Johnny Attempts To Cheer Me Up

“You seriously need to loosen up and just have fun,” Johnny said.

“But why do I have to come along with you guys?”

Johnny leaned in. “Help me chaperone.”

“But Brooklyn?”

“Brooklyn’s finest Ferris wheel must be ridden to schmoose a date. And by the looks of it, Paul is really diggin’ his date.”

Indeed, Paul was smitten. He and Alejandro were stuck like glue. Alejandro, a dark beauty reminiscent of a Stallion (strong, powerful, and not castrated; I could literally see a bulge at certain angles here and there; it was distracting), looked like Antonio Banderas, if Antonio Banderas was 27-years-old and an underwear model. Bulge ‘n’ all.

“But Coney Island?”

Johnny nodded. “I know. They should call it Corny Island for these two suckers in love.”

“Why are we chaperoning anyway?” I asked, as we walked in the freezing cold to have no-age-limit fun. “Isn’t Paul big enough to go out on a date on his own?”

Paul overheard my question and quickly came to us. “Open up your pretty green eyes. He’s doing it for you, honey.”

“Thanks Paul,” Johnny said sarcastically.

“Oh, when you said not to tell her, do you mean I shouldn’t tell her,” Paul grinned and then skipped away, waving his hand. “Toodles!”

I crossed my arms and stopped walking, Paul and Alejandro gaining distance. “For me?”

Johnny rubbed the back of his neck. His hair hidden under a beanie. “Look, don’t take this the wrong way, okay? I just thought you needed some fun, we can double date-ish as friends—” he stressed the word ‘friends’; adding a deeper tone “—and just get you back in a better groove. You need this you time.”

He was right. The added stress of telling Adam and now Daniel that I didn’t love them, was weighing down on me. Hard. I wanted to come back to work refreshed and banging, and I wanted to tell Daniel honestly and upfront about my feelings towards him. But can I be honest with myself, too?

“Thank you,” I said.

Johnny smiled, dipping his bare hands into his pockets and shrugging. “Not a problem, love. Come on. First ride is your pick.”

“Whatever I want?”

“Whatever you want,” he nodded.

A few minutes later we were seated on the Ferris wheel, ready for a little spin. We were stationary waiting on a couple more people to join us, and sit opposite us. Johnny was fidgeting and jittery, hiding it with fail.

“Are you okay?”

“Yeah, I’m fine,” his teeth clattered. “It’s just that, I’m not very good at heights.”

“You’re afraid of heights?”

“No—well, yeah.”

“Listen, I am too, but where in this little container, sitting comfortably, we’ll be fine.”

“Fine, fine, fine,” he repeated as a chant, “fine is getting back on the ground safely.”

I rubbed his arm. “Don’t worry.”

“I’m not worried,” he said, turning to me and stretching out his legs. “I’m cool as a cat.”

Johnny and I were too into our phobias when another couple came in, that we barely noticed. The woman seemed deep in conversation, but the man hardly said anything. When the door locked shut, we finally had the courtesy to acknowledge them.

Here’s a tip: when two people are suffering, don’t go out to the happiest places in New York City, because you just might bump into them. Lo and behold, sitting opposite Johnny and I was Daniel. This is going to be one long ride.

***Hi all! A couple of things; first, I’ve been getting some comments about the quality of the blog, and to fix the issue, I was wondering if it’d make everyone happier to post CaliforniaSoulBlog posts once a week only. I do try very hard to please everyone as well as myself, so of course it will sadden me that a lot of people don’t enjoy the blog as much as they used to, or think that I don’t enjoy it as much as I used to (I wrote overseas on vacation guys; clearly I’m obsessed with this blog lol soon to be determined whether unhealthily or healthily obsessed), and I just want to try and fix it for you guys and make it much more enjoyable for you all. I do fluctuate between a lot of stories, but it’s only because I love writing and creating them so so much! You are all an amazing added bonus; and what a bonus, I’m so appreciative! So let me know what you all think about posting once a week instead; if you think that’s a good idea! Second thing now, and to make it more upbeat, I may or may not have a BONUS post waiting in the wings! All you guys have to do is post one or more of your favourite memories from the blog; it can be anything; involve anyone; even about favourite music links or polls! I think this is a fun, great way to take people back to older times on CaliforniaSoulBlog! Comment below, the more the merrier, and I will post a BONUS in a couple of days (around the same time Samson&Delilah’s next post is up!). Lots of Love, Soul xo***

24 thoughts on “Johnny Attempts To Cheer Me Up

  1. nooo i enjoy your blog!! I love reading it every other day. My favorite of all time sad as it is was Egypt when Daniel “proposed”!

  2. Do whatever you feel will keep the story progressing. When I said I felt like your heart wasn’t in it, maybe I misspoke and you’re heart is TOO into it. It’s bad enough that we don’t know what we want Anna to do, but when you are struggling with that, as well, it’s hard. If she chooses Daniel, Adam, or no one, it goes in different directions. I don’t mean to offend or throw shade with my comments, I’m just trying to give you my perspective.

    And I am one where I don’t know what I want her to do. Whichever you choose, I’m sure I will enjoy. I do have a soft spot for Daniel, though. Take it easy, gal! mum

    1. Hi mum!

      Yeah, I actually do see your point. It’s like my indecision is a reflection of Anna’s indecision and then the story just doesn’t progress. I think it’s my worry of disappointing everyone as well that makes me go back and forth; but I do need to start being “hands on balls or “balls on deck” or whatever the saying is.

      I do appreciate you following my blog and offering up so many comments; they’re so insightful it’s crazy!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  3. I enjoy the posts two times a week. I think if you switch to only one time, the story will progress really slowly and that might actually backfire on you rather than help. I’ve seen that with other blogs and to be honest, it becomes a little difficult as a reader to remember all of what I read in the last post since it was 7 days ago. I believe you mentioned not wanting the storylines to drag on, so in my opinion I think 2 times a week is best. But, of course, that is your decision to make, so whatever you feel is best for you go with that!

    My favorite memory from the blog is the first time Daniel told Anna he was in love with her. I also love the post when Anna tried to seduce him and that girl walked in on them and Anna ended up blacking out from Daniel accidentally head-butting her! That post always gets a good laugh out of me!! 🙂

  4. I love your blog… I do struggle sometimes to keep up with once a week posts (you kinda loose momentum)… but at the same time, if the quality is there with a once a week post then it isn’t an issue.
    Do whatever suits you and what allows you to grow and develop best as a writer…
    In terms of memory, I really enjoyed when Daniel introduced Anna to his mother… I can’t really put my finger on why, only that it made me think of what it was like when my hubby introduced me to his mother for the first time

    1. Hi Maggie!

      Thanks for the support! I love your favourite memory and how you link it to your own memories; it’s just so amazing when a reader has that kind of connection!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  5. I agree with another commenter about the blog might drag on if posts are only once a week. I LOVE your blog… remember I read the whole thing in 2-3 days, laughed, cried, smiled and got mad. The sign of a good writer IMO is to evoke emotion from your readers which you have. Please don’t take the negative comments too seriously… sometimes the comments may be misunderstood even if meant to be constructive and then there are the haters. Honestly, you are doing something that I only wish I could do, so who am I to criticize? As my Grandmother said… If you don’t have anything nice to say, then say nothing at all.
    So my favorite memory… h’mmm there are many… but it may be when Anna first realizes she likes Daniel and her friends tell her to go for it.
    Erin

    1. Hi Erin!

      Yes, I do remember; you were a relatively new reader and I grinned from ear to ear once I read that you had read the blog so quickly and with enjoyment. Thanks for the support (and your kind words and that of your grandmother’s); I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  6. Noooooo 😦 haha I hope you keep posting 2x a week!! I will be so sad if you don’t. I agree that going to only 1 post a week can really drag out the story.

    It’s so hard to pick a favorite moment… there are so many! Haha I really liked the time where Anna and Daniel ran into Samantha at a party in NY and Anna gets sick and then slaps Daniel right across the face.. FINALLY.. a small victory for women everywhere!! Hahaha I know, I know – I am like the only reader who is anti-Daniel. I just really liked those few posts… The emotions felt so real!

    1. Hi Kels0h!

      I remember that post; it was a BONUS and I was going through a Regina Spektor bender! And you are not alone with being anti-Daniel I’m sure; I had been wanting a slap across his face for a long time. It was building up inside!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  7. I really like this blog, and really enjoy reading it twice a week. That said, I have to agree with some of the others that it seems different. The posts aren’t nearly as long as they used to be and (ok.. I know I’m probably gonna get shit for this but..) they don’t seem like the same quality they once were. It seemed to really change the most once she got to NY. I don’t know if it’s because you’re not sure which direction to take it, which I can totally understand, or if it’s because you have your plate full with the other writing you’re doing. You know how sometimes, when we get a full plate things start to suffer a little bit. I’m not saying the posts have been horrible.. I just noticed they’re not as long or the same quality.

    Personally, I don’t want her with either of them. But if I had to chose it would be Adam. For some reason, I just don’t like Daniel. Can’t really give any reasons why either. Let’s hope she finds someone wonderful soon 🙂

    1. Hi Jen Hoskinds!

      It’s unfortunate to hear, but I get it. I don’t feel like I have a lot on my plate, but I guess a third party could always see differently. Sooo many people don’t like Daniel; I feel like everyone loved him at the beginning but now opinions are divided!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  8. Would you consider making a character list? Anna being in a new place means there’s lots of new characters and I would love quick descriptions of how/when she met each person because it gets a bit confusing for me

    1. Hi Amy!

      On my way to making a character list! Is it just how and when Anna met those characters, or do you want more?

      Thanks for commenting (and the idea), keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  9. Favorite memory: when Daniel took Anna to the restaurant that played Jazz music and they had a romantic date then went walking on the beach. Daniel was chasing Anna and told her that she had met her match and she said that she had and they shared a kiss — so sweet! I loved when they were having good times as a couple. I don’t think the quality of the blog has fallen off, but you had such a good storyline with Daniel and Anna, they were such a great couple and it seemed so special that I just can’t enjoy reading about Anna with anyone else! Still like the blog and read every post though!

    1. Hi Amber!

      LOVE that post! Good times indeed! Anna and Daniel do have a special bond that resonates with a lot of readers so I understand that it’s hard when direction moves away from that connection. Thanks for the support!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

  10. 2xweek! Before I started reading today’s post I thought, “I love this blog. She’s so consistent and is always rewarding her readers with bonus posts. She’s the best blogger out of all of the blogs I read and I can tell that she absolutely loves writing.” Then I saw your bonus post was 4,000 words long and I thought yeah, i was on point with that last thought. Don’t give up on us. We love reading what you write 2-3x a week and your excitement and joy surrounding this blog is infectious.

    Team Daniel (woo he’s in the Ferris Wheel!).

    Fav memory: When he gave Anna his mother’s bracelet and said it was forever. I still stand by my Carrie/Big comment.

    1. Hi Holly!

      I literally want to frame your comment and hang it up on my wall; it was one of the best and most encouraging comments, so much so that it lifted my spirits from such a crap day. So thank you!

      Soul xo

  11. Blog twice a week please!

    If she can’t find someone new, I’d prefer Adam. He’s got a much better head on his shoulders & has treated Anna much better than Daniel w a lot less drama!

    1. Hi Amy W!

      Whoa another anti-Daniel reader! I think both Adam and Daniel have had their moments with Anna; both are great people though!

      Thanks for commenting, keep on keeping and see you soon!

      Soul xo

Leave a Reply

