Karma

***BONUS post no. 2***

It was only Stella and I in the elevator for the last two stops. She left before me and I hopped off the elevator with as much pace as a snail, so much so that the elevator glitched and crushed me in grip so tight between the double doors. I looked up, hoping that no one saw, and to my surprise no one did. I guess the office got busy in the time I was stuck in limbo. I rubbed my arms and made my way to David’s office. Stella clearly out of sight. I know I shouldn’t blame her when really this whole ordeal is my fault. I brought this on myself. I had hoped that I’d find some answers from Brad when I got on the elevator. Why he was choosing to mess around with me? Why I was the target of his games? I had hoped to reason with him, that he’d see my side and come to the realisation that this wasn’t just me he was attacking, it was my life. I know that sounds like the biggest excuse in the world, but in no way did I expect him to do what he did. I felt so dirty, believe me. It’s like he’s got this conveyor belt of women pushed onto the elevator, then off, and on to the next. And I happened to be the next. Ugh, no one hates myself right now more than me, I can assure you.

I sucked in a shaky breath, let it out, and then knocked on David’s door. After our little talk in the morning I was sure he was going to kick me out of his office forever. I’d rather he hear it from me than someone like Stella.

He was nose deep in a new manuscript. Remember those? Hi, I’m Anna; editorial assistant? When did my life in this company become an episode of The Hills?

“What is it, I’m very busy?” he asked, distracted and not even sounding the least bit angry.

I cleared my throat as I sat down before him. “I have something to tell you.”

“Mm-hmm,” he replied, still running his eyes along the page of the manuscript.

I cinched my brows, unable to form a coherent sentence and spit it out. I’m fired. I’m fired. I’m so very fired if I tell him. My heart began to race. “Uhh….”

He sighed. “Did I mention I was busy?”

“Kiss!” I blurted. I rolled my eyes and snatched them into place before he peered up from his paperwork.

“I’m sorry?”

I cleared my throat. Is it hot in here? “I, uhh, I hope you don’t see this as the epitome of my behaviour.” He furrowed my brows. I started to shake, my head rattling like a snake’s tail so much so that I couldn’t focus on David. “I’ve done a lot of work here and I hope that you are proud of what I’ve accomplished; as you said, I have a future within the company. But, I feel that I have to tell you something that you would find out otherwise if not now.”

Under his breath, he muttered, “Oh God, you’ve killed someone…”

“I—I was in the elevator with Brad, trying to get some answers about that picture because it was none of my doing, I swear. And he stopped the elevator and, well, I reached around to unlock it and he started to kiss me.” I looked down. “I didn’t fight back at first, but then I pushed him off me and the elevator doors opened just in time for people to come in and he made a gesture to imply that we did more than kiss to a group of people.” David remained quiet. Don’t cry, don’t cry, don’t cry! “I know it’s not what you want to be hearing from me—”

He put his hand up and I ceased to speak. “Take the rest of the day off, Anna.”

“I hope this doesn’t affect my position within this company,” I threw in, hoping he’d pick it up.

“I can’t promise you that. I’m afraid I’m going to have to speak to Brad about this as well and possibly bring in HR.”

“I’m sorry.”

He nodded slightly, and picked up the manuscript. “Yes,” he simply replied.

***

“Oh my God, Chloe! Oh my God!” I repeated over the phone once I was out of the building and trying to hail a cab.

“What? What? What?”

“I did something really bad. Shit, I’m in the deep.”

“Who’d you kill?”

Do I have ‘murderer’ carved on my forehead? Is there a beacon of light declaring my every wrongdoing? What’s going on?

“I kissed someone.”

“What!?” she shot.

“Weh—well he kissed me.” Here comes the defence, your honour.

“Who?”

“Some guy at work.”

“Anna! What the fuck is wrong with you?”

“I didn’t mean for it to happen, it just happened!”

“What happened? Tell me.”

I told her everything up until the moment I told David. “…and I don’t even know if I’ll be working there anymore now. God, I really fucked up this time.”

“Yes, you did.”

“Chloe, help me! Chastising me isn’t helping.”

“I didn’t! I’m not. Look, there’s no reason for anyone to kiss you—”

“It was literally only for a second.”

“Enough of a second for his hand to be on your pussy!?” I flinched at her venom. I hope she doesn’t hate me after this. “You have to tell Daniel.”

***

“No, no, no, don’t tell him. NO,” Jenny texted me. “It’ll just ruin everything you have with Daniel for no reason. It’s not like it meant anything. This was out of your control and Brad put you in the worst position possible. My advice: don’t tell him anything and just forget it completely!”

***

I was hoping to wait for Daniel to come home at his place and prepare myself before then, but he was home when I got there.

“What are you doing here?” I asked.

He looked flustered. “I should ask you the same thing,” he smiled. “Though I’m not mad.”

“Don’t you have work?”

“Oh, I took a day off. Wasn’t feeling too well. Why are you here? Something wrong?”

I bit my lip. We’re done for aren’t we? All our efforts to be together thrown out because of my big mistake. “I think we should sit down.”

“Yeah, sure, I was heading for the gym anyway,” he dropped his duffel bag.

I grabbed his hand and we sat facing across each other. I was on the coffee table and he was on the couch, half-smiling, though concern filtered through his eyes. “Whatever happens, know that I love you.”

He shuffled in his seat, still maintaining a pleasant half-smile. “Okay…”

I told him what happened. Flat out. Plain and simple. I tried removing emotions from it all but it was hard. I was even angrier that Brad put me in this position. Ugh, here I go again. Me. I put me in this position. Daniel would never think it was Brad’s fault. We all have our limitations, and I broke mine. I feel so stupid for it. I’m better than this, I know it.

“Daniel?” I paused. “You’re not saying anything.”

He grinned. “That’s okay.” He stood and kissed me on my forehead as he straightened up.

I was taken aback. “That’s okay?” I asked, turning around as he picked up his duffel bag. I furrowed my brows and repeated, “That’s okay?”

He nodded. “Yeah. Karma. I get it. I knew it would happen someday. I’m annoyed, of course I am, but it was me that started it all in the first place.”

“Daniel—” I shook my head, ready to tell him that that way of thinking was so unbelievably wrong.

“It’s okay. I have no right to be upset with you when I’ve done the same thing.” He leaned down and kissed me on the top of my head. “I’ll see you later. Love you.”

8 thoughts on “Karma

  1. Are you fucking kidding me? Karma? Daniel is cool with this? Brad made her feel dirty and guilty. She participated and now acts like the victim. So over Anna.

  2. I think Daniel loves Anna and doesn’t want to admit that he’s better off without her so he’s trying justify ALL of her bad behavior.

  3. Anna needs to quit freaking out all the time. It makes her a target. She also needs to quit being so spineless. She lets others drive her actions (Brad, Stella, her mom,etc, etc.), let’s herself be a victim and lets others drive her future. She needs to act, not react. She should have called Brad on his games IMMEDIATELY gone not to David, but to her HR department and reported Brad for harassment when the picture appeared. It’s too late now. She has let others control the situation and become the office joke. It’s time for her to resign and find another job. As for Daniel, she is going to lose him if she is not careful. He has been more than patient. Why is she fighting being with him?? Seriously?! He’s been great since he came back to the blog, so marry him already, for criminy’s sake and get on with it like a grown up. The story is dragging with the same recycled plot. Please move on.

  4. So over Anna and all this retarded shit she pulls. She’s an adult not a 12 year old girl. It’s time for her to grow up

Leave a Reply

