The Truth Is…

“Jesus,” I said, staring at Adam. “What happened to you?”

I ran to him on the sofa. His head was lifted back and he had a towel wrapped around his nose; stained with a ghastly red. Splattered, in pieces; thick in the middle, and thinning out on the sides; dotting in spots.

“I got jumped on my way home.”

“You got jumped?”

“Mugged as well.”

“Shit.”

I ran to the kitchen and tore some ice out of the freezer, wrapping the contents in a clean towel. Then I came back to his side.

“No, it’s gross, don’t touch the towel.”

I rolled my eyes. “Adam, this is no time for etiquette.”

“It’s not as bad as it looks.”

“Just give me the towel.”

The towel had completely covered most of his face, so when he was revealed to me, it was definitely surprising; and I couldn’t hide my shock. His nose was painted in red and his left eye was bruised. A little cut was shown on his lips, but his nose was the worst. Actually, I didn’t know what was worse.

“I think we should take you to the hospital.”

“No,” he shook his head, placing the iced towel over his nose.

“What do you mean ‘no’? Are you crazy?”

“I told you it’s not that bad. Stop trying to act like you’re worried.”

I paused, taken aback. “It’s not an act.”

“Whatever.”

I bit my lip, unable to contain my thoughts and feelings any longer; feeling like I owed it to him at this point. “I don’t love you, Adam.”

Adam shook his head. “Figures,” he mumbled. “I guess you’re going back to Daniel then?”

I looked down at my fingertips resting on his knees and picking at each other’s nails. “I don’t love Daniel either.”

Adam lifted his head and stared at me in astonishment. His brows lifted and he blinked a few times. “Say again.”

I licked my lips nervously. I must have unintentionally looked hungry. “I do love the both of you; but I’m in love with neither. I’ve had some time to think to myself, and I’ve come to realise that I’ve been holding on because I was scared of losing the two best people I have ever known for the simple fact that I don’t love them back. I’m not proud to admit this, but I think I’ve strung you along for that reason. For selfish reasons. For stupid reasons. I’m just all around stupid,” I lightly chuckled, returning to chewing on my lip and unable to lock eyes with Adam.

Adam remained staring at me with wide eyes, unblinking, his chest lifting and descending erratically. For a moment, I thought it was a big mistake to reveal any of my feelings.

“Say something,” I pleaded.

Adam’s eyelids flickered, and suddenly life was brought back inside of him. He sighed. “So all my efforts were pointless.”

I mused. “Not entirely. Just made me love you even more.”

“Did I make you love me more than Daniel?” Adam smiled. I laughed. “Am I currently the frontrunner in the scheme of things?”

I sat up on the couch next to him. He lifted his arm over my head and I leaned in. “Thank you for making a joke.”

“Thank you for telling me the truth,” he said. “It fucking stings,” he laughed, “but thank you, nonetheless. You’re a great best friend, and I’d rather have you as my best friend than none at all.”

I kissed him on his cheek, unaware of a few slight lines and dots of blood had been picked up by my damp lips. “Thank you. You’re a great best friend, too.”

“Oh, from your lips,” he feigned a chest pain, placing a hand over his heart.

I giggled. “I’m sorry.”

He laughed with me. “It’s alright. I’ll get used to it. Have you told Daniel yet?”

I shook my head. “No, but I will soon enough.”

And I wasn’t looking forward to it.

***Hi all! Part 2 of my WattPad read is up; check it out now! What do you think of the title of the whole series? Hope you all enjoy the new story. I really need to cut back with all these stories popping up! I’ve also posted sneak peeks for the next post on my twitter; I’ve also started this new idea where I post phrases (or pictures) that my characters actually said (or saw) to create an extra layer to them, outside of the blogs! And don’t forget to follow me on twitter! Side note: How many people would love to be with Jake right now? HOT! Soul xo***

11 thoughts on “The Truth Is…

  1. I feel like this storyline is kind of a cop-out. The way the story’s been told, it’s hard to believe she doesn’t have any feelings for Daniel or Adam.

    1. 100% agree. It almost makes me feel like the entire story for the past one year or so has been a waste. I find it extremely hard to believe that after everything Anna went through with Daniel, from start to finish, that she was never really in love with him. Reading all those posts about the two of them together, they’re love for each other was so well written that it does not make this storyline believable. So as a reader who’s been invested in this blog since the beginning, I’m sorry to say that these past couple of posts have ruined the story for me a bit. Really hoping the author doesn’t continue with this direction. I understand wanting Anna to move on from both Daniel and Adam, but I don’t want the basis of this blog to be compromised in the process (which I feel it will be if she continues with the whole “she didn’t really love either of them” storyline). Maybe we can have the girls from LA visit Anna in NY and talk some sense into her and make her realize he really did love him lol

      1. I am a little disappointed too, I was rooting for Adam, but I think there was too much drama with both guys. I think she was in love with Daniel at one point, but fell out of it and she always loved Adam as a best friend and tried to trick herself into believing it was more than that. Hopefully you have a great guy in the future to sweep her off her feet and away from the trouble of these two! 🙂

        1. I agree. But this blog has been fizzling out for a while. The posts are short, jump all over, and have no depth. Can’t say I’m surprised at this terrible story line.

      2. Anonymous @ 11:45 – nowhere in the blog did it say “she didn’t really love either of them” – this is all present tense. Johnny and Paul said “You *don’t* love them.” They did not say “You *NEVER* loved them.” Those are two completely different meanings. Daniel and Anna were good while they lasted. People with seemingly “perfect” relationships break up all the time. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t worthwhile while it lasted. I don’t think a storyline without Daniel really compromises the integrity of this blog.

        1. Hi Kels!

          YAY! I’m so glad a reader noticed that distinction. Thanks! Makes me feel like my writing is coming across well.

          Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

          Soul xo

    2. I don’t want to say it’s a cop out, but I do agree that the author’s heart doesn’t seem to be into this blog as much as it used to be. She said herself she has lots of ideas and stories going on in her head. Samson and Delilah was started. The fifty shades thing. I think with all of these, Anna has kind of been put on the back burner. I may be wrong, but this is my perception. mum

  2. Guess I am one of the few who votes to let go of both guys 😦 hahaha

    Honestly, I *wanted* her to work it out with Daniel, to a point. But I just don’t see any sort of longevity from their relationship. This would be the THIRD try and not enough time has passed for anything to have really changed that would make a difference. Their relationship, in my opinion, has run its course.

    Also, I don’t think this storyline is a “cop out” at ALL – Anna does still have feelings for both Daniel and Adam, as she has stated. She loves them. She is just not “in love” with them. I don’t think that is an unrealistic emotion. I honestly feel like it would be more unrealistic to put Anna and Daniel back together right now.

    1. Hi (again) Kels!

      So many tries; I’m as undecided as Anna, which is why I needed everyone to vote (thank you everyone!). Looks like the people have spoken lol and people definitely want Anna and Daniel back together!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

Leave a Reply

