The Fine Print

“I hate Mondays,” I moaned into the nook of Daniel’s neck.

He squeezed me closer and chuckled. “I hate Sunday afternoons.”

“Ugh, when you have to suddenly prepare for reality again. Get back down and get real.”

“Get back down? As in from heaven?” Daniel grinned proudly.

“Oh definitely,” I said, steadying myself on my elbow to press my lips up against his, “you took me to heaven a few times.” I winked. I refrained from telling him I was so raw he must’ve drained me out!

“That’s what I like to hear,” he stretched, sighing.

I rolled my eyes and whacked him lightly on his arm with the back of my hand. “And what about me?”

He burst out laughing and switched us around so that I was lying down and he was over me. “I’m joking, I’m joking. You were, no—are, incredible. Always are. Just don’t want it to end up sounding meaningless the more I tell you.”

I stroked his soft, chocolate hair back from sticking to the side of his face. “Not a chance.”

“Okay, well, we better get going,” Daniel said, jumping over me. His naked body gloriously sliding over my skin.

I groaned and grabbed for his leg. “Come back into bed.”

Little known fact, Daniel has the worst balance in the world, so it was adorably funny watching him hopping on one leg. I laughed so hard I couldn’t keep my grip.

“I’ll make us some breakfast,” Daniel bowed down to kiss my forehead and then slap my bare ass as I turned onto my side.

I got dressed first, in a minute. In a slow minute really; I rather dragged the time out and saturate myself in this moment. The moment where everyone says you don’t feel 100% happy in a relationship—or throughout life in general— but only in certain moments. This was the moment I was entirely happy. A hunnit!

“Well don’t you look mighty fine,” Daniel appraised me as I walked into the kitchen, clasping my jewelled diamond bracelet Daniel had gifted me.

I smiled and rolled my eyes. “Thank you.”

I opened the door of the fridge and bent down, as I did I began feeling Daniel’s hands smoothing over my hips. “You’re welcome.”

“Daniel,” I warned, frozen into place.

“What?” He moved his hands to my lower front and my pencil skirt blocked him from going deeper than the seams allowed.

“What, what? You know what? I can hear the smile in your voice,” I stood straight, closing the fridge door.

Daniel chuckled into my ear, low and hungrily. His teeth grazing my ear lobe. He ignored what I said and just began pecking my ear, drawing a line downwards and then out to my collar bone. I reluctantly rested my head on his shoulder the farther down he moved, unable to resist his tenderness like a love drunk virgin.

I turned around and gave him a massive, drawn-out French kiss. My bust against his chest, my ass out as he cupped it, my ass fitting perfectly into the palms of his hands. I clutched is hands and began leading him to the couch where I pushed him back, and he plonked down. His legs apart, his eyes eager, his smile intoxicating.

I shimmied in my skirt, and pulled as much of it up above my knees even though it was quite tight. Yes, it is possible to do that. I got down onto my knees and slid my hands from his knees and up his thighs.

“You want this, don’t you?”

Daniel nodded. “Oh, yeah.”

“You love it when I give you head, don’t you?”

“I’m not just saying this because I love you and you’re my girlfriend,” he said, “but you seriously give the best head of all time.”

I grinned, quite proud of myself. “You just can’t wait, can you?” Daniel smiled and shook his head. A bulge forming in his crotch. “Well—” I stood— “looks like you’ll be waiting a little longer!”

I started laughing as Daniel said, “Why you little—”

“I couldn’t help it! I’m sorry!” I hopped as far away from him as I could but I only made it halfway to the front door when he caught me.

“Truce! Truce!” I pled.

“Nah-uh,” he teased, his kisses sprinkling the nape of my neck, his hot breaths pounding excitedly on my bare skin.

He had my arms locked together, wrists intertwined and held at the mercy of just one hand. Then, he drew up my skirt to where it was before, above my knees, and searched for my thong, the both of us slightly bent at the knees.

“Daniel…” I breathed, closing my eyes as he located my underwear and pushed it aside. Inserting his fingers without as much as a warning. “…oh…ahh…” I moaned, furrowing my brows and my face up the ceiling.

“You’re going to come for me, baby,” he growled into my ear, “before you leave.”

We somehow waddled near the kitchen island and I bent over to steady myself, my hands out and resting on the counter top, as Daniel eagerly thrust himself in and out of me. The lower I bent, the harder he drove into me, and before I knew it, my breasts were dangling from out of my bra and buttoned up (now buttoned down) white shirt. My legs straight, and Daniel’s hands on my hips as he steadied myself and aimed with perfect precision into me.

“I’m gonna come! I’m gonna come! I’m gonna—!” I yelped, growing louder each time until I screamed at the end.

Daniel moaning enjoying that I came. “I love watching you enjoy this.”

“I love it when you enjoy me,” I breathed.

Daniel laughed lowly and breathily, the both of us panting. I gave Daniel head before I left, not wanting to leave without a treat for him and myself. And my, oh my, a treat it was and it tasted sweet!

***

I rocked up to work with a skip to my step, feeling on top of the world and nothing can bring me down. Love will do that to you. And I don’t care how corny I sound, Daniel makes me so unbelievably happy. Those few days where we were apart made my love for him stronger and how much he makes me happy. Even though we still spoke, it wasn’t the same. I forgot how crappy long distance was. But it just made the togetherness of us more pleasurable.

I was smiling the entire time, my chest out and my head up. Nothing was going to ruin this day.

Nothing was going to dampen an amazing time with Daniel.

Nothing is going to—

I made a swift turn into David’s large office with a huge grin and completely staggered back when I noticed David on the phone, his finger up as soon as he saw me. A man sat before him, not even looking at me but I couldn’t blame him, I couldn’t even glimpse him.

My grin dropped instantly. I should’ve knocked, and now I’m going to have to get a lesson in manners. I hate this. I have on momentary lapse in common decency and suddenly I’m ridden with the upmost humiliation. Ugh, I just hope I don’t get the lecture while David’s friend is here and watching.

“Thank you,” David said, “thank you.” He plopped the phone back into its cradle. “Anna…”

“Sorry, sorry,” I bit my lip, my brows lifting in worry.

David smiled and gestured for me to come forward. I guess I won’t be getting that lecture after all. “Anna, I’d like you to meet our contact from New York that Will so graciously sent us. You’ve done well,” he said to me. I smiled proudly and rocked back and forth on my heels.

The man stood and turned just as I shot my hand out to shake his own. He clutched my hand before I looked at his face, and when I did, my heart dropped and suddenly, a large blockage formed in my throat.

“Lovely to see you again, Anna,” Richard said, leering.

I narrowed my eyes slightly. “H—Hi.”

“You two know each other?” David asked curiously.

“Oh, Anna and I go way back.”

“Way,” I breathed like a psychedelic dude. I forced a smile to ease the tension. “Way back,” I said to David.

“Wonderful,” David bellowed, “no need for introductions then.”

“Yeah,” I said, which was all I could reply. Want to hear something even creepier? Richard hadn’t let go of shaking my hand.

“For the remainder of Brad’s press releases, events and parties, Richard here will be our consultant,” David announced.

“You’re kidding!” I said, in that way where you pretend to be so ecstatic but instead are hiding a deep, dark emotion that needs to be surprised otherwise all hell will break loose.

David shook his head. “Nope.”

“I’m here to stay,” Richard said.

I snatched my hand away and nearly knocked over a lamp on David’s desk. “Fantastic!”

I completely forgot that Will knew of Richard. But I never thought in a million years that Will would contact Richard on a professional level. That Will would think of Richard straight ahead as a ‘fixer’ of sorts.

Brad will be pleased to know that he is now the lesser of two evils.

***

I wasn’t going to allow Richard’s imminent return into my life to bring me down. I’m no longer who I was when I first met him. I’ve become stronger, I’ve come so far, I’ve made a name for myself and I can give myself some credit for that. I’m not the person he thought he once knew, but I was more worried about Daniel’s reaction than anything.

Matter fact, I had other things to worry about. Push back the thought of Richard in my mind and think of a way to attend Janet’s wedding.

“…and so I don’t have a dress, I don’t have money to buy a dress, or a gift, or a ticket to even attend her wedding,” I vented to Daniel. “I’m the worst friend ever.”

“I thought we had it booked ages ago,” Daniel said, bewilderment taking over.

“Yeah, it was my job to arrange everything. But then everything started getting hectic and it was way in advance, as weddings are. But I completely forgot. We’ve never planned so far ahead and now,” I sighed, exhausted, “now, I’m just—I can’t believe it Daniel. I can’t. She’s my best friend. I love her. How could I do this to her?” Daniel remained silent. “How am I going to tell her?”

“Oh come on,” he said, shimmying closer to me on the sofa, “you honestly have no money? You’ve got to have something.”

“I’ve spent it all on rent, bills, and only have enough for groceries until my next pay. I just didn’t anticipate this.”

Daniel sighed and held my hand. “Look, I can pay for us.”

“What?” I asked, astonished. “No, I—I’m only venting. I need a way to solve this problem.”

“I’m giving you a way, babe.”

“I can’t take your money.”

“My money is your money. I know that’s stupid and all—some might say—but I don’t mind. I want to do this. To make you happy. To make Janet happy that you came to her wedding. You can’t refuse.”

“You know it’s like thousands of dollars or something?”

Daniel smiled and nodded. “I know. It’s fine.”

“I’ll pay you back.”

Daniel shook his head. “Don’t. I don’t want you to stress.”

“No, please, the only way I’ll accept is if I pay you back.”

Daniel chuckled. “Okay.”

“Okay,” I said. I furrowed my brows in amazement and shook my head. “Thank you. You’re incredible.”

“Meh,” he shrugged. “I just want to see you in your bridesmaid dress. I’m selfish.”

I laughed and leaned in to plant a kiss on his lips. “Thank you, Daniel.”

***

Daniel’s POV

“Hello?” I asked.

“Hello?”

“Hi, can you hear me now?”

“Yes, sir I can.”

I sighed with relief and spoke lowly so as not to wake Anna. “Okay, my name is Daniel and I booked a ticket to France for two, and I was wondering if I can get a refund on it?”

“Is there a problem?”

“Well, yes. I can’t go. We can’t go.”

“Why not, sir?”

“Because I’ve saved up money for it that has been shifted to another area of means.”

“I’m sorry, sir, but unless it’s an emergency, we can’t refund tickets.”

I forgot about that fine print. I hadn’t cancelled flight tickets in a long time, and the last time I did, I was eighteen and the son of a rich man who didn’t count losses or gains.

“There’s no way I can get the tickets refunded?” I tried once more, now realising a lie at this point would be rather pointless, not to mention stupid.

“I’m sorry, sir. No.”

“Thank you.”

“Have a lovely night.”

I rubbed the nape of my neck and tiptoed back into my bedroom. I slipped into bed slowly, hunching over the bed and hoping I was quiet enough to not wake Anna up.

Flight tickets, hotel accommodation, spending money, now all gone. But hey, I’m not mad and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I’m a little disappointed, yes, but Anna’s happy we can go to Janet’s wedding, and that’s all that matters to me.

***Hey! My new book titled, “In Dante’s Inferno: The Million Dollar Temptation” (thanks kelseyxsays) will be published on Amazon soon. I’m just waiting now for the notification that it’s up and ready for your consumption 😉 . Follow me on twitter (or check out my twitter) for the link, check back on the PUBLISHED BOOKS page for the link (Amazon’s giving me a 72 hour wait, which means it’ll be up before next week’s post), or wait until next week’s CaliforniaSoulBlog post for the link in the post! Thanks to all who have voted on the poll for the cover! I hope you enjoy the book (please review and share with as many people as you can!) and I hope you’ve enjoyed this post!

5 thoughts on “The Fine Print

  1. I loved this post! I love seeing Anna and Daniel do nice things for each other, not just get each other off (not that I mind sex, but it’s nice to see how their relationship actually functions sometimes.)

    Although I gotta say, I think I’m probably a bad friend. If I (knowingly, which Anna obviously didn’t) had the choice between Pairs and a friend’s wedding.. well.. let’s just say they’d be getting a nice souvenir as a gift.

Leave a Reply

