Taking Chances With Old And New Friends

***Hi everyone! I just wanted to dedicate this post to Jennifer Lazo who emailed me to be featured in my post! JLa (hope you like that nickname), of course there’ll be more coming soon, but this is just a taste! Get ready! Also, I wanted to let everyone know that I now have a twitter account, and will hope that you all join in all the goodies. It’s an exciting way to get (and stay) connected! Tweets will include updates on blogs and posts, sneak peeks (in the form of writing and pictures!) on posts, interactions with each other on another more personal level, and having an all around great time on a social platform! I’m so excited to be sharing so much with you all! It’s simple to use and to sign up! I’m already addicted and I’ve barely tweeted bubkus! Follow here, to start the fun! For any further requests or concerns or whatever you fancy, email or tweet me! For now, enjoy this post and comment to let me know what you think! Soul xo***

When Derek walked in and aimed straight for the pause button on the lift, I shimmied to the farthest side of the tiny room. I was panicking, not thinking straight as I moved. I didn’t know what to do or if there was anything to do. But when he wasn’t looking, I took out my cell and held it tight. Just in case.

For those that don’t remember, Derek and I didn’t exactly finish on a light note. After accusing me of lying about a sexual predatory attack, no matter how minimal, Daniel fought him until Derek literally bled. I hadn’t seen him since, but I completely forgot about having him on my Facebook. He must have known I was here from there. Next time, when the beat drops down, maybe I shouldn’t Facebook it!

“What are you doing here, Derek?” I breathed in and out slowly, trying to steady my voice.

He smiled, appraising me. I was glad that he too kept his distance. Otherwise, I truly would have been on edge. More than I am now.

“You seem tense,” he stated.

“An appropriate reaction for basically trapping me in an elevator.”

He nodded, in what looked like agreement. “I’m sorry, I just really needed to talk to you before you left. And I knew you wouldn’t want to hear anything I had to say, so, trapping was my plan B.”

“Try plan A next time,” I said, “maybe it’ll work.”

He chuckled. “My nose is fine by the way, thank you for asking.” I huffed a little chuckle of my own. Reminiscing of when Daniel stood up for me. “Where is he?”

I lifted a brow. “None of your business.”

“Oh come on, Anna,” he pushed himself off the wall, and came a tiny step closer. I didn’t flinch; somehow, suddenly, I didn’t view him as a threat. He was trying so hard not to be viewed that way.

“What?” I muttered.

“We can talk. You’re not going to see me for a very long time; maybe never, in fact. More likely. So why don’t you want to tell me?”

I sighed, placing my cell back into my clutch. “Because I don’t know where he is.”

His playful smile was replaced by a soft, apologetic one. “That’s unfortunate; I’m sorry.”

“No you’re not. So quit it, please. Just say what you want and be done with me.”

Derek’s eyes slanted from sadness; he looked down to cover the pain. I imagined the pang in my chest was just as deep as his.

Finally, he sighed. “I’m sorry for acting like a jerk. I know I’ve said it a million times, and still, I hadn’t changed, but this time is different.”

“Different how?” I crossed my arms over my chest.

“I’m…” he peered at me in a way that made me realise he was assessing whether or not I was a trustworthy candidate to be told something. He stared at me for a moment; his lips parted; words on the edge of his tongue. In one fell swoop he whooshed them out. “I’m seeing a psychiatrist and taking some medication to treat a couple of things.”

I relaxed my rigid posture. A wave of empathy suddenly taking hold. “I didn’t know.”

Derek put his hands into his pockets and shrugged. “It doesn’t excuse my behaviour, and I’m not asking for anything. Quite frankly, I’m sick of myself as much as you,” he chuckled.

It was then I saw him in a different light. I had never seen such a vulnerable version of Derek before. So exposed before me; so shrunken-looking. Almost…haggard. Beaten down by an unknown force; or a force known all too well.

I smiled and shook my head slightly. “I’m not sick of you.”

“Yeah, you are,” he laughed.

“I was,” I nodded, admittedly. “For most of the time I couldn’t stand you. I felt different at different times; I don’t think I’ve flown a wider horizon of emotions before, than with you. But when it came down to it, I honestly really liked you when you were at your greatest. And I wanted us to be friends.”

He lifted a brow. “Honestly?”

A beep sounded and a male’s voice came onto the speakers. “What seems to be the holdup?”

I nodded, ignoring the man in the speaker box. “Honestly.”

He grinned, standing taller than before. “I’m glad. Anyhow, umm,” he rubbed his chin, in thought, “congratulations on everything. I know you’re going to do great things in New York.”

I narrowed my eyes. “Did you know that was the first time in a very long time I used Facebook?”

Derek laughed. “It’s a good thing you did, otherwise I wouldn’t have looked like half the stalker I am now.”

I laughed with him. “You look good. You seem good.”

Derek stared, then nodded and extended his hand. “You too. Good luck in New York.”

I smiled, taking his hand. “Thanks.”

***

I was going to fly out tonight, just in time for New Year’s Eve and New Year’s celebrations. I let Adam know this, and that the girls were throwing me a pre-New Year’s party. Just us four. Seeing as how I wasn’t going to be here when 2015 hit, it only felt right.

“We’re probably just going to hit a club or something,” I said through my cell. “Maybe even visit Martin’s, I don’t know. We want to have a very absorbing night between each of us.”

“That sounds like fun. I’m glad you’re choosing to spend New Year’s with me. I have you all to myself,” Adam laughed.

“Sorry I’m crashing at your place for now. I haven’t exactly been going about this move in the smartest way. Doing interview rounds and not even checking out apartments? Genius on my part, huh?”

Adam laughed. “It’s all hitting you pretty hard and fast, so I get it. It’s really quick. Thing is though, I can’t pick you up from the airport.”

“That’s fine, I can totally cab it.” He was doing me the biggest favour in the world, I had no complaints if he couldn’t pick me up.

“No, no,” he said, “I really didn’t want to leave you alone to carry your whole world, so I got a friend to agree to pick you up. She kind of jumped at the chance now that I think of it.”

There was a pause, on my part. It was surprise after all. “Oh.”

“Yeah, she works with me. Well, not with me directly. But in the building. She works in the finance department, her name is Jennifer Lazo. We call her JLa, like JLo, you know?” he laughed. I chuckled with him. “I didn’t ask because I didn’t think I needed to, but I hope that’s okay.”

I nodded. “Absolutely. She’ll be my first girlfriend in New York.”

Will she? Only time, and taking chances, will tell.

7 thoughts on “Taking Chances With Old And New Friends

Leave a Reply

