100th Post Special – Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

***Hi everyone! Welcome to my 100th post! As you can see there are two posts, neither of which are a BONUS. They are both the 100th post and they can be read in any order. I’d also like to dedicate my 100th to all the people who have stuck by this blog, new and old, from the very beginning till this very moment, and I hope I can continue to bring great writing, great story, and just great greatness to your lives! Thank you for all your support! Lots of love, Soul xo***

Daniel booked us in at a restaurant for dinner. I’ve never eaten at the hotel but the restaurant Daniel wanted to take me to had some jazz music playing and I just couldn’t refuse after hearing about that.

“I never asked,” Daniel said as we rode the cab, “where did your obsession with jazz come from?”

I smiled, reminiscing. “My parents. They fell in love with each other because of jazz.”

“Do tell,” Daniel said, intrigued.

“Well,” I continued, “they both met at a jazz bar. They first professed their love to each other over jazz. And every time they put on a jazz record, they danced with each other. One of those old timey dances.”

“Before twerking.”

“Ugh!” I rolled my eyes. “Way before twerking. When tasteful dancing was the thing.”

“Hey, hey,” Daniel feigned anger, widening his eyes like Chris Tucker’s from the first Rush Hour movie, “don’t hate on twerking. It’s a God-given phenomenon.”

I pinched his arm and he couldn’t help but laugh. “Shall I continued or did you still want to advocate twerking?”

Daniel chuckled. “Please, go on.”

I shrugged. “Basically, I grew up with jazz around the house and, this may sound silly—” and I just had to look away to keep from breaking my confidence, even though it was on the rocks, “—but I’ve just always seen magic happen when jazz music played. I don’t know, I guess I can’t say it does for every time jazz music is in the background; but most of the time it does. And when it does, it really shows. Kind of like fireworks. Whenever my parents were together, jazz was the fireworks in the sky, bringing everyone together.”

“And that’s how you fell in love with jazz?”

I nodded. “That’s how I fell in love with jazz. Of course, I love all kinds of music; it’s just that you can never go wrong with jazz.”

“Indeed,” Daniel agreed.

It was just after sunset when we hit the restaurant. The place was packed, but not packed to the point where we had to wait at the bar for our table. The aromas filling the air were of roses and, and water, if that makes sense. Some type of thickness swirled in the air that felt thinner than steam, complimenting the rose scent wafting in and out of my senses. Candles lit the tables; and the restaurant was dark enough to be romantic, but light enough so that we weren’t filming a deleted scene from Pitch Black.

“Do you like the place?” Daniel asked.

I nodded ecstatically. Still staring with bulging eager eyes all around me. “It’s mesmerising.”

Daniel smiled, proudly and pleased. He sighed in relief and then we both turned our attention to the waiter that fired off the specials. Once we ordered our drinks, we settled into our seats after we perused the menu, figuring out what we wanted to devour. My heart was set on chocolate!

“When am I going to meet your parents?” Daniel asked when we put our menus down.

I shrugged. “All in due time.”

“I think the time is now, Anna.”

“I’ve never lived with a boyfriend before,” I said. “I’m nervous of their reaction.”

Daniel smiled. “I’m sure it’ll be fine. I have a feeling your parents aren’t dictatorship-type conservative. Relax.”

“You never know,” I said. “It could get all militant once I utter the words.”

“We’re moving in together, not developing a cult.”

“I wonder what our cult would be like if we had one,” I wondered, suddenly side-tracked.

Daniel pondered for a moment. “It would be like every other cult: two people not knowing what the hell they’re doing acting like they know what they’re doing.”

Our laughs shook the candles before us. They thrashed in the darkness, I thought they were going to blow out.

When the food arrived, I dove in straight away. Everyone knew this of me, and so did Daniel, if I was hungry, I usually stay quiet and just focus on eating. Tonight, I was starving; mostly because, for some odd reason, when someone says we’re going out to eat, I always eat very little before then, just so I had enough room. This time, though, I think I had too much room.

“Slow down,” Daniel chuckled. “You’ll get a sore stomach.”

“I’m breathing through my nose. Leave me alone,” I grumbled through a stuffed mouth. Daniel looked at me with equal parts disgust and absolute humour. I laughed at his facial expression, and somehow managed to keep my mouth closed during the entire time.

After I breathed in all courses, including the decadent chocolate dessert, Daniel and I took a moonlit walk on the beach. I never really paid enough attention, but when I did, it was always amazing to see—as if I was seeing it for the first time over and over again—the moonlight stretching across the surface of the dark silky water.

“Here,” Daniel said, disrobing his suit jacket and placing it over my shivering body.

“Sorry,” I said, smiling sheepishly.

“Don’t worry about it. I know you like the cold, but sometimes you just can’t handle it.”

I narrowed my eye at him, and I could see he was biting his lip to keep from laughing and avoiding my eyes. We were walking close to the shoreline, so I decided to pick up some water and flick it at him.

“Hey! What are you—” I flicked water at him again, laughing hysterically.

Daniel started bolting and I ran after him, our feet digging into the sand with each stride. He quickly turned around while I was too busy concentrating on not falling down, and caught me. I practically went for a full tackle into his trap; he picked me up and then held me down to the ground. He lost his balance too, trying to keep me on the ground. The water was just about to creep up to us when we were struggling to get up. I tripped Daniel and laughed as he fell to the ground.

“Why you little…” he grumbled, pulling me at the hem of my dress. “If I go down, you go down with me.” Daniel laughed.

“Daniel!—”

Just then, the water hit the both of us. We crawled as quickly as we could away from the water and into the warmer parts of the sand where the water had not yet touched. We lay down side by side, cold, shivering, and soaking wet. I lost Daniel’s blazer on the way somewhere in between running after him and falling to the ground, so Daniel pulled me in closer to him. He stroked my cheek with his thumb, practically exfoliating my cheek with the sand that was stuck to both our skin, and then he leaned in and kissed me.

“You have met your match,” Daniel grinned.

I stared at him. “I have.”

I knew he was joking when he said that, but I couldn’t help but think that I really have met my match. When Daniel realised what I meant by my response, he pulled me in again to kiss him more passionately. His soft lips warming me up, and the soft hum of the waves pulled me under and into his safe embrace.

~

Pardon the way that I stare

There’s nothing else to compare

The sight of you leaves me weak

There are no words left to speak

But if you feel like I feel

Please let me know that it’s real

You’re just too good to be true

Can’t take my eyes off of you

4 thoughts on “100th Post Special – Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

  1. This was the most romantic post!! I could actually picturing this al happening as I read it! I love them together, I hope that nothing breaks them apart again!

Leave a Reply

