If he insists…

I literally want to kill Chloe.

So I had my first date with rich bachelor number one and it didn’t go so well. He was so dull to the point where I could feel my brain cells committing suicide just for the hell of it. The only life he had in him was when he asked me to join him back to his place.

“What?” I asked, surprised.

He shrugged. “I sort of don’t want to spend so much money on this trip. I think I’ll be too busy to go, too. I just want to have sex, not make an investment.” He laughed and literally snorted.

“Oh,” I breathed, smiling politely. I feel so special.

After that horrendous date I figured two more would be just begging for it. I texted Chloe demanding that she not let me go through with this, but she was holding my keeping onto Daniel over my head that I needed something to push me.

What’s two more dates?’ she asked.

I’m in it for the free trip to Fiji at this point,” I texted back.

Work was pretty slow. Ever since the party Ahly has been continually all over her ex, and he all over her. I swear, it doesn’t even look like they’re not a couple. Toby wouldn’t even talk about the party, but he’s always on his phone, which is rare for someone like Toby. If he and Chloe hooked up and I’m stuck with Stranger Joe, I will lay all of Chloe’s shit back, tenfold.

“Uh oh,” Toby rolled his eyes, “here comes the brigade.”

We started hearing them coming in from outside. The muffled voices creeped up louder and finally exploded into the common room. Owen jumped out of his office and demanded Ahly’s ex to wait for him inside. He and Michael said their goodbyes before they departed. Ahly’s ex didn’t seem to even care, though it was apparent Owen was fuming by his tomato-red face.

I thought Michael was going to leave but he just plainly walked into the kitchen like he owned the place and started rummaging through fruit bowls and snacks and drinks in the fridge. No one seemed to notice, but I couldn’t ignore it. I didn’t want to feel like I dobbed on him if I told anyone like it was grade school, so I decided to take the situation into my own hands. Maybe because I was inside the building the place would serve as my safe haven. I know what you’re thinking; you’re thinking it’s a bad idea. Well fuck it!

I had the balls up until I was right behind him. Then I wondered what I was doing, what I was going to say, and I stopped short. I was too busy thinking and was about to turn back when Michael spotted me. I feigned my courage and carried on.

“How weird,” he smiled. “Fancy seeing you here. Come here often?”

“I’m just getting a bottle of water, Michael,” I sighed.

“It’s right there,” he pointed to the fridge door.

I grabbed the cold bottle and straightened up. “Thank you.”

As I was cracking open the bottle, Michael slid a black box over to me. “Your present.”

“You’re kidding,” I said.

He smiled. “I told you I got you something.”

I narrowed my eyes. “I thought you said you didn’t know it was my birthday party.”

He grinned knowingly; calling him out made me smile wide for the first time. “Open it,” he nodded, ignoring my deduction.

I turned back and the office still seemed eyeballs deep into their work. Ahly was playing with her faded hair and Toby was lost in his phone.

I grabbed the box and flipped it open. Inside was a dainty, diamond necklace. Uber shiny; uber expensive. “It’s pretty.”

“Try it on.”

I scoffed, incredulously. “I can’t accept this.”

“Why not?” he shrugged, seemingly confused. “Don’t you like necklaces?”

“I do, but—”

“So…it’s yours.”

I stared at his gaze confusedly, searching for a semblance of truth behind his actions.

“This is too much,” I breathed. Then, I cleared my throat. “I hope you don’t think this means I like you.”

“I wouldn’t have it any other way,” he smiled, pleased.

I nodded, avoiding his steel regard. “Good.”

“Good,” he nodded. “See you around.”

One thought on “If he insists…

Leave a Reply

