Jenny Lets It Slip!

“When a man has no awareness beyond himself, he’s probably a psychopath,” Jenny started. “His mind probably operates on the same wavelength as a serial killer. Like, he doesn’t care who he hurts, he’s so happy with being the bad guy, kidnap emotions and tear them up, leave the rubble for other people, and then move no to the next prey. He probably doesn’t even think he’s doing any wrong, which is of course worse. That’s Brad.”

I nodded and listened intently. She said all this as if she were practicing a monologue for an audition right after I told her the deal with Henry and his offer, and Brad’s offer. When a guy is flirting with you, it’s supposed to make your heart flutter and be at least somewhat flattering. With the rate Brad was going, he couldn’t flatter anyone but himself. Actually, that’s not true. Women seemed so drawn to him. But maybe he doesn’t know they were using him for sex just as much as he was using them. Then again, that was also under speculation.

“I got to say,” Jenny said as she leaned over to grab the wine bottle and pour herself another glass, “These guys are cray-cray. Yes, I really did say ‘cray-cray’; either way, you still haven’t told your boyfriend?”

I shook my head.

“Why not?” she asked, taking a sip.

In the moment’s pause I took a small bite of the tip of my margherita. Wine and pizza, how fancy!

“Okay, so,” I swallowed, “I am. He’s coming over now. I just don’t exactly know how to tell him. He’s been working really hard for that promotion and I don’t want him to feel like it has been all for nothing. I especially don’t want to feel like I was the one that took that opportunity away from him.”

Jenny furrowed her brows. “What do you mean?”

“I have the ability to tip the scales of his future in his favour. Or…not.”

Jenny tilted her head and stared at me straight. “Do you honestly think if he knew this whole story, he’d be okay with you dating Brad?”

“I wouldn’t be dating him. And it’d be all for Daniel.”

“Do you want to do it?”

I shook my head vehemently. “Hell no, Brad is such a sleaze-ball. He’s so disgusting even my throw up doesn’t want to come out.”

Jenny burst out laughing. “That’s so gross!”

I laughed with her. “It’s the truth.”

My door knocked and I knew it was Daniel. I had been sitting here with Jenny and waiting for him to arrive so I can tell him everything. I had been dying to tell him, and also, a little worried. I know it’s not me that’s doing this to him, but even being the bearer of bad news is troubling to me.

I opened the door and, although I couldn’t hide the worry slightly lining my face, I threw my arms around Daniel and kissed him. “It’s a good thing we got separate apartments,” he said into my hair, “then you miss me more. Like this.” He lowered his lips closer to my ear. “And have amazing sex as a result.”

“We already having amazing sex,” I smiled, pulling back.

“Yeah, but now even more so,” he winked, grabbing my butt.

I yelped and shoved his hand away when Jenny came out of the kitchen sucking on a lollipop. I usually have one lying around—and it’s always one and not a whole pack—so it’s obvious she just took my last one.

“Hey Daniel,” Jenny said.

Daniel nodded and smiled. “Hi.”

They were still in the polite, friend of friend (or rather, girlfriend) type phase. We were all still getting used to each other; Daniel still hasn’t met Danny-boy and for that, because of the weight of my news, I was thankful. If any more pressure were added, I’d flatten like a cartoon.

“I’m going to make us some food,” Jenny said. Announcing her battle in my kitchen was her way of telling us she was going to give us some privacy. The kitchen wasn’t too far away, but it’ll at least give me some room to breathe before I totally annihilate Daniel’s future.

Oh man, I feel like such a dick!

“Your place is coming along nicely,” Daniel smiled, eyeing the room.

I scanned the place along with him, following his eyes. “Thanks. I’m trying.”

“You’re doing good, babe,” he said, rubbing my bare knee, “I’m proud of you.”

“You are?” I wasn’t expecting him to say that.

He nodded. “Of course I am. I just want you to know that. I don’t think I say it often enough. That I’m proud of you. Because I am; and I should tell you. You put in a lot of hard work and time to make your life something you want, and you somehow fit me into it—” he pinched my thigh gently and I wriggled, giggling at his tingly touch “—and I admire you for it. I’m proud of you, baby.”

He leaned over and pressed his lips up against mine. For the moment, I was lost, but lost in a great place. As if I were thrust into fields of flowers for miles and miles, where the wind picked up petals of red roses, blue orchids, pink cherry blossoms, white daisies, and red poppies; all magnanimously swirling around me in a breezy summer afternoon’s day. Bright sunlight, Daniel and I, two kids playing together amongst the greenery that encircled these flowers in the same way Daniel embraced me. His lips, soft and supple; his tongue warm and his fingers smooth and cool as he caressed my neck and cheek. There was no one else but us.

“Aww,” Jenny beamed from around the corner, “see, I told you he wouldn’t make a massive fuss about that Brad guy asking you out in exchange for Henry not jeopardising Daniel’s promotion. And you were worried for nothing,” she chuckled it off and then returned to the kitchen.

Daniel’s lips turned cold and immobile, much like those fields of flowers, now frozen. Someone call traffic control and prepare for an emergency landing. May-day; may-day!

***Hi all! Thank you all for the wonderful comments. You don’t even know the grueling week I’ve had so it’s always heart-warming to know I have awesome supporters! I appreciate you all; thanks again! And I’m feeling much better now; I’m in the final (perhaps recovery) stages of my illness, if you wanted an update. Your remedy suggestions helped so much! Also going to end on letting you know that posting more than one post on Wattpad is currently in the lead for my 200th post. To make it easier on myself, I’m only going to count comments from this post and the previous ones. If you want to tip the scales in your favour, please comment or forever hold your peace! Lots of Love, Soul xo***

4 thoughts on “Jenny Lets It Slip!

  1. For someone she’s only just met, Jenny is making herself awful comfortable. I looked back to see if I missed some posts. They haven’t interacted that much, and for her to be working in the kitchen and commenting on things seems a bit much. I’m surprised she didn’t excuse herself and leave all together when Daniel arrived. Maybe it’s me. mum

Leave a Reply

