Moving In

“You’re leaving!?” Jenny exclaimed. “Already!?”

“I know,” I grinned, “it’s been a long time coming.”

“A long time coming!? You were here only a couple of months.”

“I’m sure it was longer than that. Besides, it’s been a long time coming before you and New York and everything. It’s just a natural progression in our relationship and it feels right, Jenny. It feels so right.”

“And he’s okay about you cheating on him?”

I shut my eyes and breathed through my nose. “I didn’t cheat.”

She shrugged, twirling a frame in her hand. “Whatever you want to call it. It wasn’t a walk in the park.”

“It wasn’t intentional either.”

“Anyway,” she held up her hand for me to stop and placed the frame back on the shelf, “point is, he’s okay?”

“He’s just…” I shook my head, struggling to find the right words, “he’s getting through it.”

“You don’t sound too convinced.”

“He’s just acting weird, you know? I don’t know. Maybe I’m overthinking it.”

“You might not be. You should trust your instincts.”

“Yeah, but what if I’m wrong?”

“Instincts are never wrong.”

“Mmm,” I groaned, twisting my mouth from side to side.

“So, we’re packing up?” Jenny asked.

“Thanks for doing this.”

“Meh,” Jenny shrugged, “I’m here. I got you. How’d you get a new roommate so fast?”

“I didn’t,” I shook my head, “Daniel’s paying for next month’s rent.”

Jenny lifted her brows. “He’s eager.”

***

Daniel was eager. He laid out a clear plan where he would have taken care of most of the moving ins and outs. I figured, since I had the week off and he didn’t, I could do that. Since he was paying for the next month of my rent, I could, at the very least, take care of the moving expenses. He insisted, but I didn’t think it was much of an equal part his way. So I was picking out my furniture, we’re keeping his bed, we’d bought two of those cube shelves that were going to be delivered next week; we were on a roll.

It took a few days but we ended up giving (or making arrangements to give) most of the stuff that we would leave to Jenny, Noelle, Danny-boy, or Paul. Our stuff were in the new apartment before we were. Daniel’s place was nearly bare, I wasn’t living in mine at that point.

“I honestly am so excited,” I said as we were making dinner for ourselves.

“I’m glad,” Daniel nudged his hip into mine.

“I mean, we’re actually really living together now. We have our own home. How great is this?”

“It’s pretty fucking cool. Are you happy?”

I scoffed. “Am I happy!? I’m thrilled. I’m—I can’t explain how happy I am.”

He grinned, that dimple next to his mouth pronounced bright and proud. “We should celebrate.”

I nodded. “We should!”

“We’ll have a housewarming party once we move in next week.”

“You think it’ll be done by then?”

“Well, you’re not working, and once the weekend comes I’ll work overdrive to make the apartment look amazing. But I think by next week it’ll be done. You signed the contract, right?”

I laughed. “Of course I did. We can’t just move in our stuff without having done that. Signed, sealed, and delivered, baby.” I lunged my lips at his cheeks and a loud suction sound echoed.

He nodded, focusing back on the salad before him. “Good, good, good. It’s done then.”

“Done, done, deadsky,” I paraphrased Beetlejuice, contorting my voice to be brash.

“How’s the job going?” he asked as we moved to the couch to watch and eat together.

I sighed. “I honestly don’t know.”

“No one on the inside can tell you what’s going on?”

“I thought of that. Noelle and Leo don’t know anything.”

“Here’s hoping it turns out in your favour.”

I shrugged and cinched my nose. “I don’t know. I’m thinking of just leaving the job, applying for another one somewhere else.”

“You don’t like it there anymore?”

I shrugged again. “I don’t know.” It was hard to decide. I like Noelle and Leo and the job, and I do actually like David, but the rest may weigh down heavier than the positives. “Every time I think of leaving there’s like a crate of cinder blocks lifting from my shoulders.”

“Well, that’s a sign if I ever heard one.”

“Exactly.”

“So why not?” he shrugged. “Go for your life. It’s your life after all.”

“It’s a little scary.”

“Go out on in your own way, babe. I got you. You don’t need to worry.”

23 thoughts on “Moving In

  1. She absolutely 100% did cheat on him! I know that’s not the point of this post but that’s all I can focus on. She’s so self-righteous to try and act like she didn’t do anything wrong.

    1. What do you think makes a cheater: the intention behind the act, or the act itself? Why are certain acts of cheating passed off as a moment of weakness, and others an act of disloyalty? Anna believes she is entirely loyal to Daniel, but a moment of weakness occurred. Can that not be possible? Anna never had any intentions of cheating on Daniel and for a moment, she slipped up; is cheating not a conscious decision that you make over a period of time, or is it something you do impulsively?
      What makes one person “once a cheater, always a cheater” and another not? Why are some cheaters given a pardon, and others never forgiven? Do you think, perhaps, you may think Anna’s acting the way she is because Daniel isn’t acknowledging it as something wrong, but rather deserved?

      What do you think? What constitutes “cheating” and a “cheater”?

      Thank you for reading and commenting! I appreciate it! 🙂

      Soul

      1. In my opinion it seems that the author cannot deal with simple criticism of Anna. Did she cheat? Yes. Anna isn’t this perfect angel that’s only slipped up once. She’s constantly doing shady things. Remember Adam? Letting another man kiss you and finger you is cheating. Ridiculous that we have to justify why we think it is. If Daniel kissed and had his hands in another woman’s panties it would’ve been the end of the world. Here Anna willing did something and acts like the victim. Own up to your shit. her holier than thou attitude is off putting and honestly I don’t know how much more of her acting immaturely I can take. It’s the same with her. Lather, wash, repeat. Daniel needs to make a run for it.

        1. Just because I responded to a comment it doesn’t mean I can’t deal with criticism. Anon and Anna’s differing views got me thinking that maybe there are people out there that view cheating differently to others and, call me crazy, but I was genuinely interested in readers’ answers to my questions and their individual perspectives and\or experiences. That’s all it was.

          Soul

      2. I guess the definition of cheating is probably different for everyone. I think cheating is defined as anything you wouldn’t do in front of your significant other. And even though she didn’t plan on it happening it still did do I would consider that cheating. If I did what she did it or if my boyfriend did we would be over because it’s disrespected the relationship. It’s more of the fact that Anna’s actions toward that guy let me him believe he could kiss her and do everything else. No guy would ever attempt that with because I make it very clear that I’m in a very happy relationship and I never give a guy any notion that he could try that with me.

        1. Correct me if I’m wrong but are you saying that because Anna doesn’t put on a happy front 24\7 about her relationship then it was fair game for Brad to kiss her and touch her and it’s therefore Anna’s fault? What if there are off days when you have a fight or an upset with a SO, does that mean any man’s actions towards another woman would be considered cheating as opposed to a day where she’s expressing happiness in some way or another and a man kisses her, it would be his fault and not Anna’s? Does that make sense?

          Also, your definition of cheating is interesting because it’s quite broad: “anything you wouldn’t do in front of your SO.” So if your in a happy, committed relationship with your SO and he doesn’t like it when you check out other guys, so you don’t do it with him but you do it with your friends and say, “oh he’s cute, nice body, etc.” girl-chat type of thing with your friends, does that qualify as cheating by your definition? Even if you don’t initiate it, and your friend shows you a picture of a hot guy and asks what you think and you say, “he’s hot”, does that qualify as cheating?

          It really fascinates me the way people view the same things differently so thank you for your response! I appreciate it! And thanks for reading as well! 🙂

          Soul

          P.S. when I say “you\your” I don’t mean you personally, I mean it in the plural sense, in the broader sense, if that makes sense lol 🙂

          1. Talking or saying a guy is hot is not cheating. Letting a man kiss and do the things Brad did is cheating. All these questions under the disguise of making Anna seem victimized or innocent are annoying. We don’t have to justify our thoughts. This logic that you’re using is screwed up. Taking a line the poster said about anything you wouldn’t do in front of your partner and twisting it into an asinine response and correlating cheating to talking with your girlfriend about the hot waiter or whatever is ludicrous. No offense but this entire defense by you and the questioning of our thoughts by saying you want to get readers opinions is crazy. do you honestly think people will want to post their thoughts when you twist their words and give the third degree while claiming you want to know what we think?

            1. What is wrong with you!? Who are you to judge my agenda beyond the intentions I’ve already spoken of? I’m not trying to use a logic of mine, I’m trying to understand everyone’s else’s and see different points by asking questions to further my understanding. It’s called a discussion. God forbid people should make me think! And how dare you say I’m twisting someone else’s words? Firstly, I asked that poster to correct me if I was wrong; secondly, that poster’s definition was provoking thought and I was furthering that thought by asking some questions, see how it works?; and thirdly, I’m not trying to victimise Anna or make her seem innocent.

              So let me get this straight, not only have you called me a liar by “claiming” I want to know what people think, but I’m “crazy” for simply asking questions, and I’m suddenly “defensive” over a fictional character. No room for my twisting your words considering these are your words, by the way.

              And I’m giving the “third degree”!? Seriously, where do you come off?

              Oh, and by the way, saying “no offense” becomes redundant after creating an entirely offensive comment.

              1. No offense, but are you arguing with yourself just so it looks like you have a lot of comments? lol It seems like you care more about how many people leave comments then what the real people are trying to say about your blog. Just sayin! 😉 I’d like to be over this blog because it’s so freakin repetitive, (Anna screws up, Daniel forgives her, Anna screws up, they break up, then get back together. etc. etc. etc.) but I get bored at work and the only thing you have going for your blog is consistency lol

                1. I don’t have time to list the many ways your comment creates offense, so again, I say, writing “no offense” becomes redundant after saying so.

                  And I’d like for you to be over this blog, too. Just sayin! 🙂

                  Soul

    2. To the OP:
      Where exactly are you getting that Anna feels like she “didn’t do anything wrong” …….? If you read the last post, Anna was concerned because DANIEL was acting weird / like nothing happened and she was confused as to why. I think Anna is still immature when it comes to putting herself in bad situations. But I don’t think it’s fair to say she has no remorse over it/doesn’t feel like she did anything wrong.

      Also, Merryl, Y U SO MAD? lol. I don’t think it’s a crime to be curious about the things Soul asked the OP? Some people are more inquisitive than others. I happen to be more like Soul, being that I enjoy hearing what other people think about different subjects and/or why they think that way. That doesn’t mean Soul “cannot deal with simple criticism.” 😂🙄

      1. I think by getting defensive when people ask about the cheating, like she didn’t actually do anything wrong. I’m sorry but all the people who say it was a mistake but not cheating…if your SO came to you and said they did what Anna did would you honestly just accept it, say it was just a mistake, and move on with them? I would not be able to do that. I would not be able to trust them.

        1. (Thanks kelseyxsays ❤ )

          I think you guys are both on point here. Anna recognises she'd done something wrong, especially when she expects Daniel's reaction to be more than just "I deserved it", but at the same time, she's sort of in denial and doesn't want to call it "cheating". Cheating has a link to betrayal and disloyalty, but Anna is loyal to Daniel, even though the act itself she committed was a form of betrayal, you know what I mean? I think that's why she's not coming to terms with the gravity of what occurred.

          Either way, if it was out of her control then yeah, I guess she wouldn't have done anything wrong and it may not be called cheating, but since she allowed it, even only for a second, well, she needs to have a little accountability, especially around Daniel who thinks something like that is deserved considering his past indiscretions.

          Thanks for reading and commenting you two! See you soon! 🙂

          Soul

  2. Idek why, but I don’t trust Jenny! It’s the weirdest thing. 😂😂 I’ve felt since she was introduced to the blog that her vibe just seems…. off – I hope I’m wrong. 😊

    I wish Anna potentially leaving her job would open the door for her (or, her and Daniel) to go back to California!! Maybe I’m the only one that wishes that, idunno. But I do. Haha probably won’t happen because they just bought this new place, though 😭😅😔

    1. Maybe because Jenny isn’t like her old friends 😉 they’re not as close yet. Maybe it still needs some time. Aww, you never know, California is never out of the cards!

      Thanks for reading!

      Soul

  3. I think a lot of people have deep rooted issues with cheating and so have become overly defensive on a fictional character? Displaced anger much…. Anyone who has been cheated on would also know that it is not as simple as just calling it all off. They maybe were not in love with you which explains the cheating, but if you can just throw it all away like it was nothing then maybe you didn’t love them either and the “cheating” was actually a healthy thing that the relationship needed to make everyone go their separate ways!

    1. I’ve read articles on how cheating can be healthy and “saved relationships” so I get where you’re coming from, and I agree that sometimes (or most of the time) it’s not as easy as just calling it off, but at the same time, I feel like if cheating ever becomes an option, then it should be called off first. Otherwise, if caught then that person would have to come to terms with the fact that forgiveness is not an easy feat and may never even be achieved (not to mention the trust issues and other variables if their SO chooses to stay); and if not caught, then they’d have to come to terms with this new self of theirs and an ongoing lie they’d have to uphold if they ever choose to remain with their SO. And for others, the idea of cheating may never even enter their mind until their SO accuses them of cheating and they’re taken off-guard.

      Every relationship is different though, and no one knows what goes on in the eye of the storm. For some, it’s black and white, and for others, there are grey areas; for the people on the inside and on the outside. It’s all relative.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Soul

  4. Interesting! Glad that they finally are moving in together.
    Maybe Anna should look for another job.
    Thanks for the post!

    Oh and the cheating issue. Yes, Anna did wrong. She should have seen it coming w Brad barging in the elevator and she definitely needed to apologize to Daniel. She would have flipped if it had been Daniel as it had been. There are different ways to cheat and they are all wrong. If Anna did no wrong w Brad than Daniel didn’t w the roommate’s girlfriend. I’m glad Anna got in that situation-she is no better than Daniel & now he doesn’t feel as guilty. It’s one thing for a chance encounter, it’s another ball game if its planned.

    1. Just to correct something, Brad was in the elevator first and she hopped in to confront him. So she was the one barging in. Also, yes, it would sort of be a double standard if she doesn’t start taking accountability for her actions; but I also know that she’s thrown off by Daniel’s reaction. I kept nodding as I read your comment though, all good points!

      I’m glad they’re finally moving in together, too. It really has been a long time coming.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Soul

      1. Soul,
        Sorry, I should have added in a comma. I realized that Anna barged in on Brad. She should have thought before she acted. She’s seen him plenty coming out of an elevator w a girl. Anna seems to always think that she’s innocent of her bad behavior so I’m glad this time that she ‘gets it’ and fessed up immediately.
        Daniel’s reaction is odd though. It does lighten his guilt of his past indiscretion but it’s more than that. Interesting!

        Thanks for responding to your commenters. That’s very thoughtful!
        Amy

        1. Ah, gotchya! 😉

          Yes, I agree, Anna tends to act on impulse rather than thinking through things first. And I’m also glad she didn’t keep it from Daniel and told him immediately. Don’t think I would ever forgive Anna if she didn’t, especially if she’s planning on a life with Daniel.

          Aww, I love engaging with readers so pleasure’s all mine! ❤

          Soul

  5. Something truly is going on with Daniel though, right? I mean, if he really feels like “he deserves this” for whatever he did with his roommate’s girlfriend AGES ago, then why has he gotten so angry every other time something happened with Anna and another man (ie: Justin, Adam, etc.) In my eyes, this is a much worse offense than anything Anna did with those other men, and Daniel was almost unlikeable in his anger and attempts to control Anna in those situations. He has chastised her multiple times for letting herself get into situations with men and being naive about them, what makes this any different? I am so curious where his sudden complete character shift came from.

Leave a Reply

