The Haunting

Daniel and I woke up together with not a care in the world. It was sunny and warm outside, and the window of Daniel’s room was in a perfect position to let enough sunlight in, but not an overwhelming sum.

“Am I moving in here or will we be looking for another place?” I asked Daniel as he embraced me and ran kisses around my back.

“What do you want?” I felt his nose trail my shoulder.

I closed my eyes and sighed, feeling the intensity of each stroke. “I don’t know. What should we do?”

Daniel chuckled into my back, and I felt the light flutters of his breath. “We’re clearly not concentrating here.”

I smiled. “Those kisses don’t help.”

“No?” Daniel grabbed my inner thigh and massaged his way up and inside of my boxers.

I turned on my back and kissed Daniel, in an awkward position that wasn’t entirely uncomfortable. It was like we were a couple of octopi entangled in each other’s tentacles. Daniel gently rubbed me on the outside of my underwear and I moaned into his mouth with each stroke. The inclusion of the sun created an unexpectedly intimate menage e troi.

Daniel’s hard-on felt prominent as it passed my thigh on his way climbing on top of me. I took off his thin boxers and managed to stroke him as he held his head up and I kissed and bit his neck. I traced the veins of his neck with my lips and then turned him onto his back. I took off my tank and boxers as I mounted him and then kissed him again. My hair flopped alongside his face, and as I ran my sweet pecks and licks down his body, so did my raven hair stroke his torso.

He breathed in deeply when I took him in my mouth and I watched as his face faced the ceiling and his eyes were shut tight. I had read somewhere, not too long ago, that tracing the tongue along the veins was to ensure a good experience for the man lucky enough to enjoy such loving. Daniel’s responses were nothing short of a rave review, and we’re pretty honest about what we do and don’t like, so I always intended to make the best of the vein-licking situation. One must also never forget to give some attention below, it’s an all-around experience that turned me on just as much as Daniel. It’s the fact that I’m able to make Daniel feel this way, and Daniel welcomed it with pleasure, that made me feel like I had some sort of power over him. Almost like a spell. It’s invigorating, to say the least!

When he came, Daniel’s toes curled and he clutched the sheets of his bed in an intense and unforgiving bunch. Daniel made quick time and threw me on my back once he was finished settling down (as down as his body was able, that is).

“Allow me to return the favour,” Daniel grinned.

Before I had time to respond, I felt his tongue lapping inside of me. His hungry moans drove my body mad; I arched and I squirmed. It was when he inserted his two fingers inside of me and continued with that tongue of his, that I gave in. I gasped loudly and held onto my sanity for dear life, as my entire body shuddered out of my control and into Daniel’s.

Daniel leapt out of bed, and out of the room; bringing back on his way a couple of cups of ice-cold water. The both of us were too hot to even touch each other, so the ice-water was a soothing touch. One that calmed me back down to Earth.

“Shower?” Daniel asked after he took a sip.

I grinned and then, in one swift motion, poured all of the water onto him. For a minute he was stunned, and that gave me leeway to make a run for it and lock myself in the bathroom before he could retaliate. But a minute was just not enough, and Daniel quickly hopped off the bed and grabbed my arm, pulling me into him.

“Oh no you don’t,” he breathed. “You’re not getting away so easily.”

I turned around and was faced with a soaked and taunting Daniel. His brows lifted by thoughts of me only he knew about.

“Have mercy?” I laughed.

Daniel chuckled and shook his head. “Nah-uh, I’ve got something better.”

“Daniel…” I said, nervously. I tried moving left and right, but he blocked me at every turn and instead his steady walk was pushing me into the bathroom. I had my hands up, palms facing to him in protest. “Daniel…”

In a sudden movement, Daniel lifted me over his shoulder and I yelped. Then I heard the shower running. I didn’t think it was too bad of a punishment until I was placed down into the tub and felt the ice-cold water rushing over my head. I screamed at the sudden change of temperature, from the sweltering heat to Arctic.

Daniel hopped in with me; though for some reason he was able to withstand the insanely cold water more than I was. I tried getting out but he kept holding me back. I screamed and laughed at every turn, and Daniel was laughing hysterically with me. Probably at my crazy reaction.

“Truce!” I yelled. “Truce!”

Daniel pushed me until my back was stuck to the wall and started kissing me. The cold water was, from a certain short distance, only lightly trickling me. And even though it was cold water, Daniel’s kisses warmed me straight up. Our lips, although trembling at times, were moving in synchronisation. I ran my fingers through his cold wet hair and held a bunch in my fist.

I hopped in an attempt at wrapping my legs around Daniel, but the force of my hop pushed us both out of balance and I ended up slipping on the floor, bringing Daniel down with me and hitting one of the taps. We started laughing, until a rush of hot water battered the both of us.

“Whoa! Whoa!” Daniel gasped, as I screamed.

“Oww-ch-ch,” I laughed out in short breaths.

Daniel finally closed both of the taps and afterwards, we lay there to catch our breaths.

Daniel nodded. “Truce.”

***

“First of all, I’d like to thank everyone for coming to this variation of the ice-bucket challenge,” Brian said as he was perched on top of a stool. “We haven’t completely finished filling all of the buckets with ice-water so please enjoy the rest of the party, until we do so. All donations submitted tonight will be for the ALS cause; please go to als.org to find out any and all information you would like and provide future and further donations. Thank you all again and please have a great time tonight. I hope no one’s wearing white!”

Everyone’s laughs were drowned out by the deejay turning up the music. Daniel held me by the waist as his other hand was occupied by holding a beer. Daniel didn’t like drinking beer at all, and I absolutely hated it because it smelled like the combination of a hundred-year-old woman’s perfume and her decaying body! Daniel didn’t hate it as much as me though, which is why, from time to long-ass time, he could enjoy its qualities.

During the party we met a boisterous and crazy girl named Kate, whose boyfriend, John, worked with Brian. Kate was tall, slim and blonde; practically all the prerequisites a girl next door requires. She was hella-fun and crazy. It was girls like her that tended to brighten up any day, but she also seemed like one of those girls that can take it too far and might need a chaperone. The girl is a light-weight, but she drinks and drinks until she couldn’t drink anymore. Then she drinks some more. John, was the complete opposite, whether it was for necessary reasons or if he was just like that, I wasn’t too sure; either way, he seemed a lot more reserved than Kate.

“Kate isn’t always like this,” John said while Kate was refuelling at the bar. “She’s just loosening up after a long week at work.”

“Oh?” I asked. “What does she do?”

John nodded. “She’s a nurse—” suddenly we heard a screeching ‘woo-hoo’ in the direction of the bar behind John, “—currently killing her liver.” I bit my lip back to keep from giggling at the half-joke. John looked unsurprised, his eyes slanted with lack of amazement. “Excuse me.”

“Kate seems like fun,” I smiled at Daniel when John left.

“Oh, yeah, she’s the light of the party.” His voice was littered irony. “Don’t know why you had to get her number though.”

I shrugged. “She may be the only person I know in New York at the beginning of the move. I need to start building a repertoire like yesterday. What’s so bad about Kate?”

“There’s nothing bad about her,” Daniel rolled his eyes. “Just a little apprehensive about the people you hang around.”

“Kate’s a nurse, not a mafia boss.”

Daniel pinched me at my side. “She could be a bad influence, just saying.”

I scoffed and then nudged him with my elbow. “She’s not a bad influence.”

“Woooo-hooooo!” Daniel and I peeled our eyes off of each other and up at Kate. Mounted on top of the bar, she lifted up her shirt. John dragged her down in time before she took off her bra and flash everyone.

They left the party shortly after. Daniel and I looked at each other, and then snickered. Our giggles turned into an unbashful laughter, as if we had just conversed about a knowing joke.

“Glad you guys are enjoying the party.” We turned to find Brian behind us.

“Hey Brian,” Daniel greeted. “You remember Anna.”

“Hard to forget,” Brian smiled.

I put a hand over my heart and feigned shock. “You tried to forget me?”

“What a way to turn a compliment!” Brian laughed.

I turned red and then immediately thanked him afterwards. “Thank you for the invitation,” I said. “It’s lovely what you’re doing here.”

Brian nodded. “Thanks. I’m just not sure how legal it is to drench the rooftop of a New York apartment building but, I guess we’ll see.”

I laughed. “Well if the cops come around, we’ll just tell them it was for a good cause and send them on their way.”

Brian lifted his eyebrows in surprise. “Like it’ll be that easy. Anyway, it’s too bad some people couldn’t show up, but at least most did. I could just see Samantha not being able to handle cold water, much less ice-cold water.”

Brian laughed and Daniel only chuckled awkwardly. My throat clogged up and I had to quickly clear it to avoid any quizzical and inquisitive expressions from Brian.

“I wish you saw her again,” Brian said to me, “you two seemed to hit it off that time you visited. Well, at least from what I remember.”

Brian waited for me to say something, but all I could do was stare back at him with a wide grin that looked scary and strained more than pleasant.

“I don’t think she remembers Samantha,” Daniel swooped in.

“So really it was you who was trying to forget,” Brian joked.

“Ha!” I said, letting in for a slight and awkward pause. “Funny.”

Brain angled his eyes. “Are you okay, Anna?”

“She’s fine,” Daniel said.

“Brian!” someone called from afar.

“Excuse me. I think we’re nearly ready.”

I watched Brian walk away, and my chest deflated when I breathed out all the tension.

“I’m sorry,” Daniel said, shaking his head.

“It’s fine,” I replied.

“No, about everything. God, I just wish it never happened and now it’s just haunting us.”

“Can we just not talk about it,” I said with a little venom.

Daniel’s forehead creased in confusion. “You don’t want to talk about it?”

“No,” I said, crossing my arms, “I don’t want to talk about her.”

“It won’t just be about her, it’ll be about you, too.”

I looked up at him, almost offended. “As if I need a talking to.”

“Every time, at the mention of her name, you almost shut down. I can feel how tense you get. I’m sure anyone can. It’s not healthy being like this. There’s obviously something you need to go through or get off your chest or something. Bottling up isn’t going to help.”

After a while, grumpily, I sighed. “I hate that you’re right.”

Daniel smiled and then held me at the waist again, pulling me in tighter. “You know you love it.”

“I just hate that I react this way at the mention of her name.”

“I know. And I hate that I did this to you, and I caused all this harm to you. But there’s got to be a way where we can move passed this. I’m not looking for a way out or anything, I’m just looking for you to feel at ease.”

“Talking about it helps,” I mumbled.

“What was that?” Daniel grinned.

I rolled my eyes and smiled. “Talking about it helps, okay, I admit it.”

“How’s this,” Daniel mused, “we enjoy tonight and our weekend together, and whenever you’re ready, we can fully talk about whatever we need to talk about?”

“Promise you won’t think I’m attacking you?” that was the one thing I was most apprehensive about. I didn’t want anything I say or don’t say to be misconstrued.

“Of course, I promise. I think you need this.”

I nodded. “Okay, then, I’m down.”

Daniel laughed. “Alright, G-Money.”

When the buckets were all full of ice-water, each of us line up as if everyone was preparing for a Congo dance. Each and every one of us held a bucket full of water, and the person behind a person had to drop all the water on top of the person in front of them. Daniel was behind me, and a random was in front of me. I was just glad it wasn’t Samantha in front of me and in fact, that she was nowhere near the party.

“On the count of three!” Brian yelled at the front. “One, two, three!”

Buckets of water gushed down on everyone and suddenly, drenched people were screaming and jumping up and down to warm themselves up. I was one of the few girls here that was lucky enough not to be wearing much make-up, because some women looked like they were melting! Half of them quickly pulled out mirrors and began wiping under their eyes.

“It was supposed to be waterproof!” one girl said to another.

I have felt your pain, girl!

“Too bad this wasn’t holy water,” another girl said. “With all of this water we could have washed away the sins of half of New York.”

I smiled, and tried to avoid thinking about anything that would upset me. Under any other circumstance, that joke would have been funny, but in this case, it wasn’t. At least, not entirely. I just had to focus on the joke. I realised that most of the time that was what I really needed to do: to focus on the positives. It wasn’t all Daniel’s fault. There needed to be some improvement for myself. I couldn’t keep dwelling on this, I just couldn’t. In the long run, it wouldn’t be a healthy way to live.

After everyone dried themselves off as much as they could, a few stayed on the rooftop and others were invited by Brian to go out for pizza. Daniel and I were one of the few that decided to continue tugging at the strands of the night. No one really wanted to go to a bar and drink some more, since all we wanted to surround ourselves by was solid food more than liquids. A pizza joint was a great pick; especially since my stomach was roaring just at the thought of eating a cheese pizza!

“You may be the only person I know that doesn’t have any meat on their pizza,” Brian commented.

“It’s the best,” I said with a full mouth, at which Brian and Daniel laughed in unison.

I practically ate half of the pizza, when the conversation started picking up higher than it already was. I was more into the food than the conversation, and both Daniel and Brian were more into the conversation. I wondered how long it had been since they caught up. I wondered if Daniel was avoiding Brian for obvious reasons. I just hope I didn’t ruin anything.

The worst part about eating out was when you’re scoffing down a pizza and coke, and all you wanted to do was a simple teeny-tiny burp just to relax and not feel bloated. That was hard when I was surrounded by guys who thought I had better etiquette than them.

“You alright there?” Brian asked.

I moaned and sighed. Totally prepared to take off my jeans and lie down like a slob right now. “I’m fine,” I replied.

I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me when the doorbell to the entrance of the place sounded and Samantha walked in. But when the conversation stopped, it seemed like I wasn’t the only one. Brian stood to greet Samantha and let her inside the booth first.

“Hi guys,” Samantha beamed. Oh, she was definitely enjoying this.

“I thought she wasn’t coming,” Daniel said to Brian.

“Me too,” Brian said. “I let her know we’d be here but I didn’t think she’d come.”

“As it turns out, I’m free now,” Samantha finished. Then she turned those shady eyes on me. “How are you Anna?”

My head started spinning and I was angry at the fact that I had just moments before, vowed to be a little more thick skinned about this whole situation. To let what happened be, and move on. Obviously I couldn’t change straight away.

“Anna?” Brian asked, concern colouring his tone.

I felt like the room was spinning until I realised I was rocking back and forth. My eyes were glassy and heavy. Something was building up inside of me, and I figured it was anger. No, not anger, food and alcohol!

“Oh my God,” I said, retching. “I’m going to throw up!”

9 thoughts on “The Haunting

  1. I am praying she vomits all over Samantha. Obviously brian doesn’t know what happened between Daniel and Samantha, so how can daniel be friends with him…it’s almost a slap in the face for brian.
    BONUS POST!!!

  2. Nooooo, I don’t want her to puke on Samantha! She needs to keep her cool now more than ever. Anna is with Daniel and that’s all that matters. They need to keep to together, have that talk they mentioned, and make things work without giving a care about the rest of the world.

    1. I would rather her not puke at all too but judging by the end of this post I don’t think that’s going to happen. The truth needs to come out. Brian and Samantha were dating when Samantha got with Daniel so brian needs to know what kind of girl he’s with.

Leave a Reply

