Frankie’s Theory On Love

***Hi all! Here’s a BONUS post! Enjoy! Soul xo***

I pushed Frankie’s door open. He was standing in the middle of his room right in front of the mirror, fixing himself for a night out with all of us. I was already dressed, wearing a plain and simple LBD, deciding to dress up with sultry make-up and accessories instead. In all honesty, I was more into fitting into a comfortable dress than anything; LBDs do that for me.

“Can’t you stop hassling me?” I asked, throwing my hands up in the air in frustration.

Frankie smiled in amusement and turned around to face me. “I think we owe it to ourselves to have a little heart to heart.”

“I don’t owe anything to you.”

He raised his hands in quiet surrender. “Look, I just wanted to tell what it is that’s been eating away at me.”

“Fine,” I vehemently breathed, shaking my head, “spill.”

“First relax, I don’t want to talk to you while you’re all angry and attitude-y.”

I narrowed my eyes in warning and he in turn tilted his head, waiting. I rolled my eyes and sighed, a little annoyed that he recognised I needed to calm down. I took a moment to breathe in and out smoothly, concentrating on a spot on the corner of his room.

“Are we good, yet?” Frankie asked.

I nodded. “What is it that you wanted to tell me?” my voice was a lot smoother, less in volume.

Frankie moved forward. “I’ve always been the kind of guy that didn’t need anything in life. I felt like I could bounce from one girl to another, have a successful career, live long and selfishly happy. I was wrong. About a month ago I found out that I can’t have children. I’d rather not go into details but, that’s that. Even though I never even thought about the idea of having a child, the choice was taken away from me prematurely. It wasn’t my choice to make. It made me realise that I may actually end up alone, forever,” he chuckled slightly. Dipping his head low and then picking it up, eyes meeting mine. “You were the only girl I’ve given all of myself too. Truly. It may seem weird that I’m coming now after all these years, after the pain I’ve caused, but I feel like I’m growing here. I can fix me for you.”

I crossed my arms over my chest as I listened to him speak. In the silence, I felt confusion sweep over me. It was just too much to handle all at once, but I knew I wanted some questions answered first.

“Why did you cheat on me?”

Frankie shrugged. “I don’t even—I don’t even remember the reason. And even so, it must have been a stupid one.”

Obviously. “Did you ever really love me?”

Frankie stepped forward and smiled. “That’s the thing. No, and I’m sorry, I should have told you before. But the thing is, I don’t really believe that two people can be in love. I believe that two people can know each other so well, and somehow manage to get along really well, that they end up forever fond of each other. That’s just as good as love, don’t you think?”

“Are…are you asking me if I’d rather give up love for fondness?” I wondered, surprised.

“I think it’s a good life, Anna.”

I scoffed. “And what about sleeping around?”

Frankie shrugged. “I’ll do my best not to.”

I burst out laughing to Frankie’s bewilderment. “You’ve got to be shitting me. You think I want a life of half-assed attempts at love and polygamy? Do you honestly believe that’s the sort of person I am.”

“I thought you’d be hard to convince. I know you, Anna, you want the one guy, all the time, and you never want to be without a man in your life.”

“That’s not true!” I shook my head, taking offence.

“Oh? When was the last time you were single?”

“In college-ish.” Frankie smiled. “Ugh, so what, then? Suddenly I’m incapable of being single just because I love being in love and being loved? That’s such a bad thing to you?”

“It’s a toxic thing. It’ll only hurt you.”

“Yeah, because you’re such a saint.”

Frankie sighed. “I figured you wouldn’t take me up on my offer.”

“So why did you ask me?”

Frankie shrugged. “Worth a shot. Besides, it’s a good way to get you to speak to me.”

I rolled my eyes. “We better go, they’re probably already waiting downstairs.”

“Just one more thing,” he said as I began walking towards the door, “I’m going to go back to California soon, but I’ll be back in New York. I want us to hang out, for old time’s sake even. It doesn’t have to be every day, but I want us to see each other again. We can even go for a run or whatever.”

“Anna! Frankie! Let’s go!” I heard Noelle call from below.

“What do you say?” Frankie asked.

I considered him for a moment. “We better go.”

***Also, I’m thinking of trialing a schedule for the Wattpad posts. What do you guys reckon of my posting once a week? Or would you rather everything be posted at once? Let me know! Soul xo***

One thought on “Frankie’s Theory On Love

  1. I’m torn either way. I like the binge reading, but then again, once I’m done, there’s a big lag before the next. :/

Leave a Reply

