Offers and Opportunities

***Sorry guys, didn’t know how better to transition after a month of no posts. Hope you still enjoy and like the new direction. Also, the new post for Samson&Delilah is up now. Soul***

You know how they say ‘all good things must come to an end’? Well when Michael and I ended our relationship, if you want to call it that, I started to wonder afterwards if it was even a good thing. Dwelling on the past is my least favourite pastime, but I couldn’t help but wonder when it was it all went downhill. Maybe when Michael’s friends said racially cloaked jokes? Or when Janet said I’d known nothing of what it felt like? I think the truest moment was when that girl at the party came up to me and told me Michael and his friends make bets on whose pants they could get into first and for how long…

***

I decided to confront Michael days later instead of being done with just hearing rumours from the grapevine. I approached him one night while we were out an about at another party, Michael sure does love his parties.

“Hey, I’ve been meaning to talk to you about something,” I said.

“Shoot.”

“Umm…” I chuckled, it was foreign territory, “well, I don’t know how else to say this but, I was talking to someone who said that you and your friends make certain kinds of bets.”

He rolled his eyes. “Is that why you’ve been iffy these past couple of days?”

I shrugged. “I wouldn’t say ‘iffy’.

“Did she go into detail?”

“Sort of.”

“What did she say?”

“I’m more interested in knowing what you think she said.”

“Aww come on, Anna. Don’t do that extra chromosome thing.”

It was always in jest when he joked like that. Now, though, when I was trying to have a serious conversation with him, it sounded more insulting than ever. Was I getting too sensitive?

“She said you and your friends make bets on who you can land, for how long, and how many at a certain given time.”

He smiled. “It’s…” he shook his head. “It’s whatever.”

“Is that true?”

“No, of course not.” He sounded way too shrill for it to not be true.

“Really though.”

He rolled his eyes. “Fucking relax and don’t be an idiot. Who even cares if it is true? It’s a bunch of girl gossip. I swear—” he shook his head— “all girls want to do is bring other girls down.” Then he mumbled, “Feminists my ass.”

***

After that he called less, we hung out less, spoke less, I even started to see him at work much less. He’d barely go into the building. Not that my presence would stop an obnoxious guy like that from being around me. But still, our so-called relations fizzled. I’m glad I only slept with him once. Too bad the sex was good. Janet was the only one over the moon about it. Everyone else seemed indifferent. I guess he didn’t leave a lasting impression on them.

Oh well, onto bigger and better things. One of them being that I got a new and exciting job offer. Super exciting. And unique. One that I’ve never received before. The way it happened was so out of the blue too. I was actually at a coffee shop talking to the girls about being dissatisfied with my job. It wasn’t entirely bad but it wasn’t exactly what invigorated me each day to not look for anything else. A guy listening in to my conversation and approached me afterwards. Said this opportunity was unlike any other and at first I thought he was trying to pick me up but when he gave me his card and explained the job a bit I decided to give it a chance, more so because I was intrigued. I called an interviewed with him and some HR chick, I don’t even remember I was too excited.

The only downside is I had to move away for a few months. The way they explained it to me was Sex and the City meets Gilmore Girls. The only person that wasn’t down for it was Chloe.

“I don’t see why you have to keep moving for your jobs. Why don’t you let the jobs come to you?”

“This just sounds too good, Chloe.”

“But what about us?”

“What about us?” Janet asked.

“She’s got a life here. You’ve always had a life here and we’re always here.”

“You can come with,” I smiled.

“Problem solved,” Jodie said. “We’ll all move away with Anna and claim it on her new job’s budget.”

We laughed, but Chloe was still sour about it. “It’s cool. It’s probably only temporary anyway. They want to see how I go after six months.”

“Why would you uproot for something so temporary?” Chloe asked, confusedly.

“Because it might not be,” Jodie muttered.

It gave Chloe pause. “Is that why? Are you honestly prepared to live the small town life and write about it?”

“Why can’t you be more supportive?” I asked.

She shrugged. “Whatever.”

“Well, I think this is cause for a celebration,” Jodie hugged me before sitting next to Chloe on the couch.

“Don’t be mad at Chloe,” Janet said. “She just misses you that’s all.”

“I guess after Daniel we thought you’d never want to move away again.”

I gulped. “It wasn’t just for Daniel.”

“Yeah, well, you know,” she shrugged.

I nudged her. “I’m going to miss you guys, too. I always do.”

“Then you should stay,” she joked. We both laughed.

Is it possible to be too clingy to your friends?

3 thoughts on “Offers and Opportunities

  1. Hi! So glad you’re back, love this blog and your wattpad stories. This is an exiting new capture for her!

    Don’t mean to be rude, but I’m trying to catch people on here since almost all the blogs I follow have been on breaks. Does anyone know of any new blogs or other active blogs like this one?

  2. Interesting. Good way to end things with Michael.
    Curious of new job posting!
    Thanks for coming back! I hope the break helped you!

Leave a Reply

