Like Freckled Raindrops On A Summer’s Day

“Daniel,” I said, staring at his knuckles flexed on the steering wheel, “your hand is bleeding.”

Daniel looked at his hand with confusion. His brows angled downwards; it was so slight and slow-coming that it seemed like if you looked hard enough, there’d be no confusion written all over his face.

“Hmph,” Daniel huffed grumpily, “I thought I didn’t get hurt. Didn’t feel a thing when I punched him.” then he smiled, looking at me.

I couldn’t help but reciprocate. “You’re enjoying this too much.”

“So are you, don’t deny it,” Daniel said.

He was so tense before, that the atmosphere in this small car was enough to strangle the silence in cold blood. Finally, the further we moved away the better we seemed to feel. I was just glad it was back to Daniel and not the angry man I saw a few moments ago.

“We should get you to the hospital or something,” I said. My jaw loosened from the smile.

Daniel shook his head. “I’ll just use your first aid kit at home.”

Chloe didn’t even leave the house, and when we got there, she wanted a rehash of the events that followed after Daniel disappearing and me following after him. Chloe listened with wide-eyed satisfaction.

“I’m so glad he got his comeuppance,” she said. “Too bad Nikki didn’t get hers.”

“Nikki?” Daniel asked. I don’t think he heard that part of the story. Everything was out on the table, there was no use keeping that one little detail from him. I mean, I wouldn’t say the weekend is ruined, but there is a pretty hefty dent that I thought nothing could make this weekend even more of a downer than it already was.

“What a total bitch, right?” Chloe said to Daniel after I had told him what Nikki said to me.

“They deserve each other,” Daniel said, shaking his head in disapproval.

“That’s what I said,” I replied. Literally everyone felt the same way, and I was glad for that. It validated my actions.

Chloe nudged her chin Daniel’s way while eyeing his hand. “You should get that fixed.”

“Oh, right,” Daniel said. I think he was just as hazy as I was over the whole ordeal.

In the bathroom, Daniel leaned with his back towards the sink and mirror after I pulled out our little measly first aid kit. Great for cuts; not so great for anything else. We even kept emergency numbers in here; not because we forget of course, but because if we ever opened the kit and had a choice between a Band-Aid and the contact information of an actual legit health care professional, then we’d be more enticed into choosing the better and more secure option.

I dabbed a bit of antiseptic into a cotton ball and then began patting Daniel’s knuckles. Daniel sucked in a bowl of air through his teeth.

“Oh sorry,” I said.

Daniel laughed. “No it’s okay. I was expecting it to sting, but I didn’t think it would sting that much. Just took me off guard that’s all.”

“Okay,” I nodded, “just making sure you’re not a baby then.” I stuck out my tongue to the side.

“Watch it there missy,” Daniel said, “I’m still fragile.”

I laughed. “I didn’t think I got the chance to thank you for doing that,” I said, seriously. “I didn’t even think it would go so far as hearing Derek apologising to me.

“I should have made him beg and plead. All I did was open the door and then POW, I punched him. I didn’t even get the chance to do more damage. He just started bleeding like crazy.”

“His weak physically too, who would have thought.”

“I really hate that he was in your life.”

“’Was’ being the key word.”

Daniel nodded. “I know. Ever since I knew about him I’ve been wanting to sucker punch him. But I also knew it wouldn’t have been good form.”

“And now this had to happen for you to sucker punch him.”

“Oh, I think I would have done it if I just heard his name. I hate him so much.”

“Me too.”

I was up to the Band-Aid portion of this evening when I was deciding which way the band should go. It was like one of those problems that didn’t have a good ending either way.

Daniel chuckled after a while. “Need help there?”

I laughed, going red in my cheeks. “No, I got it.”

“I love it when you blush like that,” he moved a piece of hair back behind my ear as I placed the Band-Aid on.

I stared at him for a moment and then kissed him. Not knowing what else to do. I think Daniel felt the awkward turn as well because he fell silent too. It was like that first moment of sexual contact between two people where you didn’t know what to do or if you should be doing what you’re doing or if you were doing something wrong or right.

I had to ask, just to see if Daniel felt the same way or could shed some light. “Do you think it’s weird that we haven’t had sex since we got together?”

Daniel smiled politely, almost as if he were expecting the question. “Not at all. I think this pace is just fine for the both of us.”

I considered that for a moment and then nodded. “I guess I can see that.”

“Although,” Daniel pulled me in at the waist, “I have been wanting to. Have you?”

I nodded. “Definitely.”

Daniel brushed his lips along my neck. “I want to make you feel the way I used to make you feel again,” he whispered.

He kissed my jaw line and then dragged his lips over mine. Without lightly touching first, the immediate hunger was apparent. He grew harder the more we kissed, and I couldn’t help but get wet. It was Daniel!

“I love you,” I said when he bit my ear.

“I love you, too,” he breathed out, the words hitting my skin like freckled raindrops on a summer’s day.

“I want to be with you before you go back to New York.”

Daniel smiled. “Your wish is my command.”

Without warning, he quickly picked me up and flung me over his shoulder. I yelped and then lost my breath once I landed over his shoulder. He ran his fingers between my legs and then lightly grasped my butt. I couldn’t wait for what was to come; and I mean that in more ways than one!

***My 100th blog post is coming up soon (right after the next one which is very exciting!); does anyone have any special requests? Let me know in the comments below and I’ll try to do my best to make, if not all possible, then at least one! Soul xo***

6 thoughts on “Like Freckled Raindrops On A Summer’s Day

  1. Congratulations!! I think it would be nice for Anna and Daniel to have a quiet romantic night, just the two of them, with no drama. It seems like every time the two of them try to do something with each other, something comes up. Whether it be Derek, or Daniel’s ass of a father, or Tanya, or like that time they had to cut their NY trip short because Jade found out she was sick. I think these two deserve a carefree night where they can enjoy each other’s company. They’ve been through a lot, so I’d like to see them forget all their worries for one night and just talk about life and laugh with each other and learn more about one another.

    But to be honest, whatever you choose to write will be amazing so go with whatever you want to make your 100th post about!! 🙂

  2. Haha! Looved the ending! They are so sweet together, it feels so natural and as if they’re friends too (that’s what a real relationship should look like!). I’ve been really skeptical of Daniel, even until now, because usually what’s done is done and if it didn’t work the first time, then I don’t think it’s worth another shot… but this post here softened me up a little.

    Can’t wait for post 100!

  3. For the 1000th post id love to hear about what really happened with Daniel and his ex-roommate. Like how he cheated in his point of view or what he’s been doing before he and Anna got back together!

  4. I do not want any drama but I do want to hear about that girl that Daniel hooked up with New York. I want to hear that her boyfriend dumped her and her life sucks now….it’s what she deserves.

Leave a Reply

