Mr. Green Eyes

***Response to commenters from the previous post: Here’s the answer to your question Amy W; and here’s the link to the recipe for that soup that sounds (and is!) so tasty Igburton! What we did was a variation to this but all the same! Please enjoy all!***

I grinned as soon as I recognised who it was.

“We can’t keep meeting like this,” Mark said. “I fear a concussion next time.”

I laughed and shrugged like it didn’t bother me. “What’s a little concussion?”

Mark’s lips widened into a big smile. “How are you?”

We shared a hug and then sat down together on the sand. The soccer ball in a tiny ditch he made for it on his side.

“I’m fine. You?”

Mark nodded. “Good. Do you even remember me?”

“Of course! You’re the polygamous guy I dated.”

“Barely,” Mark muttered. “And is that how you remember me? A slut?”

I choked on my own saliva. I watched as Mark bit down on his lip to keep from throwing his head back and laughing. He couldn’t stop his shoulders from shaking though.

“No, no, no,” I croaked.

“Are you okay?”

“Fine, fine, fine,” I said, rolling my eyes at the repetition when he wasn’t looking. What is this, a song and dance? Keep it together girl!

“How about Mr. Green Eyes?” I said.

“Well since you brought it up. I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone with as green eyes as mine.”

“I’m blessed, I guess.”

Mark appraised me and made sure I took notice. “Definitely.”

“You could be so creepy, you know that?”

Mark laughed. “Last I saw you, you were going on vacation with your boyfriend. How did that go?”

So much for a distraction. Daniel was almost a faint memory throughout this conversation, and in one fell swoop…BAM! he came back, stronger than ever.

“Not so good, Mr. Green Eyes,” I mumbled. The little nickname I gave him was helping me out of this rut by the power of humour. I think Mark saw that it cheered me up to call him that.

“I’m sorry.” He took the soccer ball and started meddling with it. When he saw that I noticed. He told me it was a coping mechanism. “When girls get emotional, I usually don’t know what to do and how to comfort them. Messing with the soccer ball helps me think.” I barely had time to comment on the logic. “Anyway, do you want to talk about it?”

I huffed a little laugh. “I’d rather not.”

He stopped playing with the ball. It remained still in his lap. “What are you up for then?”

“Changing the subject.”

“Okay,” Mark placed the ball back in the ditch, “but just a word of advice? Surfing on a surfboard is the best medicine.” He winked.

I had to get past the Beyoncé Drunk in Love reference with struggle just to keep from laughing and side-tracking this whole conversation. “You think sex will fix me?”

He held his hands up, palms forward. “Just saying.”

I narrowed my eyes. “Are you saying because you want me to sleep with you, or out of the goodness of your strange heart?”

Mark chuckled. “I don’t even know which one is more offensive, but the second one. I think.”

“Sex isn’t going to fix anything,” I hung my head. Nothing could, not even time. When I’d think about him, it’d still make my heart ache. Maybe less so with time, but not completely erased.

“Listen to Mr. Green Eyes,” he nudged me, “sex does wonders to mind, body and soul.”

“Do you smoke weed as well.”

“That’s up for debate but let’s not talk about that now. I think you just need to have fun. Don’t even worry about landing a relationship. Just go with flow.”

“The flow of being a slut?”

Mark grinned. “Own it. Sex is natural, like breathing, eating and sleeping. Come on, you’ve never had a one night stand.”

It made me think about Will. My failed, very almost, one night stand. Then I wondered, was the experience between Mark and I just a one night stand. Isn’t it possible for people to have a relationship, even it’s just friendship, after one night? Or was I just a little too gullible? I went in there thinking about sex but, honestly, I really liked the guy as well.

“You’re an interesting person.”

“Thanks,” Mark replied. I snickered. “In all seriousness though,” he started again, “you’d be amazed at what the comfort of another human being could do. No strings attached, completely superficial. Sex and fun.”

“I guess I should listen to the love guru that is you.”

“Hey, experience is the best teacher.”

“I’m not exactly actively looking for a relationship like some warped version of a love-vulture circling its male prey. Just saying.”

“Love-vulture?” Mark asked, blinking twice.

“It’s the first image that came to my head.”

“Hunting down prey,” Mark winked, “got it. You have my number right?”

I laughed. “You’re really pushing this idea of us frolicking between the bed sheets aren’t you?”

Mark tilted his head. “Farthest thing from my mind right now.”

“Excuse me?” I said, placing a hand over my heart as if I was taken aback.

Mark threw his hands up in the air. “I can’t win!”

I laughed again, nodding. “Yes, I do have your number.”

“Well, good,” Mark nudged me again. “I’ve just made you a priority.”

“What?”

Mark stroked his chin, staring into the distance. “I think I’m going to enjoy this process.”

“What process?” Suddenly I felt like a guinea pig being experimented on.

Mark turned to me and grinned. “Get ready.”

“For what? What is going on?”

Mark laughed. “Don’t look so scared.” He stood and then offered me his hand.

“Easy for you to say,” I mumbled, plunging to a stand and slapping my butt and thighs of the sand.

“With my help, you’ll be as good as new. Hey,” he shrugged, “it’ll be fun either way right?”

“Why so cocky Mr. Green Eyes?” I folded my arms over my chest.

Mark smiled. “I’ve been around, through and through. I know the tricks of the trade.”

I’m sure, I thought. Although I was highly sceptical, as high as the Empire State, I was keen on knowing more. Alright then, Miyagi me Mr. Green Eyes!

***P.S. I think I’m finally ready to reveal my other blog! It’s kind of similar in that it has love and sex in it, but it also has a darker side! I hope you enjoy the very first post of…***

10 thoughts on “Mr. Green Eyes

    1. Hi elinabelk!

      May I suggest, if you’re not doing so already, to ‘follow’ the blog by clicking on one of the options up above? That way, you’d be able to catch up with every post!

      Also, I hope you checked out my other blog and enjoyed it as well!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

        1. Hi elinabelk!

          I can see that you’re following me through WordPress, but perhaps you can try following by email and see if it will actually work? Other than that, I’m not sure what the problem is. Sorry 😦

          Soul xo

          P.S. Thanks for following! In fact, thank you all who follow this and the new blog! Means a great deal!

  1. Thanks for the info soul! I do remember him. ‘Time heals all wounds’ as the song goes-sorry I can’t remember the title. I swear, after having kids, the memory is the first to go!!
    Keeping busy is the best thing!

    I am guessing the new blog is at the end of this post. Heading that way now!
    Have a great rest of the week & vacation!

  2. Um. Wow Soul. I’m not sure what to say about the other new blog. It is extremely well written and I feel the anger & complete justification from the man. Even though I am sure there is more to it. If one doesn’t experience it, im impressed that you wrote it so well. I could picture it all happening in front of me & it gave me the chills!!

    I read these blogs for pure entertainment (mostly comedy & romance w a tiny bit of drama thrown in -a cat fight). I need a vacation from my real life drama, work & kids. That seems like it might be a little too sinister for my taste. That’s got to be harder to write than romance but I think I am going to stick w this one. Thanks for all your hard work!

Leave a Reply

