The Story Of Cata And Wata

There wasn’t much of a simpler way to put it besides: all good things must come to an end. Tragically, Daniel had to leave for New York, and I was set back into my ways in California. Imagine a yo-yo that stretched far, and then very slowly came back to you; that’s how it felt when Daniel and I parted and then got together. It was in moments like these, when I craved Daniel’s presence on the empty concave part of the bed next to me, that I yearned to live with Daniel the most.

I spaced out at my desk as I thought about Daniel, probably looking like a bulge-eyed kitten awaiting its supper, when one of my co-workers jumped up out of nowhere.

“Hey,” Catalina beamed, “whatchudoin’?”

This girl was the tiniest framed twenty-three year old I had ever seen. She had deep black hair, parted in the middle and always dead straight. The dark strands of her hair perfectly nestled the squareness of her face; sharp cheek bones and a small chin made her seem menacing, but that was always until she smiled. And this girl, Catalina, she smiled a lot. There was never a cloud in the sky when this girl was around and she’s always so keen to have everyone’s back. Catalina Alvarez and I had become very good friends during this entire program; I could only be so grateful that the hardships previously have occurred only to amount to this conclusion.

I sighed, pushing my hair back behind my ear. Possibly a nervous tick. “Oh, nothing,” I answered, “just wondering where to start.”

Catalina narrowed her eyes mischievously. “What were you really thinking about?”

I chuckled, red patting my cheeks. “No one,” I replied. Catalina lifted an eyebrow and I laughed anxiously, my voice shaking slightly and becoming breathy chuckles of their former laughing selves. “I meant to say nothing.”

Catalina held out her fingers in the shape of a gun. “Spill.”

I sighed. “I keep thinking of Daniel.”

Catalina smiled proudly. “I knew it.”

I shrugged. “I can’t help it.”

“Hey,” she threw her hands up in the air, palms facing me, “I’m not judging.”

I smiled in reminiscence. “I just really miss him. I keep wanting to spend more time with him you know. Especially since I’ll be moving there soon enough, I just need to set up a few interviews.”

“Then you better talk to Will quick and get started on those special recommendations he’s got set for you.” I nodded in thought. “And,” she continued, “you should probably talk with Noboru.”

“What?”

“He’s been crushing on you since day one.”

“Well what am I supposed to do,” I said, lowering my voice significantly, “I can’t just rock up and say ‘hey, I know you feel me for me dawg but I ain’t up for sale’?”

“That was horrid. Please don’t ever do that again.” Our laughs filled the busy floor with another and different stir of commotion.

“I don’t think it would be appropriate.”

“I think if you just let him know, even if it was indirectly, that you were in a relationship, he wouldn’t be all hung up on you. Just sayin’.”

“Don’t you think it would be especially arrogant of me to do something like that?”

Catalina shrugged. “I know if it were me, then I’d want the guy I was crushing on to tell me he was in a relationship if he was in one. Put my mind at ease. I don’t know what it is but for some reason when I hear someone’s spoken for, they suddenly becoming invisible to me.”

I lifted an eyebrow in speculation. “Really? Is that even necessary?”

“Swear it works. When I first found out Matt Bomer, the hottest actor in the world, was gay; I was deeply sad and then I got over it. In that very consecutive order. Like it never happened; him getting me all hot and bothered.”

“I don’t know.”

Catalina nodded. “Do it. Anyway, I better get back to work.”

I thought about it after a minute, but I couldn’t help but feel more conceited the more I thought about the whole idea. Was it arrogant of me or courteous of me to tell someone who I knew was crushing on me that I was in a relationship? All good intentions unfortunately have the potential to be interpreted the wrong way, and I wouldn’t want this to be one of them.

“After you get these papers Xeroxed,” Will said, “I want you to come back so we can talk about personal recommendations and interviews. I know these people more than you so I hope I can pass on some wisdom to you.”

I smiled. “Thank you so much, Will.”

Will grinned, pleased. “With pleasure. Any time.”

The best boss! Right up there with Randy.

When I opened the door of the Xerox room I found Noboru there, scanning a few papers of his.

“Oh,” I said, “sorry to interrupt. I’ll come back later.”

“No, no,” he said rapidly, “it’s fine.”

With hesitance, I walked into the room. I didn’t want to make the situation awkward or be rude to him. Noboru was such a great guy after all.

Noboru Watanabe almost had the same colour tone as Catalina. Pitch black hair, a slightly lighter skin, thin (not frail) but tall frame. The biggest difference were the eyes, which ended up changing their faces distinctively. Noboru’s eyes were of a dark brown that turned golden in the light; Catalina’s were light, an almost amber colour. Noboru was the kindest most sincere out of all the guys here; he probably helped out a lot more than he deserved credit for. He’s also a speed demon though; he rides a motorcycle to and from anywhere, and he always goes dirt bike riding on the weekends. There was always something about speed, possibly the adrenaline rush I guess, that interested him to some max degree.

“How’s your day going?” Noboru asked.

I nodded politely. “Fine. Got a lot of work to do.”

“Same here. I’m getting swamped. Do you need any help with anything?”

Oh, God! He is so earnest and sweet!

I smiled and shook my head softly. “No, I’m good.”

Noboru cleared his throat. His mouth twitched in a sudden nervous spasm come and gone in an instant. “Well, while you’re here, there’s something that I actually wanted to ask you…”

6 thoughts on “The Story Of Cata And Wata

  1. I can’t see anything good coming from you just walking up and saying that to him. IF he brought it up, that’s different. otherwise it just makes for an awkward situation.

  2. I agree with the commentor above. Perhaps since she needs to ask him for something, she’s planning on just dropping it in casually, so he doesn’t think there’s going to be any special reward behind it.
    Now with the way things are heading, it seems like he might ask her out and she’ll have the perfect excuse! Or maybe it’s something completely different….

Leave a Reply

