He’ll Never Know It’s Coming

“You’re an idiot,” Janet said.

“Heeeeyy,” I whined.

“I’m sorry but something is clearly wrong with you.”

“I only said I wasn’t ready.”

“You’ll never be ready with that attitude, Anna. And what’s there to be ready about? It’s marriage not an execution.”

“I know,” I muttered. “But so many things can go wrong.”

“See. That’s your problem.”

“What is?” I asked defensively. Pull back, Anna, pull back.

“Your problem is that you’re in search of all the wrong reasons. You’ve found every reason under the sun of why you shouldn’t marry Daniel and it’s making you complacent in this relationship.”

Not even Dr. Shaw, no matter how good she is, would’ve given me this kind of insight. I know therapists are supposed to be impartial and unbiased and that’s why they’re able to give the best advice and whatnot. But Janet knows me, and sometimes being biased is key to deciphering someone. Someone like me. And she was right.

I sighed. “I don’t know what to do.”

“You’re making something so easy be so complicated. A man this devoted to you would never break your heart, if that’s what you’re afraid of. He’s going to be there for you, Anna. Always.”

“You can’t tell that.”

“I so can.”

I chuckled. “How?”

“Easy.”

“Oh, easy is it?”

“Mm-hmm. But that’s not the point and you know it.”

“I know.”

“He’s always found his way back into your heart, proposed to you a billion times, and even though you haven’t budged, he’s still here. What does that tell you?”

“He’ll be with me no matter what,” I muttered absentmindedly.

“He’ll be with you no matter what,” Janet repeated in assurance.

I covered my mouth with the palm of my hand. “Oh no, Janet, what have I done?”

“Calm down.”

“He’s not going to propose to me again! I’ve ruined my chances. I’ve refused his proposal. You’re right, I’m such an idiot!”

“Alright, wait, just calm down.”

There was a silence where I thought Janet was devising a plan. But she didn’t speak for a long time. “Wait for what?”

“I don’t know,” she breathed.

In that same moment, I had an idea. And I smiled a cheeky smile. On the corner of my lips and at the peripheral of my vision, I could see a way as I began to scheme. I sound like an evil person planning to kidnap but it’s not how it sounds. Even though my little giggle made it sound like was planning my ransom note.

“What?” Janet asked in response to my weirdness.

“Okay. This might sound crazy but bear with me.”

“Okay…”

“Why don’t I propose to him!?”

8 thoughts on “He’ll Never Know It’s Coming

  1. Anna should not propose to Daniel. It’s too much and honestly she’s taking away the one thing he wanted to do. Anna is too wishy washy. This week she want to propose to him then next week it’s the opposite. I think she should take a break from Daniel and figure it out.

  2. If she doesn’t propose, she’s nuts. Which we already know that. Explain to Daniel her issues and trust him enough for him to accept her proposal or tell him she’s changed her mind & she’ll say ‘yes’ if he’ll ask her one more time. A grand gesture on her part is desperately needed!

    Thanks for the two posts!!

  3. Well glad she has come around – better late than never haha! But I agree with Valerie – I don’t think she should propose! Just have her tell him that she has changed her mind and let him do it! It is too weird to have the girl propose! And no she can’t have a pass to attend Adam’s wedding…

  4. NO! She can’t propose. It’s so weird when women do that. It’s the man’s responsibility and he’ll be frustrated when she does it. Plus, if you were Daniel wouldn’t you think it was strange that Anna denied him a couple times then a week later does it herself?

    Find a sweet way for her to accept his request and let him do it one last time.

  5. I don’t think there is anything wrong with a woman proposing, but I feel like we have read this same story over and over with Anna. There is truly no way that she is ready for marriage, and that is completely fine. She is still very young. She has been so hesitant about everything with Daniel, which is understandable with his past, his parents, her parents, etc. Honestly, it also seems like Daniel isn’t completely sure or ready for marriage either, but since Anna is being vocal about being hesitant he can play victim and put on the front that he is ready. Also, they lead very separate lives. She didn’t even know any of his friends! He barely knows any of hers. I think it is a great step for her to decide that she is ready to be all in with him, but she can do that and finally fully commit to the relationship with Daniel without an engagement attached or even the pressure of marriage on the horizon. Have they even discussed anything about their futures to make sure things will work out? Kids? Where to live? Career goals? They barely even talk their issues with each other out as it is. I personally don’t see the two of them as endgame, but it seems as if I might be the only one.

    Yikes!! I hope this didn’t seem like a super negative post. How did I get this invested in a fictional couple??! Just be happy, you two!! Thanks, Soul!! Can’t wait to see what is next.

    xx.

  6. She has to propose or they will never get married. Daniel’s been told no even when he hasn’t proposed (just this last time when they were about to get it on), Anna is so freaking selfish. Everything has to be on her terms. Now the proposal will be on her terms. I kind of want Daniel to tell her no…let her know that he respects her anxieties and he will decide when the time is right. Let the guy have some sort of say in it. Jeez. He was planning an awesome trip before something happened, I don’t remember what, and he was going to propose then. Anna needs to listen to her heart every now and then and tell her brain to shut up.

    Happy New Year, chickee! mum

  7. I don’t think she should propose and I don’t understand why Daniel is in such a rush to get married. It’s like they take one step and he tries to jump ahead to the next. It took forever for her to agree to move in, which they haven’t done yet. Why can’t they both be satisfied with that for awhile then get engaged. He didn’t even tell her he offered his dad the money. That’s the kind of thing you share with your S.O. especially if you plan to marry. They need to work on their communication. Also side note, why did he plan the Paris trip the same time as Janet and Stanley’s wedding? He was invited too stop it’s not like her didn’t know the dates.

Leave a Reply

