I bolted into the kitchen to fix myself a cup of coffee. Working my way around a bewildered Daniel as he turned his body to watch me hop from one side to the other.

“Thought you didn’t like coffee?” he asked.

“I don’t. I just hope it’ll wake me up.” I threw out my arm and shuffled my wrist to check the time. “Argh I’m going to be so late.”

“Relax,” he said, grabbing a green apple and throwing it at me, “have this instead. More effective.”

“I don’t like apples either.”

“But what would you rather have if you had to choose?”

I rolled my eyes. “This conversation…”

“What?” Daniel smiled.

“Nothing, I have to go,” I replied breathlessly. “I have to—I have to go.”

Daniel grabbed my waist at the entryway and pulled me into him. “You should learn to relax.”

“Daniel,” I warned, trying to walk forward and break free, he clutched his hand around my waist and pulled me in tighter. “Daniel…”

He pecked the hollow at the base of my neck. “Yes?” he whispered.

“Not now. I’m going to be late.”

“What not now?” he moved his lips up an inch.

“I’m going to be late!” I repeated more urgently. A warmness thickening between my legs.

“So what?”

I smiled, closing my eyes as his hand fumbled over the clasp and zip of my pants and making its way down my underwear. I moaned his name and laid my head on his shoulder.

“Mmm,” he purred, biting and licking my earlobe.

“I’m not going to be able to come because I’m concentrating too much on work.”

“Well, I suggest you get to it if you want to leave, baby.”

I chuckled. “I hope that’s not a threat.”

“Never. But do something for me?”

“Mmm?”

“Turn around and face the mirror.”

I did as he said. At our entryway hung a long mirror above a small table where we put our keys and letters. He pulled down my pants, along with my underwear and lifted one leg up on the table. I never look at myself down there, I guess I’m embarrassed or weirded out or something, but it’s just not what I do or ever did unless I had to. I’ve always had a complex about it; I love it and don’t all at the same time. Daniel knows this. He knows how self-conscious I can get.

I looked at my watch again. “Daniel…” my brows furrowed.

“Watch yourself, baby,” he whispered into my ear. In the mirror his eyes bore into mine with an intensity and hunger that was enough to make me wetter.

I have to say, it was a ploy that worked on me. Worked a lot faster than intended, probably. I turned my head to face him and we crushed our lips as he moved his fingers. He sucked on my tongue, sending a vibration rippling from the epicentre of his fingers to the outskirts.

“Oh,” I sighed, “Daniel.”

He moved faster, knowing that my bobbing and heavy breathing meant that I was coming soon. And sure enough I did. I clawed the back of his neck, digging my nails into his skin, and shuddered while standing on my tiptoe of the one leg still on the floor.

I turned around and kissed him, cupping his face. He pulled back and shook my ass cheek. “Alright, I’ll see you later.”

He moved away. I stood confused. “What about you?”

He laughed. “It’s okay. You’re going to be late, remember?”

“I am late.” I tapped my watch.

“I’ll see you tonight,” he pressed.

“Alright,” I shrugged, turning around to have my ass facing him, bending down to pick up my pants and underwear, keeping my legs straight and my ass all perked up. I grabbed my things but didn’t straighten up soon after. Instead, I shook my ass and turned my head to look at his eager eyes, focused on me. “Are you sure?”

“Okay,” he moved forward, his fingers already at his pants, “you convinced me,” he joked.

***

“Well, well, well,” Noelle chimed, “glad you could join us.”

I rolled my eyes. “Leave me alone.”

She widened her eyes a fraction of a moment. “Spicy,” she noted.

I tilted my head. “I come on time all the time.” I turned red at my choice of words, hoping Noelle didn’t notice.

“Guess what?” she leaned over my cubicle.

“What?”

“I’ve got some gossip.”

I rolled my eyes. I’ve been trying to steer clear from drama lately. “Not interested. Thanks.”

“Even if it’s about you?”

That caught my attention. I looked up and scanned my brain of the myriad of possibilities. David? Justin? Stella? Of course, Stella. It has to be. Right as I was nearly set on Stella, Noelle grabbed the newspaper and dropped it on my desk, the paper made a feathery thwack on my table as I took in the society page headline, ‘Bradley Gordon quarrels with mystery love interest’.

I sighed and muttered under my breath, “Great.” This will annoy Daniel so much.

“Are you guys…?” Noelle left the question hanging in the air.

“No,” I shot, taking offense.

She held up her hands in surrender. “Alright. Bite my head off why don’t you. Not like I took the picture.”

Her words triggered a memory in me and I started peeling back the layers, hunting for the core. That photographer. Money changing hands. Did Brad pay the guy for this opportunistic shot?

One thought on “

  1. Maybe Bradley needed to spice up his career! Anna just needs to tell David & Daniel before they see it.
    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

