Sneak Peek

“Okay.” I stopped making the mash for the side to our turkey that is suited more so for a family of ten than two. “I need to ask you something.”

“Shoot,” Daniel replied, really into the making of his turkey. He hunched and craned his neck this way and that as if it were a work of art.

“I kind of…well…I don’t know…” I sighed. “I don’t know how to say this in a way that doesn’t make me look like a snooper. But I found plane tickets.”

Daniel froze and then straightened up to give me his full attention. “What?”

“Under your clothes. I found it. Who’s it for?”

“It’s for…” he held his shoulders up and shook his head in thought, “business.”

I honestly thought he was going to say it was for us. “Business?”

He nodded, squeezing his lips together. “Mm-hmm. Mm-hmm.”

“A business trip to Venice?”

“Well,” he combed his fingers through his tousled brown hair, “the economy is better there…it’s…it’s…” then he sighed. “I’m bad at this.”

“At what?”

“At lying,” he chuckled. “I wanted it to be a surprise.”

My cheeks heated up and I smiled. “You were going to take us to Venice?”

He nodded, a faint pink rising to his own plump cheeks. “Yeah.” He smiled sheepishly.

“Wow. That’s incredible.”

“Well we couldn’t go because–”

“Yeah, I saw the dates. What was the occasion?”

Daniel lifted his eyes to mine, not strong nor confident, just in search for something in my own. His lips were parted and his eyes glossy with thought, flickering between my eyes. Then he smiled, that hidden thought suddenly fleeting, and rounded the kitchen island to wrap his arms around my waist. “No occasion. I just love you.”

I stood on my tiptoes to kiss him. “That’s good enough for me.”

“So how’d it go with David?” Daniel asked, quickly changing the subject.

“Well…”

***My Christmas gift to all you ladies out there. Don’t worry, it’s not one of my books on special or anything like that 😛 and no it’s not Too Faced’s Le Grand Chateau, I’m so upset that’s sold out EVERYWHERE. Should’ve gotten in early, but that link is honestly probably the next best thing. Hope you like, and happy thanksgiving to you all. Soul xo***

9 thoughts on “Sneak Peek

  1. I was seriously reconsidering doing any more sneak peeks if Melissa’s reaction was all I was receiving lol.

    Melissa: since I’m posting only once a week now (which means you can expect the next post next week) I thought that the sneak peeks were a good way of satiating anyone’s appetite for more posts. I’ve explained my choice to do one post per week in another post so feel free to check back a few dates, I’m sure it’s still up there because I think it was attached to the end of a post.

    Amber: Thanks Amber! Glad you enjoyed it!

    Soul xo

    P.S. Hope you all like the Christmas gift 😉

    1. I respect your choice to post once a week and admire your skill. Apologies. I didn’t realize that you posted a real post. I’ve been checking and saw the two sneak peeks only. My mistake.

      1. Aww you’re too sweet. Thank you. It’s totally fine but thank you. It can get confusing, especially with me because I tend to post a lot of BONUSES and sneak peeks around my usual posting schedule, and that’s just usually why I suggest people subscribe to this blog, just so it doesn’t get confusing and end up detracting from the core story.

        Either way, I hope you enjoyed the scheduled post and the little Christmas/holiday season nugget. I ended up buying soooooo much for me and my sister lol! Never forget to treat yourself as well as others this holiday season!

        Love you all! ❤

        Soul xo

Leave a Reply

