i accepted a sex-gift like some hooker?

“Is he really?” I asked. “I mean, there’s a fine line between ‘secret admirer’ and ‘stalker’.”

Chloe rolled her eyes. “It’s only stalker-ish to you because he’s a stranger.”

“Not a stranger,” Ahly corrected.

“Oh, right, he’s your friend,” Chloe said.

“Not my friend,” Ahly mumbled, peering down at her nachos.

Chloe furrowed her brows confusedly. “A—anyway…someone you know knows of him and that’s close enough.”

“Maybe it’s a bargaining chip?” Ahly suggested, narrowing her eyes and scoffing down a chip with a major mountain of flavour.

“Bargaining chip?” I asked.

“Or like a bribe. Like he wants you to do something in exchange for the necklace,” Ahly licked her fingertips free of guacamole.

I turned to Chloe whose expression was just as suggestive as Ahly’s words. “You agree with her?”

Chloe lifted her brows. “It’s a hell of a theory.”

“Dude, I accepted a sex-gift like some hooker?”

“That’s why you always take the cash,” Ahly said. I eyed her with a simmering rage. It wasn’t her fault. She was way too bubbly all things considered, but her theory did make sense. Why else would a guy like that offer a stranger girl a diamond necklace? “Oh, ice-cream. I’ll have that for dessert.”

***

“I want to buy so many holiday makeup gifts sets it’s not even funny,” Ahly said, staring intently at her screen.

“Save your money, girl. I’m telling you…”

“I know, I know,” she whined, a crinkle forming between her brows. “But Tarte is looking mighty beautiful right now. And you know Too Faced is bring back the Peach palette!?”

“Apparently they’re bringing out more peach products,” I tempted.

She peeled her widened eyes away from the screen and stared at me. “What? Oh my God, I have to check that out.”

I laughed. “Will you chill before Owen sees you looking up makeup instead of doing work.”

Ahly scrunched her face. “Who the fuck is working right now? Holidays here we come; more like holidays here we are!”

Toby shook his head obviously, glued to his cell phone since the morning. “Will you ever get off that thing?”

“When you get off my back about it, yeah sure,” Toby muttered.

I hunched low in my chair. Why do I suddenly feel like a mother between the two? It’s my own doing I know it, I know it. Forget it, they can do what they want. I’m just going to sit here, work, mind my own business and—oh shit. There comes the bromance squad.

Owen pretty much banished all Ahly’s ex’s friends from coming into the communal offices so now they part their ways at the front door. Through the glass window, Michael caught my gaze and smiled. I turned red and immobile. Then he winked and I tore myself away. I looked up a half a second later and he was laughing at me.

“So you guys coming to my little part this weekend?” Ahly asked.

“Definitely. Mind if I bring a friend?” Toby asked.

“Totally. What about you, Anna?”

I shot up. “Be right back.”

I grabbed my jacket and quickly pranced after Michael. There was only one place he could be right now.

***

“I don’t want your sex slave gift,” I panted…in front of his group of friends that decided to stay back and smoke with Michael this one time. Perfect timing boys.

Michael chuckled. “You don’t want what?”

“Dude, is this the girl?” a butch guy pointed.

I cleared my throat and straightened up. “Mind if I talk to you for a second?”

Michael looked back at his friends. “See what I mean?” He said pointedly before chucking his cigarette.

I rolled my eyes and squished the butt with my shoe and then returned to Michael. “That’s like the third time you threw away a lit cigarette.”

He shrugged. “So?”

“So…” it bothers me? Yeah, like he cares. Clearly. I shrugged. “So, you should stop doing that for, you know, the trees…”

“The trees?”

“Yes, the trees.”

He shook his head. “Wasn’t there something you wanted to tell me? All I remember was ‘sex’.”

“The gift that you gave me.”

“Oh, right, right,” he lifted his head back and forth.

“I don’t want it.”

He stepped closer. “And why don’t you want it?”

I stepped back, crossing my arms over my chest as a sort of barrier between me, myself and him. “Because it’s inappropriate.”

“How?”

“Look, I appreciate it. I really do. But it’s just…”

“It’s just…?”

“Not…for me. I’m not for you. In that way.”

“You’re quick to make assumptions,” he lifted a brow, enjoying my little speech with an amused grin.

“Oh…” I said after a pause, dropping my arms. “You’re not into me…?”

He bit his bottom lip, holding my gaze. “I take it you didn’t find the note.”

I angled my brows. “What note?”

He pulled out a new cigarette and lit it up. He shrugged and walked backwards. “Work it out,” he said before turning around and returning to his group.

I texted Ahly on my way home: ‘If anyone asks, I’m taking a personal day.”

***Hey all! Fifty Shades of BLACK SILK is climbing up the charts. It’s got a long way to go but it did jump from #781 to #601 these past few hours. If you enjoy the story, please vote and comment like crazy to keep it going. I’ll try posting as much as I can to keep it rising too. Hope you like the story. Just a warning for those that don’t like “dirty” words used, BLACK SILK has that type of language in it. If you don’t mind, then you’ll be happy to know it’s far from PG! Thanks! Hope you enjoyed the post. I guarantee no one can guess what Michael’s note says! See you soon; keep on keeping! Soul!***

One thought on “i accepted a sex-gift like some hooker?

Leave a Reply

