“Oh, So You’re Right On Top Of Her.”

The number sketched onto my hand from the party happened to belong to one of Kennie’s friends who came way later. A guy named Toby. At first I thought he was going to ask me out. I was already writing an entire paragraph message about how I just got out of a relationship when I realised, maybe that wasn’t the case. It was a good thing I didn’t send that message because as it turned out, I was right.

I was sitting across from Toby outside a small froyo and juice and shake place. The guy was skinny, super white with super dark hair and with sallow cheeks, I swear he could’ve passed for a vampire. He was the nerdy cute kind, without the nerdy stereotypes of Urkel.

“What did you think when you first saw the number on your hand?” Toby wondered, sipping ice water through a straw.

“I thought, ‘I’m going to have to call this guy up and politely decline his offer’.”

He laughed. “Little did you know, huh?”

I nodded in agreement and smiled. “Yeah.”

Little did I know, Toby’s offer was a job.

“It’s nothing big but I heard you talking about your situation at the party and I just had to butt in.”

I fake laughed like an amateur. It came out forced and unskilled; I blushed at both his remark and my attempt at squashing my embarrassment by fake-laughing. “Was I that loud and obnoxious?”

He shook his head from side to side. “Not entirely,” he joked. I took the joke with effort. Like a bullet. “It’s nice to meet you, sober, finally,” he added.

“Ha!” Second bullet. “So, umm, what’s the deal? What’s the job?”

“Oh, well—” his lithe fingers rummaged through his pocket and produced a card he handed over— “I work for this agency that’s linked to producers and Hollywood-esque people, shall we say. We’re looking for someone to peruse the book section of websites like Amazon to discover the next Twilight or Hunger Games or Revenant, you get the picture. It’s practically entry level but the pay is still good. It’s not a dead end job too, so if you’re looking to fly up the ladder, that’s a good place to start.”

“What do you do there?”

He sighed. “Accounting. Check the books, see who’s getting stiffed, boring shit like that,” he chuckled. He is a vampire. He seems so young. Or maybe I’m just naïve in picturing accountants a cross between Bryan Cranston and bald-pot-belly-Bob. “I’m not exactly the head of accounting, but I’m still hovering somewhere around the top. I think.” He shrugged.

Oh, the places where we stand and the places where we see ourselves.

I looked at the card he handed to me. It read: ADAPT. I smiled. The name fitted; adapt\adaptations.

“Can I think about it?”

“Oh, yeah, sure!” he nodded. “They’re hiring now though, so an answer sooner rather than later would be better.”

“Thanks,” I waved the card.

“Hey, no problem. Nice seeing you again.”

***

“I would’ve said ‘yes’ instantly, are you crazy?” Chloe said.

“As if! I never even heard about the place until now.”

“Well you did a little research afterwards and found…?”

I found out that it’s a reputable agency actually. Think of it as a casting agency but for book adaptations. The company gets hired on a regular basis but the accreditation is in the fine print. It sort of acts like a liaison between the publisher and the film studios.

In theory, it sounded good. Amazing even. But it’s not what I’ve always dreamed of. And I don’t want to be complacent at the age of fifty having never had the guts to try and live out my dream because I was too comfortable picking out books (the product of other peoples’ dreams) for visual manifestation.

If I continue to think like this, I’ll never get a job besides bartending.

To put my mind off everything, Chloe and I had a day to ourselves to check out a bunch of apartments for yours truly. We’d seen about four places today and the sun was beginning to set on the fifth complex.

On the sixth floor of a somewhat small high rise (a contradiction in terms, I know, but you know what I mean!) was an available apartment. The walls of which were painted a seafoam green. The kitchen, not too shabby; one en suite where a tiny walk-in closet was on the opposite end; a wide living room space with hardwood floors (love!); and sun exposure to die for.

“If you don’t move here, then I will,” Chloe said as she turned her head up and around to inspect the place.

“It’s green,” I rolled my eyes.

“It’s paintable.”

“There’s too much light.”

Chloe tilted her head and smiled. “What?”

“Can’t I just stay with you? We have so much fun together.”

“That is true.”

I dropped my shoulders when I knew she wasn’t going to give in. Chloe never had a chance of privacy all her life. She’s always lived with someone, so I understood her reluctance. It was nothing personal, but it’s personal to her. “Yeah, alright.” I scanned the room. “It is pretty good.”

“So you’ll take it?”

I just might.

***

Chloe and I were rambling on and on about how we were going to decorate my new place when the elevator doors bing-ed open. We somehow made our way into a conversation about where to go to eat tonight when I caught sight of the man inside wearing a tank. Dark blonde hair, double-edged jawline, and bulging biceps I couldn’t take my eyes off of until I hit those light brown eyes. Like ambers glinting. He grinned as we entered.

“Going down?” he asked, his voice deep.

Chloe giggled, nearly throwing me off with her dirty thoughts.

“Yes please,” I said.

He pressed the button and as we waited for the elevators to close he turned his body our way. “Are you taking the apartment on sixth?” His eyes jumped between the both of us.

Chloe pointed at me without word.

I almost gave her a dirty look. “Yeah, me, I am…moving in.”

He nodded. “Cool. I’m Eric by the way.”

“Anna. And this is Chloe.”

“Hi,” Chloe said. I’m surprised she hasn’t pounced on him yet. She couldn’t stop smiling though, which made me giggle, which made Eric chuckle at our random laughing fit. I’m surprised he hasn’t thought of us as lunatics yet. Or maybe that’s his thing…

“Hey,” he nodded her way and then looked back at me. “I’m on the seventh.”

“Oh, so you’re right on top of her,” Chloe joked.

Bitch. I knew she would take the chance to embarrass me like that.

Eric laughed while I turned red. “Yeah, I guess you could say that. So you’re new to the area then?” Eric asked me.

I nodded. “I guess you can say that.”

Eric smiled. “Well,” he placed a hand on his chest, “as a neighbour I feel that it is my duty to show you around. Get to know some places and…some people.” He bit his bottom lip, making my heart tighten. Oh, he’s so cute.

“Umm…”

“How about a phone number? I mean, I already got your address, so you can’t get away,” he joked. Chloe and I laughed at his smooth humour. “So how ‘bout it?”

The elevator that felt like a centuries’ long ride finally slowed to a stop and let us all out. I wanted to give him my number so badly, but, is it too soon?

***Hey all! I hope you like the new site! I’ve been looking for a new theme for a while now and I love the one I’ve chosen. It’s simple, it’s slick, it’s clean and it doesn’t have too much on the front page (like all the widgets on the sidebar in the previous one). And bonus, the writing is bigger, which is one of the things I was looking out for when on the hunt for a new theme. On the top right hand corner of the blog though, is where you’ll find an icon with three horizontal lines, that’s sort of a drop-down box for all the pages, calendar, twitter, follow buttons etc. It’s all there, just organised differently. So, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and the new site! See you soon! Soul.***

6 thoughts on ““Oh, So You’re Right On Top Of Her.”

  1. Hey Soul! Love the new design – it looks really great! And awesome post – great development in the story – very interested to see what happens next!! Eric sounds promising! 🙂

    1. Hey Amber!

      Glad you love the new look and the post! And I’m already loving Eric with the type of character I have in store, and hope you all do too!

      Thank you for stopping by to read and comment! See you soon!

      Soul

    1. Hey Chris!

      Yay; third person likes the new joint! 😀

      Glad to see a reader eager for more as much as I am. Always on the hunt for new adventures and I think Anna deserves some fun time, especially with her girls!

      Thanks for reading and taking the time out to comment! See you soon! (probably around twitter 😉 lol)

      Soul

  2. Ohh, this sounds interesting! I’m always unsure about how things could potentially work out with a (new) neighbor- but I’m keeping my fingers crossed it isn’t a disaster! 🙂

Leave a Reply

