It’s like a time warp sneak peek into the fifties,” Chloe murmured.

“Sure?” Daniel asked. “I can come with?”

I shook my head. “Chloe will come, won’t you Chloe?”

Chloe snapped her fingers and winked. “I’d love to.”

While shopping, Chloe and I split up, on my suggestion. I had been stuck perusing one section of an aisle when I started hearing Chloe’s footsteps from a distance like a door-knock on my brain with each clickity-clack.

“Okay,” Chloe said, “what’s up? I know you didn’t just bring me shopping with you just for the company. So spill. You better not be breaking up with Daniel again.”

“What?” I furrowed my brows. “No, not at all.”

“Just saying, you guys are like the golden couple. The white golden couple. It would be really disappointing for all of us if that happened.”

I shook my head. “There’s nothing to worry about.”

“Alright, then,” she said, “so what is it?”

I breathed in then out, and started firing off my explanation…

***

We didn’t even take that long of a time doing our shopping, but when we got home, Daniel was in my room, above the covers and fast asleep.

“Damn,” Chloe said, “out like a light.”

I lifted my eyebrows in surprise. “I knew he was tired, but I didn’t know he was that tired. Poor guy, he must be beyond exhausted.”

“Borderline coma,” Chloe muttered. She tapped my shoulder, “I’ll see you tomorrow.”

“Okay,” I nodded. “Thanks for coming out with me.”

Chloe shrugged and smiled, nonchalantly. “What are friends for?”

We stared at each other for a moment, and then I leaned in to hug her.

“I love you, Anna,” Chloe said.

“I love you too, Chloe,” I replied.

Afterwards I crawled into bed next to Daniel. He barely undressed, but I wanted him comfortable and under the covers; just to keep him from waking up in the middle of the night cold and uncomfortable.

“Daniel,” I whispered, shaking him slightly. “Daniel, wake up.”

“Mmmm,” Daniel grunted.

“Come on,” I said, still quietly, “let’s get you out of these clothes and under the covers.”

Without a word, Daniel sat up slowly, and started undressing himself. He was so cute; he still had his eyes closed while he unbuttoned his shirt. Obviously I had to do most of the legwork, until I finally got him down to his boxers. The both of us then got under the covers and snuggled in closer. Daniel kissed the top of my head as I lay on his chest.

“Daniel?”

“Mmmm?”

I smiled; my heart racing. “Yes.”

“Yes, what?”

I kissed his chest. “Yes, I want to move in with you.”

Daniel then opened his eyes slowly, and peered down at me, perplexed. “Is this a dream?”

I giggled. “No, it isn’t. I really want to live with you. To do this for us and for myself. I really want this.”

He stared at me for a moment, and then somehow managed to pick me up and closer to his face. I lowered my head just as we were face to face and kissed him. He kept moving my hair away from my face until they were all bundled up at the back, in his hand.

“You have no idea how happy you’ve just made me,” Daniel said.

“I think I do,” I said, “because I feel it as well. You make me just as happy too.”

***

Daniel and I sat next to each other in bed, just enjoying ourselves before going out. We already had breakfast, with Chloe making an appearance as well, and we had moved to my bed, listening to music for the remainder of the morning. Daniel and I were talking about all sorts of things. The kind of things that we didn’t necessarily need to talk about now, but rather, wanted to. It wasn’t as if I was moving in with him tomorrow, so we still had time to sort out through the details.

“My mother will be thrilled,” Daniel said.

I grinned. “I haven’t seen Jade in ages. I really want to.”

“I think she misses you too.”

I blushed. “I think I miss her more.”

“Don’t you find it a little strange that you’re practically buddy-buddy with my mother but I barely know yours?”

I laughed nervously. “No, I mean,” I shrugged, unaware of how to string this conversation. “I don’t know. No rush right?”

“It’s been a long time though.”

I paused. “Do you want to meet my mother?”

Daniel smiled and lifted an eyebrow. “Do you want me to meet your mother?”

I nodded, without hesitation. “I do.”

Daniel followed suit, nodding as well. “I think it’ll be good. Especially before we move in together. We can meet each other’s whole families.”

I let out a shaky breath. “It’s nerve-wracking.”

“It’s serious.”

“We’re really doing this,” I said, suddenly feeling giddy.

Daniel kissed my neck, and then my shoulder, down my chest. His breaths were warm against skin that I thought was warm until they met his lips. He massaged a palm-full of my inner thigh. I let out another shaky breath, for all sorts of different reasons now.

I placed my hand underneath his chin, and pulled him to my lips. Then I let down my leg that blocked him into coming closer, and he moved in between my legs. He was so hard, and he rubbed it smoothly against me, making me even wetter with each thrust. I breathed erratically the longer he continued like that.

Then he stopped, pulling back and smiling. “Do you miss this?”

I nodded, sleepily. “I do.”

He grinned wider, proud that he was able to put a spell on me. “I miss this too. I miss loving you.”

I blushed and just had to look away. He kissed me again, and then fell back next to me on the bed.

“Chloe is literally right outside you door, though,” Daniel stated.

I grumbled with the likeness of Joe Pesci. “Yeah, I hate that.”

My phone vibrated then, on the bedside table next to me.

Hey,’ Nicholas wrote, ‘are you okay? I kind of saw what happened. I think. Is everything alright?’

I sent him a text telling him that I was fine. There was no need to worry. If anything I really wanted to forget that night ever existed.

“Who is that?” Daniel asked, curiously.

“Some guy,” I shrugged.

“Who?”

“You don’t know him.”

“Try me.”

I rolled my eyes and pressed the send button once I finished the text. “Nicholas. He’s a guy I met at my work place ages ago and ran into again last night.”

“Nicholas, Nicholas…” Daniel repeated, mulling over the name and trying to hit it at the deepest recesses of his mind. Then he shook his head. “Yeah, I don’t know him.”

“Told you.”

Nicholas sent me another text. ‘I hope you don’t think I didn’t come to your defence because I was on their side or something. I only saw the last half when you slapped him and found out the whole story later on.

That’s cool,’ I wrote back. There were no hard feelings. Like I said, I wanted to forget the whole situation.

‘I just didn’t think Derek would be so capable of forcing himself onto another girl. I’m so sorry you had to experience that.’

I smiled. ‘You and me both. And thanks.’

“What’s that smile about?” Daniel asked, more intrigued than ever. “You got a boyfriend on the side I don’t know about?”

I placed my phone back on the night stand and then kissed Daniel. “Yup, so you better skedaddle because he’s coming over around noon.”

Then I got out of bed. Daniel pointed at me. “Hilarious.”

I shrugged. “You asked for it.”

Daniel laughed. “Yeah, I guess I can’t complain. Where are you going?”

“To take a shower,” I said, grabbing some clothes. “We should go out for lunch. What do you say? My treat.”

Daniel laughed again. “Okay, but only if you let it be my treat.”

I chuckled and then nodded. “Okay.”

When the loud banging started on my door, I was in the middle of deciding whether I needed a stat wax or not, just because Daniel was here. The rocking of the door was restless and just getting louder; and it was obvious it was the kind of knock you’d consider in emergency cases. Or in the family of emergencies.

“Yeah?” I called out.

“Anna,” Chloe yelled back, “Daniel … …”

“What?”

“He just … … go … … … know where?”

“Hang on. I can’t hear you; I’ll be right out.”

I quickly dried myself and popped into the living room.

“Daniel seemed really pissed off when he left,” Chloe said, surprised. “What happened?”

I furrowed my brows, genuinely confused. “I don’t know. Last I checked we were joking around.” I wasn’t even expecting him to leave.

“What’s his deal then?”

I shrugged. “I’m sure you just misread him or something.”

“I saw nostrils flaring and fire-breathing happening,” Chloe said, “it didn’t look like I was wrong.”

“Just chill,” I said, “I’ll just ring him now and see what’s up.”

I walked into my room and found my cell on the bed. I don’t remember putting it there, but then again, I may have. What can I say, taking a shower is like stepping into another world for me; nothing happened and nothing exists.

When my phone was brought to life, it was opened on the page where I was texting Nicholas. There were messages I seriously don’t remember sending, and messages I definitely don’t remember receiving. I never found a reason to lock my phone; so it had easy access constantly. Who knew this access would make my heart begin to race? My palms became sweaty as I slowly realised the situation.

Where does he live, again?’ Daniel wrote posing as me.

Nicholas laid down a detailed address after Daniel repeated for an explicit one. ‘Are you going to drop by and try to talk it out?

‘Yeah,’ Daniel wrote, lastly, ‘something like that.’

6 thoughts on “Just As Happy

  1. Ooh!! Love it!! She should’ve told Daniel what happened! Poor communication. I do like that Daniel is taking care Anna in standing up for her!But I can’t wait till next post! Anna better get over there stat!! He doesn’t need to end up in jail over Derek!

  2. Omggg this is so good! Can’t wait to see what happens!
    BTW THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH FOR ALL THE BONUS POSTS!!! I always say it & keep saying it, you really have the best blog ever & are the nicest and most bonus giving blogger ever haha so really thank you thank you, I wish every week was as good as this one where we got to read your posts every single day! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ Thank you again 😀 ❤

  3. Hi everyone!

    Thank you so much for expressing your interest with the story and appreciation with the BONUS posts! I had to put in a lot of time and effort, but in the end it was so worth it; your views alone are amazing but your comments also solidify everything for me, I’m so ready to do another string of BONUS posts in the near future!

    Thank you all so much for your support again and I hope to keep up the entertainment and good writing!

    See you soon!

    Lots of love,

    Soul xo

Leave a Reply

