ShowTime!

Okay, so all Jla did was drop me off at Adam’s place, warn me with a stern expression, and set off. On the ride over it was like nothing had been said or happened. It was just natural after she told me to back off of Adam. There was no way to prepare me for this, it was just all so strange. Landing for the first time in my current home town was terrifying enough, there was no room for extra weight. But I wasn’t going to falter or be beat down. If Jla wanted to be sneaky, I could be too. If only she was nice to me I could have given her some pointers on landing Adam. We could have had a good time. My mission of developing new friends was off to a rocky start, but she wasn’t going to trump my happy time; my transitional state of mind.

Adam didn’t come home until 6PM. He had been thrown straight back into work after the new year, just like everyone else, so for most of the time, I was by myself. Adam rented a one bedroom apartment, so I was in the middle of setting my ‘bed’ up on the sofa when Adam walked in on me; half-naked because I was ready to take a shower straight after.

“Honey, I’m home!” Adam called.

I screamed and covered myself up.

“Gah!” Adam said. “I just poked myself in the eye trying to cover my eyes.”

“Are you okay?” I moved towards him.

“I’m okay, I’m okay. Are you okay?”

“I’m okay,” I nodded, laughing.

Adam laughed as well. “I guess I’m going to have to get used to a girl in my apartment.”

“Have you never had a girl in your apartment?”

Adam blushed. “Nope.” I paused. I never realised how deep his feelings were for me. Then he shattered that thought completely out of my mind with the next few words. “I always went to the girls’ place, so I can make an easy getaway. Girls always seem to stay over.”

I tilted my head and narrowed my eyes. A little taken aback by his response. “You do that?”

“Every guy does that,” he unravelled his tie and took off his blazer. “I know, I sound like a dick.”

I shook my head. “No, you just sound…changed.”

Adam shrugged. “I guess the real me is finally coming out.”

I chuckled awkwardly. “Yeah.”

***

“Excited for NYC?” Adam asked as we trudged down the street towards the local bar.

“I’m more nervous to be honest.”

“You’re freaking out,” Adam laughed.

“So badly,” I admitted.

He threw his arm around me and pulled me closer into him. “You’ve got me, babe. Don’t you even worry about anything. But tonight is about having fun.”

“And tomorrow is about work, work, work.”

“No,” Adam objected. I looked up at him, the wind spattering my eyes. “Tomorrow we nurse the hangover,” he grinned mischievously.

I rolled my eyes and laughed. I couldn’t even afford a hangover right now; and I’m referring to both money and time.

I didn’t even pay attention to the name of the bar. I was eyeing the large double doors as we approached; wondering how warm it would be inside. The colour rose to my cheeks when we were hit by heat and a large crowd. We took off our coats and then shuffled further in, towards the bar.

“Mannie,” Adam yelled over the raucous noise, shaking hands with one of the bartenders.

“My main man Adam. How’s it going blondie,” then he caught sight of me, shifting his features. “Who’s green eyes?”

“This is the girl I was telling you about.”

Mannie hooked the corner of his mouth upwards, nodding slightly. “Oh, yeah, nice to meet you, Anna.”

I nodded. “Nice to meet you too.” Mannie was skinny, lithe with brown eyes and had jet black hair gelled back to the fullest extent. A couple of beauty spots on his face and a scar vertically descended on his right eyebrow. “I’m surprised you know my name.”

“Tell me about it,” Mannie sighed. “Adam here can’t stop talking about you. Whether I like it or not, you’re in my mind whenever I see him.” then he appraised me, smiling. “And I must confess, I do like it,” he winked.

I laughed nervously. “Too bad I can’t say the same for you.”

Mannie lifted his eyebrow, impressed. “Ouch,” he laughed, “well, first drinks are on me. Welcome to NYC.”

I nodded, smiling genuinely. “Thanks.”

Mannie bit his bottom lip and took the sight of me in again. “You’re most welcome.”

“Thanks, Mannie,” Adam said, snapping his fingers and shaking his head.

Mannie shuffled awkwardly at first, and then walked to one end of the bar to make a few drinks. We turned around to face the crowd, and awaited our social lubricants.

Adam leaned in. “All the guys are looking at you.”

I furrowed my brows in disbelief. “You’re joking, right?”

Adam shook his head. “Looks like you’re the hottest one in the bar.”

“Don’t be stupid, Adam.”

“Look around, Anna, you can hardly see any girls.”

“But they’re beautiful and they draw just as much attention.”

“Okay, half of them are taken. And the rest aren’t you.” I continued shaking my head. “Okay, let me show you the power you have over a man. This is just based off of looks mind you.”

Adam called Mannie over and ordered a cosmo instead. Ordering the ‘girliest drink’, his words not mine, and acting like a girl was sure enough to give the impression that he was batting for the other team. Afterwards, he was to drift into the bathroom for a short moment, while men were to come up to me and ask for my number.

“This little social experiment isn’t going to work,” I warned. “You’re just going to act a fool.”

“Put your money where your mouth is,” Adam countered.

I lifted my brow. “Oh, really? You’re that arrogant?”

“Confident, Anna. Confident is the word. Fifty.”

I rolled my eyes and shrugged. “Bring it, Don Jane,” I laughed.

Watching Adam act like he was gay was one of the weirdest and funniest experiences of my life. I tried so hard not to laugh that I bit down so hard on my lip, real, pulsating pain actually developing. Adam spoke louder than usual, his back was abnormally straight, jutting out his chest, and he waved his hand loosely at the wrist. The kicker was when he hopped on the bar stool, crossed his legs and shook his shoulders with his arms bent at the elbows, saying ‘girl-talk’ in a high-pitched voice and then clapping his hands. The whole exaggerated (though in some cases spot on) act nearly made me spit out my drink, either through my mouth or nose or both!

When Adam thought there was sufficient amount of time spent on keeping up the façade, and most guys were paying attention, he got up and kissed me on the cheek, his lips near my ear. “It’s showtime!”

***Follow me on twitter! I tweeted pictures of Adam and Daniel and they’re both oh-so-sexy! Soul xo***

3 thoughts on “ShowTime!

Leave a Reply

